We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorites in Nairobi!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Fairview Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 130 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of our favorites in Nairobi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The Fairview hotels is one of our favorites in Nairobi. It all depends what our clients are looking for. We find it great as it is central situated. The hotel has easy access to the airports, very nice ambiance, with a great garden and lovely pool. Different places to have a bite and still a personal touch. Rooms are good and professional friendly staff. So yes a good place to start or end a safari!

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    292
    69
    22
    10
See reviews for
136
274
98
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

stayed here on a layover between Tanzania and Kenya safaris organized by Imagine Africa. Easy to access from either Nairobi airport. Good service and nice amenities. Grounds are very pretty - a quiet spot within a big city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We only had one night at the Fairview but it was very enjoyable. The hotel was very well presented. The highlight are the grounds and variety of restaurant options. The rooms are basic but very clean and comfortable. The free WiFi was great to have. The breakfast buffet had every item imagine able. The staff were all very friendly and could not do enough to help. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Nairobi

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We decided to stay 3 nights at the Fairview in preparation for Safari. We certainly enjoyed the quality of this hotel/lodge. The rooms are quite comfortable, ours being in a group away from the main hotel/pool complex. Tight security, so we felt very safe. Across from the Israeli Embassy on the hill overlooking the city, so a perfect spot. Excellent service all around. Friendly staff, to say the least. Wonderful breakfast, especially for hearty eaters, two breakfast area choices, one in the garden and one inside, a buffet. But, we were particularly please with the outstanding dinner upstairs in the high-end restaurant. Many courses. Wonderful display....perfect for fine dining. Get your reservation as soon as you get there, or before. This hotel takes care of its customers.

Room Tip: Any should do. They're not as fancy as some, but they are all quite nice. Apartments availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed at the Fairview in June and thoroughly enjoyed it. I was staying on business and found it more than adequate for my needs. I was upgraded to a suite at no charge. The room was clean and very presentable, with a kitchenette, a huge bathroom and separate bedroom.

The staff were friendly, the food in the restaurants was excellent, and the pool side service for informal meetings was very good. The hotel was a real breath of fresh air and calm in a hectic city. I would definitely stay here again next time I’m in town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We styed in Fairview in August on two occasion while we were in between safaris. On the first stay my sister had a room across from us in room 217. My sister had found a cockroach crawling on the floor and killed it. She notified the receptionist about the cockroach, which she responded that she will take care of it. The next time we stayed at Fairview because our travel agency did the booking in advance, we once again ask the receptionist not to put us in room 217. They obliged us, and we did not see a single cockroach. Other than that, the room was comfortable and the food was good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairviewNairobi, Owner at Fairview Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

We have taken the necessary steps to address this.

Regards,

Daniel | Joint Managing Director | Fairview Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
at home
Level Contributor
249 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We loved our first night in Kenya stopping at the Fairview. The hotel ambience itself was out of a time machine. Our rooms were spacious, comfy, and clean. But the breakfast buffet was the best ever...tons of fruit, pastries, meats, cheeses, made-to-order eggs, but our favorite was the poached eggs florentine...my mouth is watering just typing about it!!! It will always be the breakfast buffet standard for us, now!

It was close to Wilson airport for our safari departure the next morning as well!

Room Tip: ask for a room not facing the courtyard/restaurant if you need to go to bed early! noise carries in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.0 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 130 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 625 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#7 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 616 reviews
7.6 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 786 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairview Hotel is owned and operated by the City Lodge Hotel Group. It is Nairobi's most popular four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.