We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Fairview” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairview Hotel
Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous Fairview”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

This is just such a wonderful place to stay in Nairobi. great staff and great service with super ammenities. I wasn't aware for instance that by staying in a first class room,I had use of the lounge upstairs which included use of the computer, and printer. What a bonus when I needed to print our some documents ahead of a meeting, the business centre manager referred me to lounge.

Room Tip: Rooms at the pool have more of a breeze flowing through them as they open out onto the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    241
    63
    18
    9
See reviews for
124
245
93
308
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

The hotel is one of the nicest we have stayed at so far. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. From the reception to the cleaning staff they were all most helpful and friendly. Our booking included breakfast which was always most agreeable. The complex is set in wonderful gardens and the area around the pool was very relaxing. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are in the main building (and up some stairs) and some are set further into the gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Rather close to the airport this is a good hotel no doubt. Nothing special really but I can still fully recommend it for a stay of 1 or 2 nights. It has several restaurants. Service is good also and it has shuttles to airport at a fee. We stayed 1 night when we came into Nairobi Kenya and 1 night on our way back to europe. The security felt very good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

This hotel is a rare gem - once inside its difficult to remember you are so close to Nairobi city centre.

The hotel grounds & rooms are very claen, tidy and well looked after, the service & welcome was warm and friendly at all times - the gardens are beautiful.

We spent 2 nights (as part of a longer trip to Kenya) here and absolutely loved it - we were in Nairobi for my partners 50th birthday as it was the first time he had returned to the city since leaving there when he was 6 yrs old. I had asked the hotel if they could arrange something to mark the occasion on the morning of his big day - what came next was just amazing.... a special table set up in the garden by the stream, a personalised menu addressed to him that covered the 5 course breakfast we were about to receive and a bottle of fizz to wash it all down - we also had a personal waiter for the duration. The food was amazing and the whole event had been so well thought out by Roselyne the banquetting manager. all this was done at no extra charge - there was also cake sent up to the room later that evening.
The hotel owner & head chef came and said hi, which was a nice touch.

Will definitely stay here again - its thanks to trip advisor contributors that I chose this place.
And a massive thankyou to the Fairview staff & management for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antananarivo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We had not a very nice experience in Fairview Hotel, as we were driving into the hotel, we were stuck outside in traffic just 10 metres from the entrance and yet the guards would not let us through another entrance which would have saved us 25 mins waiting to advance 10 metres to the front gate. There is a lot of traffic and security checks to get into this hotel because it is next to the Israeli Embassy, so we found that was very annoying. Once we managed to get into the reception finally, the staff were really not too helpful and we stayed there waiting for them to correct an error they made with the booking for at least 20 mins and we had been in a car for almost 8 hours coming back from Maasai Mara, so you can imagine we were tired and yet had to endure the waiting. The staff didn't really care about how we felt and just pushed us away to our room. The room was a first class room, however I fail to see how it is first class, it is very mediocre and was a bit of a walk from the rest of the compound, at least it was clean. After all that happened, I guess we were just glad to have a room and a bathroom so we can chill out.

Room Tip: Even though the first class room has a sitting area, best to have a standard room, at least you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairviewNairobi, Owner at Fairview Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

The error with your reservation is highly regretted and your disappointment with our delay on check-in is understandable.

As for the traffic, our location is no worse than any other especially at the time of your arrival. Secondly, using the exit gate to get into the hotel would have further aggravated the traffic situation.

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We hope to have another opportunity to show you why we are Number 1 in Nairobi.

Regards,

Daniel | Joint Managing Director | Fairview Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed at the Fairview for 1 night after our flight from Heathrow.

Room was lovely and grounds very nice. Gardens and pool area are lovely.
Breakfast was good with a good selection of food. Evening meal we took at the pool area which takes on an elegant ambiance after sundown. The food was good but the wine was expensive - too expensive.

One thing that did hamper the stay a little bit was the noise from some builders that were demolising one of the rooms about 3 doors down from us. The racket went on from 9am right through until 5pm. Minor problem which will go as soon as the works complete.

Room Tip: First Class rooms are brilliant, loads of room and comfy beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

In a three week stay in Kenya we stayed 3 times at the Fairview between trips to Mombasa and the Mara. I chose it because of its good TripAdvisor reviews and it lived up to expectations in every way. We stayed in four different rooms, choosing to stay in a 1st class one for our final 3 nights relaxation before we flew home to the UK. The two economy rooms we had were very good and the 1st class room we moved to was superb (ask for Room 11 if you're making a booking!). We had one of our 3 1st class nights in a room overlooking the pool (142) and didn't think it was up to scratch (just like a standard Holiday Inn room) so we moved.
The facilities are excellent, the garden beautiful and the pool wonderful. All the staff were helpful and friendly. A definite recommendation and a must-stay-there if we find ourselves in Kenya again.

Room Tip: Room 11 if staying first class Visit Utamaduni (a craft cooperative in Karen district) to buy good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's most popular and only family-run four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill, away from the noise of Nairobi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.