We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorites in Nairobi!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairview Hotel
Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of our favorites in Nairobi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The Fairview hotels is one of our favorites in Nairobi. It all depends what our clients are looking for. We find it great as it is central situated. The hotel has easy access to the airports, very nice ambiance, with a great garden and lovely pool. Different places to have a bite and still a personal touch. Rooms are good and professional friendly staff. So yes a good place to start or end a safari!

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    519
    238
    62
    18
    9
See reviews for
122
242
91
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

stayed here on a layover between Tanzania and Kenya safaris organized by Imagine Africa. Easy to access from either Nairobi airport. Good service and nice amenities. Grounds are very pretty - a quiet spot within a big city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We only had one night at the Fairview but it was very enjoyable. The hotel was very well presented. The highlight are the grounds and variety of restaurant options. The rooms are basic but very clean and comfortable. The free WiFi was great to have. The breakfast buffet had every item imagine able. The staff were all very friendly and could not do enough to help. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Nairobi

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We decided to stay 3 nights at the Fairview in preparation for Safari. We certainly enjoyed the quality of this hotel/lodge. The rooms are quite comfortable, ours being in a group away from the main hotel/pool complex. Tight security, so we felt very safe. Across from the Israeli Embassy on the hill overlooking the city, so a perfect spot. Excellent service all around. Friendly staff, to say the least. Wonderful breakfast, especially for hearty eaters, two breakfast area choices, one in the garden and one inside, a buffet. But, we were particularly please with the outstanding dinner upstairs in the high-end restaurant. Many courses. Wonderful display....perfect for fine dining. Get your reservation as soon as you get there, or before. This hotel takes care of its customers.

Room Tip: Any should do. They're not as fancy as some, but they are all quite nice. Apartments availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed at the Fairview in June and thoroughly enjoyed it. I was staying on business and found it more than adequate for my needs. I was upgraded to a suite at no charge. The room was clean and very presentable, with a kitchenette, a huge bathroom and separate bedroom.

The staff were friendly, the food in the restaurants was excellent, and the pool side service for informal meetings was very good. The hotel was a real breath of fresh air and calm in a hectic city. I would definitely stay here again next time I’m in town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We styed in Fairview in August on two occasion while we were in between safaris. On the first stay my sister had a room across from us in room 217. My sister had found a cockroach crawling on the floor and killed it. She notified the receptionist about the cockroach, which she responded that she will take care of it. The next time we stayed at Fairview because our travel agency did the booking in advance, we once again ask the receptionist not to put us in room 217. They obliged us, and we did not see a single cockroach. Other than that, the room was comfortable and the food was good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairviewNairobi, Owner at Fairview Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

We have taken the necessary steps to address this.

Regards,

Daniel | Joint Managing Director | Fairview Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
at home
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We loved our first night in Kenya stopping at the Fairview. The hotel ambience itself was out of a time machine. Our rooms were spacious, comfy, and clean. But the breakfast buffet was the best ever...tons of fruit, pastries, meats, cheeses, made-to-order eggs, but our favorite was the poached eggs florentine...my mouth is watering just typing about it!!! It will always be the breakfast buffet standard for us, now!

It was close to Wilson airport for our safari departure the next morning as well!

Room Tip: ask for a room not facing the courtyard/restaurant if you need to go to bed early! noise carries in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's most popular and only family-run four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill, away from the noise of Nairobi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.