We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely plan on returning if in Nairobi again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairview Hotel
Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Sydney
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Definitely plan on returning if in Nairobi again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011 via mobile

This hotel was an amazing surprise. I had booked it based off the TripAdvisor reviews and it did not disappoint. The beautiful garden settings, charming architecture and good quality restaurants meant an entire holiday could be spent within its grounds if desired (and we so desired, as it was a one night stop on our way back from safari). The room we were in, while perfectly adequate, seemed a bit sterile given the unique exteriors but that is truly nit picking to find something other than effusive praise from our stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    519
    238
    62
    18
    9
See reviews for
122
242
91
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arusha, Tanzania
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Some of the best food available in a hotel in Nairobi. Smart, comfortable and functional rooms convenient for city work, i wish every city in the world had a Fariview.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed at the Fairview for just one night. We flew in late to Nairobi and left the next morning for Maasi Mara, so we did not really take advantage of the hotel amenities. Our room (on the first floor across from the breakfast area) was quite large, as was the bathroom, with a separate tub and shower. It was quiet, there were only a few rooms on this side and there was a good ceiling fan.

The hotel grounds are lovely, with a swimming pool and fitness center. My wife appreciated the free wifi. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The breakfast buffet is extensive with a varied choice and good quality foods and drinks.

Note: the hotel is opposite the Israeli Embassy, so security is very tight and do not take any photographs out front or in the street (in case you miss the sign). We were quickly stopped and surrounded when one of our group turned around to take a picture of the hotel entrance when we were leaving.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for single or multi-night stay,

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Stayed here for 1 night prior to going on Safari. We were looking for somewhere pleasant and safe to stay the night and it certainly delivered. Very large spacious room with large bathroom and great hot shower much needed after long journey. Pleasant gardens and lovely pool. We also had dinner and breakfast at the hotel and both were very good. Perhaps a slightly old fashioned hotel, but in all the right ways.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We had two rooms here in Oct. 2011 while taking our grandchildren on Safari. We were last here in 2009 and the hotel was just as good this time. Everything about this hotel is very good or excellent. The staff is clearly excellent. We highly recommend the Fairview, it is a fine hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Arrived at midnight on Friday 30th Sept. for 3 nights prior to Seychelles and Serengeti.
This is a very, very reasonably priced hotel. Room rates are from $150.00 ! It is worth getting the business for $17.00 more as then you can have coffee in the business room next to the main gourmet dining room and sit quietly.
The business rooms are small but adequate in the main hotel area. Take your own lotions.
The grounds are lovely and the swimming pool is large.If you need a tour to Karen then ask one of the men in the car park,for Rafael who is just alongside the gate outside. He took us to a restaurant in town the evening before and spent the whole day with us in Karen for just $80.00. The places to visit are the Elephant Orphanage, Karen Blixon home and the bead factory if you want necklaces made by the local women. Rafael also showed us a craft place where you could have lunch in the gardens. The giraffe place was just a few warthogs and some giraffes where you could feed them.

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel on floor one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We lived there for one night before our safari. The garden and resturants in the hotel are very nice. It's also good at safety. But the room is just so so. The decoration of the room looks a bit old and the bathroom is also a little old.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's most popular and only family-run four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill, away from the noise of Nairobi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.