We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oasis in the middle of chaos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairview Hotel
Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 103 Hotels in Nairobi
swindon
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“oasis in the middle of chaos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights after arriving from the UK, and prior to embarking on a safari to the Masai Mara. Nairobi was constantly gridlocked, noisy and not very clean, but once at the Fairview peace and tranquility broke out! As mentioned in previous reviews, the gardens are delightful, and the pool area very nice. We had first class rooms, which were spacious and well appointed. We were entitled to use the first class lounge, and we found this to be an added bonus, with complimentary tea/coffee, fruit, biscuits & nuts, and local newspapers.
The food was good, and plenty of different options. Breakfast was also above average, with cooked options (eggs cooked at live station) fresh fruit and even sushi!
If we are staying in Nairobi in the future we would certainly choose the Fairview again.

Room Tip: Worth paying a little extra for first class rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    243
    64
    18
    9
See reviews for
124
248
93
313
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luanda, Angola
Top Contributor
568 reviews 568 reviews
314 hotel reviews
Reviews in 285 cities Reviews in 285 cities
894 helpful votes 894 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Security is taken seriously here. The hotel is opposite the Israeli Embassy and on occasion I had to show my passport just to get access to the hotel security where my taxi was searched with reflective mirrors and my luggage was again checked only to have to have my luggage and person go through an airport security screening machine to get access from the parking lot to the hotel lobby.

But it is worth it as the hotel is surrounded by a wonderful garden with a pool and several restaurants and is a haven in bustling Nairobi. Service is friendly and welcoming too. You can tell this hotel is well managed (it’s family owned so has a welcomingly different feel than a chain hotel) and that staff are happy here.

I had a standard single room and while it was small and simple it had all I needed: spotlessly clean; wooden floor, desk with multi-plugs, small plasma TV and cupboard. The room had no air-conditioning (other room categories do) but you don’t need it in Nairobi because of altitude. The entire hotel has an excellent WIFI system compared to the rest of Kenya. There is a business center where you can pay to use a computer and print out boarding passes for free. There is also a small but well equipped gym—sadly it is only open until 9:30 PM. Someone comes to clean on the dot at 9:25 PM. Since the gym is unattended and you get access with your keycard I don’t understand why they can’t keep the gym open later—this is a minor irritant though.

Food wise there is something for everyone: Mexican, pasta, sushi, good salads and even a café with great smoothies and cakes. The breakfast buffet included in the rate is also good although I was surprised they had no porridge. They open at 6:00 AM and many flights require you to leave earlier than that. You may be able to grab a toast before you go but no packed breakfasts are available.

A taxi from the airport officially costs 1700 shillings but you may be able to pay 1500 if you bargain. When you first arrive it may be best to pay the official rate at the official yellow taxi stand after collecting your luggage. Once you have your bearings, you can just exit the airport and negotiate with the drivers directly. The hotel offers an airport shuttle from the hotel to the airport only (waiting time makes picking up passengers from the airport impractical) for 800 shillings. The hotel has set taxi rates but negotiate hard with the hotel taxi drivers as some will try and charge you not just the stated rate but waiting time for the same ride!

A very good address. This is now my port of call when staying in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Avoid getting a room overlooking the pool bar or kitchen due to noise, especially if you are in anon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

If like me you generally stay on business in modern boxes, the Fairview comes as a great relief. A lovely old hotel in beautiful grounds in the middle of Nairobi. Four restaurants, very good food, a lovely pool and all the facilities you expect with excellent service. After the trauma
of the Nairobi traffic this is a great place to get back to and unwind.

Room Tip: Upper class rooms are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed here for a week for work. At first everything seemed excellent, good attention, nice grounds, decent food, 4 or 5 places to eat on the grounds, service was alright. The guy in the front deli like bar was really pushy and follows you around until you order.. haha.

Then you step outside the Fairview and realize that you're paying about 500 times more for everything than you should, 3 times as much for a beer, and EVERYTHING you do from laundry to phone calls are charged at exorbitant rates. It's typical to see hotels taking from the tourists that don't know better, but highly doubt any of that money is going back into the community, salaries, or even on par with the amount extra they charge. At least that was the feedback I got from some of the staff.

The internet was the only thing free, and was decent. The rooms are small and basic. Not really worth what you pay. Breakfast was epic though.

Room Tip: get a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Only stayed at the fairview for the afternoon early evening before catching flight back home.
From what I saw I would certainly stay again, attractive hotel with well kept gardens, had a meal in the restaurant from the pasta bar, can recommend this, all freshly cooked it was delicious......
Only complaint, no wheel chairs available which was surprising for a hotel of this quality.
Excellent security.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here twice, once when we arrived in Kenya and for a few days before we left. On the first occasion we had a very average room. No air conditioning and room felt like it needed urgent upgrading. We were so disappointed that we asked our travel agent to arrange for a different hotel for our return visit. This was not possible. When we returned however, we were in a beautiful room, fresh, spacious, super comfortable bed, with lovely views over the gardens. If you use this hotel make sure you get a decent room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I spent one night in Nairobi and stayed at the Fairview. It is in an ideal location and very safe. The rooms are well equipped with satellite TV and wifi which is fast. The restaurant food is good and not too expensive and breakfast is extensive.
I was given a room which overlooked the bar and restaurant. This ruined my stay as I was kept up until around midnight and then at 4:30 am the kitchen staff started shouting across the dining hall waking me up.
Overall a nice hotel as long as you are not in room 17!!

Room Tip: Anywhere not overlooking the restaurant or bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's most popular and only family-run four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill, away from the noise of Nairobi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.