We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favourite Hotel in Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fairview Hotel
Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“My Favourite Hotel in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We always stay at this hotel when we first arrive in Nairobi before our onward adventures. We have tried a couple of others but somehow they don't match up.
The character of this place is charming, the fact that this is a hands on family business is evident in the attention to detail travellers are treated to in terms of service, facilities and value for money. If your budget can stretch to it always book a first class room, its not much more expensive but you get free access to a delightful first floor private lounge with complimentary tea, coffee, nibbles or fruit and internet access and somewhere relaxing to read papers etc it has a wonderful fireplace for use on cool evenings and is a great place for pre dinner drinks before going next door to the Pango Brasserie one of at least 4 eating options at the hotel
Breakfast is included in the rates and a wonderful spread is laid on in the main dining area. In the evenings this room often has a pianist. We like eating by the poolside restaurant at night and enjoy the patio heaters/braziers when the weather is cool.
The annexe rooms are newer than the original block which was a private house at one point and there are lovely vintage photos on display from that period. First class annexe rooms feature such luxuries as sunken baths and huge shower heads, However I still prefer the rooms in the original block for character.
There is a taxi rank attached to the hotel and we always use drivers from there as they are fairly priced and reliable. A taxi or minicab can be arranged through the hotel for collection/drop off at airports or for days out. There is a small gift shop that has a good selection of gifts and some lovely books.
Facilities continue to be improved check out the hotel website for up to date rates and amenities, there is even a conference centre these days.
Security at the hotel is good and the road itself has a checkpoint so safety is excellent.
The landscaped gardens are a great place to enjoy during the day with a feature waterfall and rondavel to sit under while watching the birds.

Room Tip: First class offers that little bit extra including a private first floor lounge for relaxing in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    510
    228
    61
    18
    9
See reviews for
117
240
91
295
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Stayed here at this wonderful property on 25th january prior to our 8 day safari tour and it was amazing. It was good to come to a property after a long flight that just has alot of greenery and comfort. Food was great, breakfast was amazing, what a spread! There was free internet connection and we could always stay tune to the world. Rooms were large and most important of all, we felt completely safe within the premises. Naturally almost all of the guests stayed within the grounds as there are good restaurants in Fairview that served delicious food. Would love to come back again to this property if i have the opportunity to go for another safari tour. brilliant!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

I have stayed at the Fairview on each of my six trips to Kenya over the past 9 years and it has only gotten better and better in my opinion. The security has been increased, the landscaping helps you feel like you're in a country oasis, the service is excellent, the food very good. I really enjoyed the outside patio dining into the evenings now; I appreciated being able to take a long swim after days in the hot bush up-country. The porters remember me by name; the owner could not have been more helpful in a particular matter I needed assistance with. I would not stay anywhere else in Nairobi. It feels like home!

Room Tip: The corner suites are really nice; we were upgraded to one without having to ask which we really app...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Cannot recommend this hotel high enough if you are planning on staying in Nairobi on business. Only problem is it gets fully booked quite quickly as its reputation has been there for years and it's well know as a good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a first- class room and it was spacious and over-looked the garden. It would have been peaceful but at the moment
there is a lot of building work going on beside the hotel. I needed to shut out the noise with my iPod when I sunbathed on the deck above the pool. The pool is large, clean and cold but soon warms up once you get in.
There are no toiletries in the bathrooms except for hair/body shampoo. I complained about the cleanliness of the bathroom floor and this was swiftly dealt with by a team of 4 :-!!
I'd recommend the Pango restaurant where the food is delicious and the staff very attentive. Not cheap for Kenya but a nice dining experience.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Great environment and ambiance, the hospitality of the staff was great. Rates are all inclusive and inluding WIFI. Quality of food is good. Most reviews already talks about the pluses.... am listing the minus to give a omplete perspective.

- Definitely not cheap
- One soap was the only toilet toiletry provided for the 3 day stay, so business travellers please pak them in if your are staying at the fairview.
- Rooms are small with the bed single bed (of about 3 feet width) covering 80% of the floor space.
- Just one small bottle of complimentary water provided over the 3 day stay. Either buy from the restaurant / outside if you don't want to risk drinking the tap water, which is definitely not advisable.

hich s It lives up to it's reputation. But few things that

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Nairobi is crazy, but there couldn't be a better antidote than the Fairview.

* Modern rooms and bathrooms with great water pressure
* Amazing grounds that just cause you to exhale
* Fantastic poolside dining with a great bar
* Family friendly
* Very helpful staff & credit card facilities

Did a one-night stay with a group of 13 this trip, but I'll definitely stay again when back in October.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's most popular and only family-run four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill, away from the noise of Nairobi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.