We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Fairview Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 122 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Oasis in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

In the three weeks I have been in Kenya I have now stayed at the Fairview for four nights - the first two were planned, the seconf two as a result of eeading the reviews of the previously booked hotel through a tour company. I lost money, but it was worth the switch.. The Fairview offers great accommodations, food, friendly staff and safe location and atmosphere. The only thing missing are spa services after a week camping safari.

I stayed in three different rooms. The first was a huge room-king bed, reading chairs, bath, huge closet. This was located on the other side of the property so meant using your room key to exit the gated compound, cross the road, enter the other gated compound, and then again to enter the buikding and finally your room. There is currently construction on this side of the property so request a room in the main complex if you want to sleep in. I was able to get rooms in the main building the last two nights, and although much smaller, were perfectly fine for a solo traveller. The second room (73) overlooked the breakfast area and the first (28) the front grounds. This was the smaller of the two rooms and the windows needed to be shut at night because of the sound of the frogs! This was still better then being across the road.

The pool is great, as is the business centre for printing, though the free wifi throughout the property is hard to beat. The variety of food is not bad, and my own experience with room service was prompt and hot.

I would not hesitate to stay at the Fairview again the next time I am in Nairobi.

Room Tip: ask for the main builing and not facing the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    271
    69
    22
    10
See reviews for
133
265
98
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

2nd time writing this so it may be short!

I chose this hotel for a two week business stay as it seemed to offer a lot more charm and comfort than the big chain hotels in the area. Also very reasonably priced.

My expectations were met - really charming hotel in a lovely setting but the rooms were more b&b like than hotel like. As the hotel makes this clear on their website this didn't come as a suprise. The service was mostly friendly but not overbearing.

The rooms (I had two different ones as I went to the mara for the weekend) were nice. Basic facilities all there with comfy bed, good water pressure in the shower, tv, wifi etc. No air conditioning but there were fans so that was fine. The decor is a little dated, especially in the bathrooms, which makes the room appear less clean than it is e.g discoloured groat. This goes to the b&b rather than hotel standard mentioned above.

The hotel pool looked pretty but I was never there when it wasn't mosquito time so I didn't use it. I didn't use the gym but the business centre was good and the lady there was very helpful and efficient.

The hotel says it has five restaurants but this is a little misleading as four of them basically have the same menu. The food is very good but you don't get as much variety as you might expect. The fifth restaurant (upstairs) was an old school fine dining experience which was very nice, but not a quick meal. (The after dinner petit fours are presented in the most amazing way with dry ice coming out of the stand!)

Room Service – this was sometimes good and sometimes poor. On some occasions the room service was fine, both efficient and friendly. But other times this was not the case.
For instance one time when I called the person on the other end was rather brusque with me and not very helpful. I also had an issue where I ordered the steak with baked potato – it came with a creamy topping which wasn’t listed on the menu and wasn't something I wanted to eat. The person who delivered the meal was reluctant to take the potato back telling me it was on the menu like that and arguing until I showed him the menu (actually both versions of the menu). The replacement potato was undercooked when it came.

I was quite unwell during the stay so sometimes all I wanted was a very bland meal of bread and milk – this was quite difficult to arrange it seemed and the bread when it came was rather stale. (This particular incident I went to the Atrium café to make my request and it was delivered to my room – 30 minutes later). It seemed that they really weren't set up to deal with special requests or handling room service quickly.

Overall I really enjoyed my stay and would certainly stay there again. There aren't many places where you can go for a walk in the gardens while staying in the hotel grounds. There are also some really lovely touches like a chess board set up by an open fire for guests to use.

The hotel also asks you to fill in a satisfaction survey and I received a follow up email (much of which is copied above) for further detail which I think is a really good sign.

Room Tip: rooms are very varied and priced accordingly so check carefully you will be getting the facilities y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Rooms are functional and clean. Staff was helpful. Great breakfast, nice pool.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stayed here one night prior to joining a safari. We were immediately impressed by the level of security and the lovely grounds. It was a quiet and relaxing place though currently much of it is being reconstructed. The room was spacious, especially the bathroom, and it felt new and fresh. Our sole complaint was that it took a ridiculous amount of time to obtain a bottle of water - the service generally was good. The various restaurants gave plenty of choice for dinner and the breakfast buffet was extensive and delicious. We would definitely stay again if we were in Nairobi.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

It was nice to drive into a quiet, garden-like setting. You instantly feel relaxed and the building is charming. However, for the price I was expecting a little bit more. The service was fine, but the rooms were a bit dated and the food was just fine. The Crowne Plaza, although perhaps not as charming, felt cleaner and the food was better. It is not a bad place to stay for a layover.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

You won't be wowed at first if you were expecting The Grand Hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews, but this place will grow on you and after after a few days it will feel like home and you will be sorry to leave.

Two bits of advise; 1) Don't accept a room on the other side of the road where they are doing construction and you are isolated from the hotel property and, 2) book at least the "First Class" room which is substantially better than "Business Class". You may think Business Class is pretty good, but here is it more like Motel 6.

Bottom line is, after a few hundred hotel nights this year, this would be in my top ten to come back to just for the pleasure of being here. And that's saying a lot for Nairobi.

I gave it "very good" instead of "excellent" because it is situated in city center of Nairobi and has lost some appeal due to the environment that is overtaking it.

Room Tip: Avoid the building across the road. Business class rooms are more like motel rooms, and First Clas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

I like the Fairview Hotel a lot. It is quiet, comfortable, very secure, offers a great location not too far from the city centre, lovely staff... Attracts an expat crowd and isn't really somewhere to stay more than a few nights. But if in transit or stoppping off in the city briefly, it's a reliable choice and good value for money. I would stay there again if passing through Nairobi.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's most popular and only family-run four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill, away from the noise of Nairobi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.