We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Fairview Hotel
Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 105 Hotels in Nairobi
belfast
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Great place to relax and enjoy Kenya, well worth staying in, very secure, has appartment type rooms separat e from horel if requested

Room Tip: very secure area if worried
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    247
    64
    18
    9
See reviews for
125
250
93
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

The staff could not have been more welcoming and friendly. GORGEOUS building - full of all mod cons and yet retains an air of history. Wonderful building and grounds. We were only here for one night, which was a shame, as we were busy around Nairobi, so didn't get to spend as much time at the hotel as we'd have liked. They arranged for us to hire one of their on-site taxis for the afternoon at a good rate and so we could pack a lot into a short amount of time. When we arrived back, the pool was officially closed for the day, but they opened it for us so we could have a swim. Room was fine and the general ambience was FANTASTIC with wonderful grounds too. Breakfast is UNBELIEVABLE! Really gorgeous buffet, but with a home-cooked feel - eggs florentine, waffles, pancakes, fresh fruit, mint tea, hot chocolate etc... EXCELLENT quality. We were sorry to leave and could not recommend this place more highly.

Also a great location - about 20 mins from airport (not in rush hour) and easy access to Giraffe Manor, Carnivore Restaurant and Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage too... Does really feel like a country retreat in the middle of the city!

Room Tip: We had a room in the main house (no 19) - would recommend staying in the main house if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed here enroute to the Masai Mara and Serengeti. It was a lovely hotel with beautiful grounds. The bathrooms are rather dated, but with hot water so not to worry. Note that the water is hard and it's almost impossible to lather with the little bar of soap they provide. Luckily we brought our own shower gel.

The mattress was very comfortable - we slept so well.

I liked the breakfast buffet - plenty of variety and hard to try everything in one breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Having stayed her twice, once in '11 and now in April '12, I think this place is fabulous. Great country ambiance despite being centrally located in city. Excellent service in all areas, good food, very nice (and spotlessly clean) rooms, gorgeous gardens and as you may know, very tight security. Forget the big business hotels. This is the place to stay.

Room Tip: I like the garden rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Beautiful hotel surprisingly right in the middle of the city. We loved the open air feeling, the terrific service and the good food. We stayed at a much more expensive place in Karen after the Fairview and didn't enjoy it nearly as much.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Spent several nights at this hotel. Security, common areas and restaurants were wonderful. Unexpected quality. Ate at every restaurant in hotel and each was fabulous. Rooms were fair. Not the quality reflected in the rest of the hotel. Ceiling fan didn't work. Bed linens "scratchy" and entire room felt "old" and outdated. Staff was wonderful so as long as you are prepared for a slightly below average room, you'll enjoy the stay.

Room Tip: Check that the ceiling fan works immediately. If not, get another room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairviewNairobi, Owner at Fairview Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

Kindly note that we have several categories of rooms ranging from Economy, Business, First Class & several suites to suit our guests’ needs. Our economy category (the category you stayed in) provides excellent value - we look forward to accommodating you in one of our other categories on your next visit.

Regards,

Daniel | Joint Managing Director | Fairview Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Stayed in the Fairview as last stop of our honeymoon. Overall a disappointing experience given the reputation and cost

Positives:
Beautiful old hotel and lovely grounds.Majority of staff very helpful

Negatives:
- Booked a first class room, and although upgraded to suite,it was unfortunately in the new 'apartment' block. In contrast to the beautiful old colonial hotel and grounds, the apartments were lacking character and not in keeping with the rest of the hotel.
- On check in we were informed that the room had just been completed and we could find out 'what didn't work'. Not exactly inspiring for the $300+
- In the room itself everything was functional but more like a bed sit than a 4/5 star hotel with a kitchen plonked in one corner. The bathroom had broken tiles that had been filled in rather than replaced and the whole room lacked character
- had a very early flight and at breakfast asked if they had something i could wrap a pastry in to take with me. At first was completely ignored by the lady and then upon finally being acknowledged was given a flat No! She then proceeded to walk off

Make sure you stay in the original building and avoid the scary breakfast woman

Room Tip: Dont stay in the new apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairviewNairobi, Owner at Fairview Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thanks for recently staying with us and for your feedback.

We do not believe in charging for services not enjoyed. We have therefore refunded your card in full for the accommodation.

Thanks again for your feedback which is very important to us as it helps us to know whether we are meeting your expectations.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Regards,

Daniel | Joint Managing Director | Fairview Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's most popular and only family-run four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill, away from the noise of Nairobi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.