We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Fairview Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 124 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I find it hard to understand the negative reviews. We travelled to Kenya on a family holiday and stayed at the Fairview for four nights. The grounds are amazing, the staff are wonderful and the food was awesome. The embassy over the road is not a concern. Free wifi in the room is great. Easy access to transport. At no point did I ever feel unsafe and with a young family, that was a concern. Kenya is the most amazing place and we will visit again and stay at the Fairview.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    272
    69
    22
    10
See reviews for
133
266
98
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We thought the care and help were excellent at this hotel, the dining room, the food was lovely and presented beautifully. Every thing was lovely and clean beds comfortable.
The staff were very attentive and couldn't do enough for you, the lady who has been with the hotel for many many year was a gem. I do think water could be an asset for the rooms.

My only complaint which has nothing to do with the hotel was the noise coming from the construction next door at 5am in the morning. We as a family had not encountered prayer time on loud speaker before, now we understand, we didn't feel comfortable but, when in Rome do as Rome does.

OUr family trip to East Africa was a wonderful experience and we will be back again

Williams family

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay at the hotel. Food was excellent. The room was spacious and clean. The shower was excellent. Service was good and the grounds of the hotel are lovely. Nothing to fault.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottinghamshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Spent 2 nights here at the end of our 7 night safari with Glorious safaris and felt very safe due to all the security on the road outside due to the Israeli embassy being on the same road. We had booked 2 connecting rooms or rooms next to each other as we have 2 teenage children. When we arrived we were told the hotel did not have connecting rooms so I said it was ok as long as we had rooms next to each other. They could not do this, the best they could do was room 30 a double and room 109 a twin. They weren't even on the same floor !!! so I had the double with our daughter and my husband had the double with our son. Not ideal. The hotel grounds were lovely with a waterfall feature. The rooms were spacious although the double was more modern than the twin. It had a flat screen TV whereas the twin had an old style box TV. The shower was good, lots of hot water that took a while to stabilize the temperature. This hotel caters more for business people than tourists.The kids liked the free internet although did have trouble at times connecting and the TV as they had not been able to see any of the Olympics due to being on safari. I did suggest to the hotel on their questionnaire that they should make sure that families have rooms next to each other. Lets hope they take notice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

It's one thing to pay an arm and a leg for luxury and security. It's another to then be gouged for every single thing you eat or drink. I have never seen such extortionate prices, anywhere in the world, for such mediocre-to-lousy food and drink. They also make a big deal about free wifi in all the rooms, a major reason I booked here, only to find a weak to non-existent signal on every day of my stay. And yes, fully agree with s N that the obnoxious over-militarized Israeli embassy across the road creates a deeply unpleasant and hostile environment.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairviewNairobi, Owner at Fairview Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thanks for your feedback.

As a brand, we believe our greatest asset is value proposition. I'm sure that when you compare room rates and cost of food and beverage along with the consistent quality of our product offering, few establishments will beat us. Our rating and feedback on TripAdvisor are a testimony to this.

Regarding wireless internet connectivity: Our wifi network covering the entire hotel is the best in Nairobi! We have a 10MB link connected directly to a fiber network. It is possible you were connecting to a far away access point. Our dedicated wifi IT staff are on hand from 7am -10 pm daily to assist guests with any issues - please ask for this free service next time you stay!

The Israeli embassy in our neighborhood has served to enhance our security and our guests appreciate that.

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We hope to have another opportunity to show you why we are number one in Nairobi.

Regards,

Mark | Joint Managing Director | Fairview Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

you are asked to pay in advance like a thief in the night, the rooms are overcharged and small, the israeli embassy opposite makes you feel you are in warzone, sleepless nights through the search-lights of israeli embassy, staff has no humour

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairviewNairobi, Owner at Fairview Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

Kindly note that we have several categories of rooms ranging from Economy, Business, First Class & several Suites to suit our guests’ needs. Our economy category (the category you probably stayed in) provides excellent value - we look forward to accommodating you in one of our other categories on your next visit.

We do not charge upfront if one has made a reservation. However, our policy to charge “walk-in” guest's for accommodation is not unusual.

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We would like to make it up to you and investigate the embassy lighting issue you have raised. Please make contact with our reservations office to facilitate this.

Regards,

Mark| Joint Managing Director | Fairview Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, Sussex
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel - 'the country hotel in the town' - is one we have used many times over the last 12 years or so and we find it the most comfortable. It is on 'the safest street in town' because it is opposite the Israeli Embassy and vehicles are checked along the road and when entering the hotel grounds. I believe all rooms have wifi which is free. There are several restaurants: one by the pool which has lovely gazebos that can be used for different sized groups; another at the front overlooking the water feature which was created about six years ago; a restaurant inside the hotel but we cannot bear the tinkly piano 'music' which has little variation from evening to evening; and a sushi bar adjoning the restaurant. There is also a bar beneath, but we have never been there. The choice of food is fairly good (I find any menu becomes samely) with a mixture of Italian, Sushi, and various other types of food. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Most rooms, if not all, have been upgraded and there is a wide choice of room. Our preference is for the 'garden rooms', but they are expensive. There is a pool and a gym.

Room Tip: Most rooms, if not all, have been upgraded and there is a wide choice . Our preference is for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's most popular and only family-run four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill, away from the noise of Nairobi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.