We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely plan on returning if in Nairobi again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Fairview Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
116 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Definitely plan on returning if in Nairobi again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

This hotel was an amazing surprise. I had booked it based off the TripAdvisor reviews and it did not disappoint. The beautiful garden settings, charming architecture and good quality restaurants meant an entire holiday could be spent within its grounds if desired (and we so desired, as it was a one night stop on our way back from safari). The room we were in, while perfectly adequate, seemed a bit sterile given the unique exteriors but that is truly nit picking to find something other than effusive praise from our stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    288
    69
    22
    10
See reviews for
135
272
98
381
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
91 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Some of the best food available in a hotel in Nairobi. Smart, comfortable and functional rooms convenient for city work, i wish every city in the world had a Fariview.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
214 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed at the Fairview for just one night. We flew in late to Nairobi and left the next morning for Maasi Mara, so we did not really take advantage of the hotel amenities. Our room (on the first floor across from the breakfast area) was quite large, as was the bathroom, with a separate tub and shower. It was quiet, there were only a few rooms on this side and there was a good ceiling fan.

The hotel grounds are lovely, with a swimming pool and fitness center. My wife appreciated the free wifi. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The breakfast buffet is extensive with a varied choice and good quality foods and drinks.

Note: the hotel is opposite the Israeli Embassy, so security is very tight and do not take any photographs out front or in the street (in case you miss the sign). We were quickly stopped and surrounded when one of our group turned around to take a picture of the hotel entrance when we were leaving.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for single or multi-night stay,

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Stayed here for 1 night prior to going on Safari. We were looking for somewhere pleasant and safe to stay the night and it certainly delivered. Very large spacious room with large bathroom and great hot shower much needed after long journey. Pleasant gardens and lovely pool. We also had dinner and breakfast at the hotel and both were very good. Perhaps a slightly old fashioned hotel, but in all the right ways.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We had two rooms here in Oct. 2011 while taking our grandchildren on Safari. We were last here in 2009 and the hotel was just as good this time. Everything about this hotel is very good or excellent. The staff is clearly excellent. We highly recommend the Fairview, it is a fine hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Arrived at midnight on Friday 30th Sept. for 3 nights prior to Seychelles and Serengeti.
This is a very, very reasonably priced hotel. Room rates are from $150.00 ! It is worth getting the business for $17.00 more as then you can have coffee in the business room next to the main gourmet dining room and sit quietly.
The business rooms are small but adequate in the main hotel area. Take your own lotions.
The grounds are lovely and the swimming pool is large.If you need a tour to Karen then ask one of the men in the car park,for Rafael who is just alongside the gate outside. He took us to a restaurant in town the evening before and spent the whole day with us in Karen for just $80.00. The places to visit are the Elephant Orphanage, Karen Blixon home and the bead factory if you want necklaces made by the local women. Rafael also showed us a craft place where you could have lunch in the gardens. The giraffe place was just a few warthogs and some giraffes where you could feed them.

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel on floor one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We lived there for one night before our safari. The garden and resturants in the hotel are very nice. It's also good at safety. But the room is just so so. The decoration of the room looks a bit old and the bathroom is also a little old.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.4 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#11 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 596 reviews
7.6 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#3 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 759 reviews
1.1 mi away
Meridian Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#16 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairview Hotel is owned and operated by the City Lodge Hotel Group. It is Nairobi's most popular four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.