We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Fairview Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 134 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Only stayed at the fairview for the afternoon early evening before catching flight back home.
From what I saw I would certainly stay again, attractive hotel with well kept gardens, had a meal in the restaurant from the pasta bar, can recommend this, all freshly cooked it was delicious......
Only complaint, no wheel chairs available which was surprising for a hotel of this quality.
Excellent security.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    294
    69
    22
    10
See reviews for
136
275
98
387
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here twice, once when we arrived in Kenya and for a few days before we left. On the first occasion we had a very average room. No air conditioning and room felt like it needed urgent upgrading. We were so disappointed that we asked our travel agent to arrange for a different hotel for our return visit. This was not possible. When we returned however, we were in a beautiful room, fresh, spacious, super comfortable bed, with lovely views over the gardens. If you use this hotel make sure you get a decent room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I spent one night in Nairobi and stayed at the Fairview. It is in an ideal location and very safe. The rooms are well equipped with satellite TV and wifi which is fast. The restaurant food is good and not too expensive and breakfast is extensive.
I was given a room which overlooked the bar and restaurant. This ruined my stay as I was kept up until around midnight and then at 4:30 am the kitchen staff started shouting across the dining hall waking me up.
Overall a nice hotel as long as you are not in room 17!!

Room Tip: Anywhere not overlooking the restaurant or bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

First stay in Nairobi and was pleasantly surprised. Good value. Lovely gardens and plenty of options for eating inside the hotel. Wireless everywhere so great for working wherever you are. Particularly liked the pool area. Stayed in a Business Class room which was good enough. Staff friendly. Great value 4 star. Will be coming back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I was in Nairobi for work and my Kenyan colleagues had recommended the Fairview Hotel.
I loved the site with greenery, flowers, trees and waterfalls. Inside the dark wood and decoration add warmth and are very charming. I had a business-size room which was very comfortable and clean. All staff were smiling and pleasant. The hotel has five restaurants onsite; the food and portions are very good.

Room Tip: Business-size rooms are good. However, if you require a fridge and A/C, you will need to upgrade to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
202 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was my first visit to Nairobi and I wasnt sure what I would find. What a lovely surprise and what a delightful place. I had a room in the section "over the road" from the main hotel and it was so nice, quiet, just like being in a lovely apartment complex with beautiful gardens and peace and quiet.

The amenities in the main part of the hotel were fantastic with something to please everyone. the gardens were divine.

Room Tip: I loved being in the section over the road from the main complex as it was so quiet and so "unh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed at the Fairview on and off for more than two weeks. We began and finished a series of safaris at the hotel. We were offered the same room on each return, which we felt was thoughtful. Our room, by the pool, was smallish but it was perfect for our needs. Clean and smart. The bathroom was large with bath and separate shower. The water takes some time to run hot but that's all right.

The hotel is located next to the Israeli Embassy and so is in a highly secure location which some people think is important in Nairobi. The gardens are beautifully kept and so is the pool.

We liked the international food served by the pool but would have liked to try some African dishes but none were available. We didn't try the smart dining room as we didn't have the right clothes with us but appreciated the First Class Lounge The extensive breakfast was terrific.

There's always a warm welcome at the Fairview. The staff are all very helpful. Nothing is too much trouble. Everything is done with a smile and at speed. In true old style, if your are going on safari, you can leave luggage that you don't need and pick it up later for the next leg of your trip. That applies to laundry too.

We liked the Fairview a great deal.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.0 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 134 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 626 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#7 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
7.6 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 787 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairview Hotel is owned and operated by the City Lodge Hotel Group. It is Nairobi's most popular four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.