We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairview Hotel
Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel twice during Dec '12. It's an excellent hotel near the centre of Nairobi - security is very good at the hotel & all the staff are extremely friendly. Seems to be a lot of business people staying there also, given its proximity to government buildings. Very nice rooms and facilities and good food in the restaurants. Reasonably priced too, especially compared to the over-priced multinational hotels elsewhere in Nairobi. Would definitely recommend this hotel to people looking to visit Nairobi!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    520
    239
    62
    18
    9
See reviews for
123
242
91
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Den Haag, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here at the start of our holiday in Kenya and Tanzania. What a nice resort between the busy streets of Nairobi. It is one of the best hotels in Nairobi and you notice that in everything. The rooms are great. The tranquillity most welcome. The different restaurants serve good food. The staff are very kind and helpful. There is a swimming pool and wifi. The breakfast is really great; so much choice and it is all delicious!

Absolutely a nice place to stay in Nairobi!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife, daughter and I stayed one night at the Fairview prior to going on safari. Our stay was excellent. The Fairview is not too far from the centre of the CBD and is near a number of government office buildings and consulates. It has lovely grounds which were a pleasure to walk in.

The Fairview is full of old world charm. We had two rooms. Both were tastefully decorated in the old style in character with the hotel. They were very clean with plenty of power sockets and hot water. The beds were comfortable and provided a good nights sleep. The rooms had the usual television, phone, etc. We dined in the outside pool area. The service and food were of a high standard. All staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.

A very nice hotel which I would again stay in if I was in Nairobi.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was my first visit to Nairobi and it was made even more special by staying in such a lovely hotel.The friendliness of the staff was outstanding and service was superb. I have stayed in many hotels around the world and this wonderful hotel gets top marks.

Thank you very much and I look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

This was my second stay at fair view hotel and I throughly enjoyed it.The architecture is great and the hotel has nice local artwork.The rooms are small but comfortable.Restaurant was great and I specifically enjoyed the breakfast buffet daily,kenya coffee to die for.Some of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in and a really nice gym

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, UK
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This was my 4th stay at the Fairview since 2005, I've never stayed anywhere else in Nairobi in spite of the fact that it can sometimes be difficult getting a room as it's often full.
On this visit, I thought the hotel was even better than before, they're continually improving it. Reasons why I like it so much are:
- the beautiful grounds, 5 acres I think. Since my previous visit, they've put in a lovely water feature in the front garden - sounds naff but it looks very natural and has been well designed. Stepping into the hotel after a busy day in Nairobi & often dreadful traffic is magic! And all the paths throughout the hotel & grounds have been nicely designed with good stonework;
- the staff, they're unfailingly friendly & helpful;
- the food, the hotel now has 4 or 5 different places to eat but I always prefer the restaurant beside the pool - good choice of dishes at reasonable prices. Excellent breakfasts;
- the rooms, I was in an economy room on this trip (for 2 weeks) and it was fine. Not large but it had everything I needed - comfortable bed, free wifi, good shower, bottled water, good TV (with BBC), plenty of power points.
- security, very tight security to get into the hotel & good security throughout;
- lovely pool and a small but adequate gym.

I've stayed in many hotels throughout the world (admittedly not in hotels like The Savoy or Claridges) but the Fairview is my favourite because of the way in which everything harmonizes together to a very high standard.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The Fairview is a comfortable hotel on the edge of luxurious in a secure, manicured campus of restaurants, bars, a shop and a large pool. Built in the British style, it has various corners with large leather chairs which helps it serve as an ideal meeting place when on business - everyone knows the Fairview. The restaurants are excellent, ranging from formal to poolside. Security is very good, parking is available, wifi throughout. An excellent business hotel that is out of the congestion of the city centre, yet a short taxi ride, where you can relax at the end of the day and talk with the many safari groups that pass through.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's most popular and only family-run four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill, away from the noise of Nairobi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.