We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in the middle of Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Fairview Hotel
Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Amman, Jordan
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“An oasis in the middle of Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We have lived in Nairobi for the past nine months and decided to end our stay with a few nights at the Fairview Hotel. We were not disappointed. The environment was most restful, the various gardens and waterfalls gave it a very peaceful atmosphere. The rooms were a little more basic, but very comfortable and very clean. Our room had a balcony, overlooking the garden. The perfect place to relax. The establishment had several excellent restaurants to choose from and a great swimming pool. The breakfast buffet in the atrium was lovely and the food offered for breakfast was excellent. The rest of the meals were also quite affordable. The Fairview Hotel is not cheap, but compared to Nairobi prices it is a very good deal. Also it is said to be very secure. Another pleasant surprise for me was the availability of free internet connection. Tomorrow we are returning to Canada and for a while this was our last stay in Kenya. Great place to end our Kenyan experiences.

Room Tip: We enjoyed sitting out on the porch overlooking the garden. Lots of greenery and singing birds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    264
    67
    20
    9
See reviews for
129
262
96
337
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

I had stayed in the fairview on business and on this occasion took the family back as part of our holiday in Kenya. We stayed either side of a safari and on both occasions were well looked after. It was a great place from which to explore Nairobi. The breakfast was really good and the service at the pool restaurant exceptional. Everyone is really friendly and on the whole went out of there way to make us comfortable. It is expensive but we felt safe and relaxed in beautiful surroundings. For us the cost was worth it and the hotel and staff contributed to a holiday of a lifetime.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worongary, Australia
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Most everything positive has already been said about this lovely property in Nairobi. It really is an oasis in the midst of the city. And terribly secure, both the hotel itself and the street - being opposite the Israeli Embassy. We stayed for one night both before and after our tour, in the old original part of the hotel which we actually liked, given its history. The old rooms are simple but clean. However, the staff was most impressive from the reception to the restaurants and everywhere else in between. They were so helpful, friendly and professional. Food & service were first class. The property does't appear to be out to 'rip off' the tourist either and their shuttle to the airport was excellent value (US$8) in comparison to other places we stayed in Nairobi. The Fairview Hotel is a great choice in Nairobi.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Liked the openness of the different restaurant and bar areas. The breakfast buffet was good. Paid the extra for first class rooms and enjoyed the lounge access with free access to coffee, snacks and a laptop during the day. Wifi was fast and available all over the hotel. Felt very secure environment. There was work going on to refurbish two of the restaurants - some noise and varnish smells. Pool was not heated so too cold for me, but some of the kids were enjoying it. Good TV channels in the rooms with live soccer from UK.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest England
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I can’t fault the Fairview but it’s really not our kind of place. For one thing the rooms—attractive but not lavish--are much more expensive than we usually pay. We had been warned that Nairobi was extremely dangerous and that this was one of two safe hotels. I think our friend was being overdramatic, because Nairobi is certainly not Kabul. Still we didn’t know that and we decided to follow his advice. The Fairview certainly provided lots of security. When my husband wanted to take a short walk, the front desk strongly recommended that he take a taxi. He went on foot anyway and in no way felt threatened. He asked residents for directions, chatted with them and withdrew money from an ATM. I do understand that hotel staff has to be careful in case someone is mugged. This is really a hotel designed for business people. The pool area is lovely, and the food was good and reasonable. Wi-fi was fast and free. When we came back to Nairobi two weeks later, we opted for a more modest hotel downtown and felt completely safe walking around.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Well in was our last night in Africa after an amazing trip. The hotel, grounds and security where 5 star but the small and simple room was just a 3 star. We had a small roach in our bathroom and a mosquito, the beds do not have mosquito nets although the windows have screens. We had dinner and breakfast which were 3-4 star, nothing to rave about, thier menu was definitely trying to please everyone. Good value.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

After a month in Uganda and Tanzania sightseeing and going on safari, and a beautiful week on Zanzibar at Villa Loiki, we flew to Nairobi to stay overnight until our flight the next evening. Luckily, the reservation was at the Fairview Hotel!!! It has everything you might want or need, including fine rooms, extensive gardens, pool, excellent restaurants & bars, and well-trained staff.

It's hard to tell you're in Nairobi, a bustling metropolis. The feeling is laid back, and the room, food, service and facilities are upscale. It has been there for a century...for good reason.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's most popular and only family-run four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill, away from the noise of Nairobi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.