We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Fairview Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“My favourite hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I think most people who travel a lot for business have a favourite hotel which they keep coming back to. The Fairview in Nairobi is mine. Surely I have been to more luxurious and modern hotels but the Fairview is like a home-from-home and you cannot really beat that. The grounds of the hotel are stunning and peaceful and you feel relaxed the moments you are inside the hotel compound. I have only stayed in the First Class rooms which are great, very African and woody with a airy feel to them. At this stay I was upgraded to a suite which was even nicer. All first class rooms have massive bathrooms. Breakfast is good and have a good variety. The pool bar serves good pizza and is a great place to hang out for a few Whitecaps. Tried the formal restaurant during this visit which was very good.
The best thing about the Faiview is its stay staff always helpful, smiley and efficient. I will never stay anywhere else in Nairobi

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rolfbusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bradenton, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

This hotel is the best hotel in Nairobi. On the way from the airport our driver pointed out many high priced hotels which he claimed were great.
However after I left the Fairview Hotel after my 1 night stay (awaiting safari) I knew I found the best hotel in town. Whether on business or pleasure the Fairview is perfect for everyone. I was very lucky with this find.

CR Bradenton, FL.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

did a 4 day safari and stayed in the fairview for 3 days afterwards....really nice clean hotel , relaxing atmosphere with nice food...my only criticism is that around the pool it is set up for diners ( sunloungers up the stairs on a balcony area) and feels kind of wierd trying to have a swim with 20-30 people eating and watching you! that said had a great time and would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lee2806old
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

My only hesitation in writing this review is that it might make booking this hotel even more difficult, as it really is the best place to stay in Nairobi. Excellent service, nice rooms, super location, great setting of green gardens and relaxing atmosphere. Nice pool and diversity of excellent places to eat. This place has it all.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AthanasA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Fairview Hotel on a recent business trip to Kenya. This is by far the most interesting hotel I've ever stayed at. The buildings, the gardens, the rooms and restaurants all make for a very relaxing and entertaining stay. From breakfast in the Atrium to beers outside by the pool and fine dining at Pango, I enjoyed every moment. The food was good and the staff were friendly and helpful.
I would definitely stay at the Fairview Hotel again in future. I hope I have more time to spend at the hotel next time round to fully enjoy the experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Stayed here (in Nairobi for friends' wedding) and had an excellent stay. Great selection at breakfast (included) and beautiful pool area. Staff extremely helpful and they've got the local taxi situation sorted out well, with reliable and friendly drivers.

Room Tip: Go for Business Class room at a minimum, and don't aim for the Garden View section - the main ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I spent two days at the Fairview Hotel on business and was very impressed. I had heard about the Fairview before and new of its reputation. It more than exceeded my expectations. The room was spacious and comfortable (they had upgraded me to a top tier room). There are a number of restaurants on the property and all that I tried were excellent. The grounds are spectacular--very beautifully maintained pool and gardens throughout. Security at the hotel is very tight, enhanced by the fact that the Israeli Embassy is across the street.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderingnewyorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.0 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#9 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 694 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
7.6 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#11 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 857 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#8 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 689 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairview Hotel is owned and operated by the City Lodge Hotel Group. It is Nairobi's most popular four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing