We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old-fashioned charm, and great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Fairview Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, CA
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
366 helpful votes 366 helpful votes
“Old-fashioned charm, and great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I arrived at the Fairview, tired after a long travel day from Uganda, then was greeted efficiently and warmly in the beautiful lobby, and taken to a room upstairs in the main (oldest) building. No elevator--you go up a polished flight of stairs to a room with gorgeous wood floor and wood furniture (bed, chairs, small table,wardrobe, desk). Is it the most modern room ever? NO--part of its charm. It was easy to imagine guests of decades past here, in this original part of the hotel. The bathroom contained both large tub and separate shower. Again, it's not the most updated rom, but it ws clean and had everyting i needed, including plenty of hot water!

If you have hand laundry after a long trip (safari, etc) this is the perfect place to do it, as there's a laundry line that you pull from the wall above the bathtub, and an iron and ironing board.

Breakfast was fantastic--the food, service, convivial atmosphere, big airy, bright setting.

Staff--courteous, pleasant and professional. Thanks to front desk and housekeepers and restaurant cooks and servers, as all I encountered were excellent.

Among uniformly fine employees, one person in particular stood out: Mr Were in the reception area. He is a star!! Thank you, Fairview owners and management, for having this dignified, friendly, gracious, and welcoming man at your hotel. It was lovely to be greeted and helped upon arrival by Were (who was miraculously still full of energy after a day of carrying heavy luggage) and then to see him, cheerful, pleasant and helpful the next morning, greeting me as if I were an old friend. He's a treasure, and an example of why it is people who make or break a place. Fairview folks are doing something right after all these years!

Also, having had a nervewracking one hour, traffic-filled drive to the airport from a home near Karen at the other end of the trip, I recommend Fairview for its location,which is convenient for NBO. Just remember to anticipate traffic delays (and scary driving) no matter where you go in Nairobi!

Room Tip: I stayed in one of the lower-priced rooms upstairs in the main building. It was fine,adequate and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    276
    69
    22
    10
See reviews for
133
267
98
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed at the Fairview for a week in July while on summer vacation. Our room was upgraded to a suite which was wonderful to say the least. The suite had a very spacious living room area, large bathroom and bedroom. The grounds are very quiet and peaceful one can forget they are in the middle of Nairobi, just what we needed. The kids loved the security and freedom while on the grounds. The staff were friendly and efficient. Breakfast needs some improvement though, not a large variety and we had better breakfast at other hotels. Overall a great place to stay while in Nairobi. I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The Fairview is an oasis in the middle of this charming city. Beautiful grounds, older, but comfortable rooms, multiple choice of restaurants. If you want a place to relax in a beautiful garden, enjoy good food and like security, this is the place for you. An excelent breakfast buffet, outside bar and five star restaurant to allow you a diversity of choice. Free wi-fi is a plus and the rooms are spacious, but do not expect a five star highrise hotel room.

I will return here again and again, when in Nairobi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Charming and secure in a soothing garden setting. It has real character! It has all the amenities. Wonderful staff and accommodations at all budget levels! I wouldn't go anywhere else in Nairobi. Breakfast is first class! (5 restaurants with extensive food selection, but otherwise a bit pricey.) I stayed a total of 5 nights. Everything considered, this is a great value! Be prepared to enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Be flexible, but room selection will probably depend on seasonality. Staff will accommodate you in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed 4 nights on business. It felt as if I was a guest of an old country home with a very well maintained jungle-like park. The hotel is right across the Israeli embassy - I am not sure if I feel safer or more at risk when security is so tight... but once you are on the premises it is an idyllic place, way different from the impersonal modern hotels - and I prefer this. I stayed in the main building. I loved the doors, bed, the desk, the armchairs - all made of beautiful wood and leather, combining traditions with modernity. The staff is lovely, everyone is very helpful and always smiling. Our meeting went without a flaw. Breakfast is very nice, lunch is also ok, with spice added to the traditional dishes by the guest chefs who were there at the time of my stay.
The main building rooms seem to be the oldest, which of course shows on the tiles, etc. but all very well maintained. I visited a colleague in her pool-side room where everything is much more modern. I discovered that I could get freshly brewed coffee from the breakfast bar long before I wanted t have breakfast so I chose that over the nescafe which comes with your room (so does tea of course). The park is actually not that big but the way it made up gives you the feeling that it is much bigger. It has nice sitting area, pool, restaurants. I did not try the gym but a colleague went and said it was absolutely fine. A few colleagues stayed in the apartment buildings surrounding the main area. It seemed a bit further - like a 2-min walk and plus 2 security gates - but they did not complain about anything else.

Room Tip: main building is very fine, poolside is more modern but you'll have less privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had an enjoyable stay at the Fairview.

My only complaint is that they are very frugal with certain basic amenities. For example, they don't have tissues in the room.

They have wonderful dining options, so overall, it is a great value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights per Kenya safari in a first class room near the pool. Nice, comfortable room with all you would need. 1 night pre Rwanda and upgraded to a suite in the new area through 2 gates which you used your room key to go through. Nice room but very impersonal, kitchenette, A/C etc but we felt more suited to business travellers and we didn't like being away from the main hotel reception and resturaunts. 1 night in the old building above reception and we liked this room the best.
First class lounge very good. Can use computer, print out boarding passes and get coffee etc ( including specialty coffees) Mary the hostess when we were there was excellent.
fantastic breakfast buffet and pool bar and food there very good. Can reccomend the Samosa.
Excellent staff throughout. Remembered us from visit to visit.

Room Tip: get a first class room in old building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's most popular and only family-run four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill, away from the noise of Nairobi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.