We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Fairview Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“My favourite hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I think most people who travel a lot for business have a favourite hotel which they keep coming back to. The Fairview in Nairobi is mine. Surely I have been to more luxurious and modern hotels but the Fairview is like a home-from-home and you cannot really beat that. The grounds of the hotel are stunning and peaceful and you feel relaxed the moments you are inside the hotel compound. I have only stayed in the First Class rooms which are great, very African and woody with a airy feel to them. At this stay I was upgraded to a suite which was even nicer. All first class rooms have massive bathrooms. Breakfast is good and have a good variety. The pool bar serves good pizza and is a great place to hang out for a few Whitecaps. Tried the formal restaurant during this visit which was very good.
The best thing about the Faiview is its stay staff always helpful, smiley and efficient. I will never stay anywhere else in Nairobi

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    594
    283
    69
    22
    10
See reviews for
133
268
98
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

This hotel is the best hotel in Nairobi. On the way from the airport our driver pointed out many high priced hotels which he claimed were great.
However after I left the Fairview Hotel after my 1 night stay (awaiting safari) I knew I found the best hotel in town. Whether on business or pleasure the Fairview is perfect for everyone. I was very lucky with this find.

CR Bradenton, FL.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

did a 4 day safari and stayed in the fairview for 3 days afterwards....really nice clean hotel , relaxing atmosphere with nice food...my only criticism is that around the pool it is set up for diners ( sunloungers up the stairs on a balcony area) and feels kind of wierd trying to have a swim with 20-30 people eating and watching you! that said had a great time and would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

My only hesitation in writing this review is that it might make booking this hotel even more difficult, as it really is the best place to stay in Nairobi. Excellent service, nice rooms, super location, great setting of green gardens and relaxing atmosphere. Nice pool and diversity of excellent places to eat. This place has it all.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Fairview Hotel on a recent business trip to Kenya. This is by far the most interesting hotel I've ever stayed at. The buildings, the gardens, the rooms and restaurants all make for a very relaxing and entertaining stay. From breakfast in the Atrium to beers outside by the pool and fine dining at Pango, I enjoyed every moment. The food was good and the staff were friendly and helpful.
I would definitely stay at the Fairview Hotel again in future. I hope I have more time to spend at the hotel next time round to fully enjoy the experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Stayed here (in Nairobi for friends' wedding) and had an excellent stay. Great selection at breakfast (included) and beautiful pool area. Staff extremely helpful and they've got the local taxi situation sorted out well, with reliable and friendly drivers.

Room Tip: Go for Business Class room at a minimum, and don't aim for the Garden View section - the main ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I spent two days at the Fairview Hotel on business and was very impressed. I had heard about the Fairview before and new of its reputation. It more than exceeded my expectations. The room was spacious and comfortable (they had upgraded me to a top tier room). There are a number of restaurants on the property and all that I tried were excellent. The grounds are spectacular--very beautifully maintained pool and gardens throughout. Security at the hotel is very tight, enhanced by the fact that the Israeli Embassy is across the street.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's most popular and only family-run four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill, away from the noise of Nairobi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.