We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Fairview Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 130 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Safe and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Pros:
- Safe location in Nairobi. Located adjacent to the Israeli Embassy, security around the entire premises was tight & armed guards checking every arriving vehicle
- Warm smiles greeting you on arrival. Competent & helpful front desk staff
- Amazing breakfast selection and quality. Great coffee too!
- free wifi
- reasonable sized rooms with comfy beds

Cons:
- V expensive hotel! Paid nearly US$200 for a business 'deluxe' room which is really a standard room in any other hotels. Didnt even have a mini-bar.
- Mixed quality rooms. We stayed on two different occasions and the room on the first night (second floor on the main building) had a much better decor and design.

Overall, we were pleased with our stay in Fairview and would return again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    292
    69
    22
    10
See reviews for
136
272
98
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
swindon
Level Contributor
104 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights after arriving from the UK, and prior to embarking on a safari to the Masai Mara. Nairobi was constantly gridlocked, noisy and not very clean, but once at the Fairview peace and tranquility broke out! As mentioned in previous reviews, the gardens are delightful, and the pool area very nice. We had first class rooms, which were spacious and well appointed. We were entitled to use the first class lounge, and we found this to be an added bonus, with complimentary tea/coffee, fruit, biscuits & nuts, and local newspapers.
The food was good, and plenty of different options. Breakfast was also above average, with cooked options (eggs cooked at live station) fresh fruit and even sushi!
If we are staying in Nairobi in the future we would certainly choose the Fairview again.

Room Tip: Worth paying a little extra for first class rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
Level Contributor
662 reviews
345 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,016 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Security is taken seriously here. The hotel is opposite the Israeli Embassy and on occasion I had to show my passport just to get access to the hotel security where my taxi was searched with reflective mirrors and my luggage was again checked only to have to have my luggage and person go through an airport security screening machine to get access from the parking lot to the hotel lobby.

But it is worth it as the hotel is surrounded by a wonderful garden with a pool and several restaurants and is a haven in bustling Nairobi. Service is friendly and welcoming too. You can tell this hotel is well managed (it’s family owned so has a welcomingly different feel than a chain hotel) and that staff are happy here.

I had a standard single room and while it was small and simple it had all I needed: spotlessly clean; wooden floor, desk with multi-plugs, small plasma TV and cupboard. The room had no air-conditioning (other room categories do) but you don’t need it in Nairobi because of altitude. The entire hotel has an excellent WIFI system compared to the rest of Kenya. There is a business center where you can pay to use a computer and print out boarding passes for free. There is also a small but well equipped gym—sadly it is only open until 9:30 PM. Someone comes to clean on the dot at 9:25 PM. Since the gym is unattended and you get access with your keycard I don’t understand why they can’t keep the gym open later—this is a minor irritant though.

Food wise there is something for everyone: Mexican, pasta, sushi, good salads and even a café with great smoothies and cakes. The breakfast buffet included in the rate is also good although I was surprised they had no porridge. They open at 6:00 AM and many flights require you to leave earlier than that. You may be able to grab a toast before you go but no packed breakfasts are available.

A taxi from the airport officially costs 1700 shillings but you may be able to pay 1500 if you bargain. When you first arrive it may be best to pay the official rate at the official yellow taxi stand after collecting your luggage. Once you have your bearings, you can just exit the airport and negotiate with the drivers directly. The hotel offers an airport shuttle from the hotel to the airport only (waiting time makes picking up passengers from the airport impractical) for 800 shillings. The hotel has set taxi rates but negotiate hard with the hotel taxi drivers as some will try and charge you not just the stated rate but waiting time for the same ride!

A very good address. This is now my port of call when staying in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Avoid getting a room overlooking the pool bar or kitchen due to noise, especially if you are in anon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

If like me you generally stay on business in modern boxes, the Fairview comes as a great relief. A lovely old hotel in beautiful grounds in the middle of Nairobi. Four restaurants, very good food, a lovely pool and all the facilities you expect with excellent service. After the trauma
of the Nairobi traffic this is a great place to get back to and unwind.

Room Tip: Upper class rooms are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed here for a week for work. At first everything seemed excellent, good attention, nice grounds, decent food, 4 or 5 places to eat on the grounds, service was alright. The guy in the front deli like bar was really pushy and follows you around until you order.. haha.

Then you step outside the Fairview and realize that you're paying about 500 times more for everything than you should, 3 times as much for a beer, and EVERYTHING you do from laundry to phone calls are charged at exorbitant rates. It's typical to see hotels taking from the tourists that don't know better, but highly doubt any of that money is going back into the community, salaries, or even on par with the amount extra they charge. At least that was the feedback I got from some of the staff.

The internet was the only thing free, and was decent. The rooms are small and basic. Not really worth what you pay. Breakfast was epic though.

Room Tip: get a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Only stayed at the fairview for the afternoon early evening before catching flight back home.
From what I saw I would certainly stay again, attractive hotel with well kept gardens, had a meal in the restaurant from the pasta bar, can recommend this, all freshly cooked it was delicious......
Only complaint, no wheel chairs available which was surprising for a hotel of this quality.
Excellent security.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here twice, once when we arrived in Kenya and for a few days before we left. On the first occasion we had a very average room. No air conditioning and room felt like it needed urgent upgrading. We were so disappointed that we asked our travel agent to arrange for a different hotel for our return visit. This was not possible. When we returned however, we were in a beautiful room, fresh, spacious, super comfortable bed, with lovely views over the gardens. If you use this hotel make sure you get a decent room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.0 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#14 of 130 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 621 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#6 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 613 reviews
7.6 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 785 reviews
1.1 mi away
Meridian Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#17 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairview Hotel is owned and operated by the City Lodge Hotel Group. It is Nairobi's most popular four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.