We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay and also hold a small conference” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Fairview Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and also hold a small conference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I recently stayed at the Fairview as the organisation I work for were running a workshop for 3 days there. It is a great place - everything good - food, staff and service. You also feel very safe there and you would hardly believe that you were staying in a very busy city. The gardens are lovely and a welcome break from sitting in a conference room all day. I would recommend this hotel very highly.l

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spider49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Nairobi
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

An oasis the middle of an African City, walking distance to Nairobi Downtown.... Their Gardens beautiful, with great bird wildlife and Bull Frogs........
The pool is consistent in its cleanliness..
The gym is great, but when busy requires another CV piece of machinery..
There are many restaurants all serving great and varied food. Including great Sushi.
The service everywhere is next to none and Judy and William are always on the case!
Rooms are clean and interesting gifts arrive once a week if you are staying for any length of time... Beds are comfortable and there is always plenty of hot water and internet connections.. Excellent considering the number of power cuts Nairobi has?
Taxi drivers are on 24 hour availability and again better value for money than others elsewhere..
The security of this hotel is high...

Thanks to the Fairview Owners and Team

Room Tip: VIP Rooms Apartment Side and Poole side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nichola618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Migori, Kenya
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Rooms are comfortable and well appointed, staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. There is also a range of rooms to fit different budgets. Amenities are great, with pool, business center, and multiple restaurants. Staff can arrange for excursions throughout Kenya, and travel agent office is on the campus. Luggage storage services also available. Breakfast buffet is absolutely delicous and you get more than your moneys worth, some of the best American food you can find in Kenya! Security is also top notch.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceboyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
108 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We spent a week at the Fairview during a conference at the neighboring Pan AFric Hotel. We paid for a "superior" room that opened onto the garden near the pool and were very happy with the accomodation. The Fairview provides developed world comforts, good internet, pool, exercize room with old world British attentive service. Breakfasts are fabulous with a variety of juices, egg dishes, meat and cheese, granola, fresh breads, etc. Other meals were ok, although the menus are limited and after a few days we were looking for other options. The location is convenient to both the international airport, downtown, and Wilson airport, although there is not much nearby for walking/touring. We enjoyed an afternoon shopping in Karen (Kuzuri beads in particular) which is 30 minutes away by cab.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WMKMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

The Fairview is a welcomed escape from the bustling and busy city of Nairobi. It is a charming and safe property. The grounds are beautifully manicured, and the staff are very pleasant and accommodating. We enjoyed the food there as well.

The rooms are basic, and are the only reason I give this review a 4 instead of a 5. They are ok, but could use some updating. They are clean and quiet though, and that is most important.

The prices are very fair for food and drinks at the property. Make sure to check out the wine cellar! A neat spot.

We arranged a day driver through them at a fair price to take us to David Sheldrick and the Giraffe Center, and our driver was a very friendly guy.

I will definitely return to the Fairview if I'm ever in Nairobi again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bean820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The Fairview is a bit of a throwback, but in a good way. It has something of an English country inn feel, even though it's in the heart of a bustling, chaotic city. In that sense, it'a a little bit of an oasis, quiet with very nice grounds. It's a quirky place, to be sure, in that unique colonial Africa way. The rooms are nothing fancy - in fact they're in need of refurbishing - but they're very comfortable and secure. the restaurant is very good, especially the breakfast buffet. The real standout at Fairview is the service. You don't run into anyone who works there who doesn't treat you like you're their best guest.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ewebber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I was a little unsure of trusting the TripAdvisor review for the Fairview over going with a large chain where you supposedly know what you're getting. The Fairview has earned it's spot! The hotel has the charm of its age (built in 1909ish), but has been updated very carefully and cleanly to include all the modern amenities you need. It was clean and comfortable, and the food was great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave2xu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.0 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#9 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 694 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
7.6 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#11 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 857 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#8 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 689 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairview Hotel is owned and operated by the City Lodge Hotel Group. It is Nairobi's most popular four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing