We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Security at Fairview a Priority” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fairview Hotel to your Saves list
Fairview Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 115 Hotels in Nairobi
Encinitas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Security at Fairview a Priority”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed at the Fairview prior to a family safari. It was clean, beautifully landscaped, and has excellent personnel. We were very impressed with the security. It is located next to the Israeli Embassy so there are security guards everywhere! I wish we had more time to enjoy the grounds because they are absolutely amazing.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    264
    68
    20
    9
See reviews for
131
264
97
341
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Just had a weekend here with my mum visiting (because my flat has no spare room!). It was lovely on all accounts. We chose it because of the location, but I would actually recommend it to anyone staying in town. It's like not being in hectic nairobi at all! It was my mum's treat to me but looking at the price I would say it's also good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geldrop, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

A good room price/quality, good staff, nice garden, good situated and last but not least good restaurants. I will surely come back

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

I spent 2 nights in the Fairview recovering from a long flight before leaving on a tour. I didn't actually get out of the hotel and so can't comment on location in terms of access to sights/city but the hotel itself feels like its located in the country. Its established in large, beautifully maintained gardens with a pool, bar and number of restaurants. Its a very gorgeous place to walk through. And it feels secure/safe. My large room was located towards the back of the hotel with a beautiful view overlooking the gardens. As well as the usual amenities, there was a big bed and ensuite. The ensuite is in need of a facelift but that didn't really bother me. The room itself was clean and quiet. Breakfast is included and is a huge buffet - you wont go hungry! Wi-fi is free up to a certain number of hours and then you pay for extra. The staff were polite and helpful. For around AUD$120/night I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

An enjoyable stay. The atmosphere is calm and relaxed. The hotel is popular with NGO and diplomat types who are in Nairobi to work which seems to alter the feel. Given Nairobi's appalling traffic problems, the Fairview is perfectly positioned to get pretty much anywhere with minimal problems. Clean quiet room, excellent breakfast. Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Minor moans. Breakfast in the room was charged at full rate, ie even if you have paid for "bed and breakfast", they will charge you for the breakfast in the room. I could understand a surcharge but charging again seems a little excessive. Irritating, but the food quality was excellent.

Wifi did not work in our room, I did not bother to find out why.

They would not allow us to book a late check out until the morning of the same day. They offered the alternative of charging for a full additional night to hold the room. I can understand that they don't want to loose a full booking, but I have not encountered this anywhere else.

The trainee on the desk was pretty clueless, but he was well supported when he started floundering.

We forgot toothpaste and did not discover until late at night! Most hotels of this quality will keep such 'essentials' behind the desk in some form or other, but they could only tell us to wait until the shop opened next day.

But these are minor niggles, overall the experience was very good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

I had the distinct pleasure of visiting The Fairview with my girlfriend for four-plus-four nights (broken up by a safari) in September, 2011. It is far and away the best hotel I've stayed at in Africa, and in fact one of the most memorable ones anywhere.

Location

I was initially worried about staying somewhere not in the city centre, but the Fairview's location turned out to be a blessing. Being directly across from the Israeli Embassy and surrounded by guards and gates it's extremely safe. And away from the chaotic hustle and bustle of downtown Nairobi the grounds are an oasis of calm. Many times my girlfriend and I found ourselves walking around the grounds to stretch our legs after a long car ride, or to digest a delicious meal.

I'll even go so far as to say that I'm not sure why anyone would want to spend a significant amount of time in the downtown core. I suppose if you were here on business you might have to, but I bet your clients would prefer to meet you at the Fairview instead!

Staff

It's worth mentioning how incredibly friendly and helpful the staff were, from the bellhops who whisked away our luggage to our room, to the chefs who made our omelettes, to the front desk staff who were always ready to change money or answer dumb tourist questions.

Despite a fair number of people staying on the property (including a Microsoft conference) the hotel never felt busy -- I attribute this to the staff keeping everything running so smoothly.

Rooms

We stayed in a first class room (number 53) on the west side of the property. I was a bit iffy on the lack of available air conditioning but it turned out to be a non-issue -- our room was more than adequately cooled by a roll-away fan/humidifier (see photos). There's also a large ceiling fan. Or you could just leave the windows open.

The bed was firm and extremely comfortable, the bathroom enormous & clean and there was lots to watch on the wall-mounted flatscreen TV... almost too much!

Internet is provided in the rooms via an Ethernet cable or password-protected access to property-wide WiFi.

Food

You need to understand that I'm a huge fan of hotel breakfasts, and the Fairview's morning buffet often had me on the verge of tears. It was that good.

In addition to the standard western fare -- eggs cooked to order, bacon, sausage, grilled tomatoes, et al -- there was an unexpected French influence in the items on offer, notably beignets for your coffee and just about the best crepes I've ever tasted. Seriously.

There was also a fantastic selection of fresh fruit and juices, and the coffee was just about perfect -- not too strong for your first cup of the day but certainly not bland.

Elsewhere on the property we enjoyed delicious pizzas and pasta on the patio of the Mukutan Garden Café and an epic gourmet dinner in the second floor dining room to celebrate our last night at the Fairview. The bananas flambé is a definite win.

Extras

Our first class room gave us access to a small lounge off the second floor dining room, with a laptop and complimentary beverages like french press coffee and herbal tea. Rest assured, we spent a lot of time here too.

I should also note that the hotel stored some bags for us while we were away on safari, at no charge. And when we checked back in at the Fairview we were able to enjoy the same spacious room we had on our first four nights there.

Nitpicking

We loved the Fairview so much that it's difficult to think of anywhere it came up short. But in an effort to be fair and balanced I'll point out two extremely minor things:

1. One of the movie channels on the TV seemed like it was broadcast from the hotel. I say this because once or twice we found ourselves watching something with a Windows Start Menu across the bottom of the screen. Oops.

2. Being a bit of a computer geek I would have configured the hotel-wide WiFi a little differently -- having a single mesh network instead of a collection of disparate hotspots would save a guest having to bring their username & password with them and their laptop to log in at the pool, patio, etc.

But did either of these things have any negative impact on our stay at The Fairview? Absolutely not. We had an amazing stay there, and I wish to extend my gratitude to the staff of this wonderful hotel, and to the TripAdvisor community for bringing it to our attention.

Room Tip: First class rooms are definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Stayed here for a few nights during August 2011 and experienced helpful staff and a secure and comfortable room. We were in an economy room which is accessed via a key-card gate: the room and bathroom were very spacious, perhaps a little tired looking but well-equipped with ironing board, fan and safe. Never had a problem with connecting to the free wi-fi. For the price (less than £100 per night inc. breakfast) this hotel was very good value. Drinks were not as cheap as we were expecting but cheaper than Intercontinental. At the entrance the taxis have a pricelist to the major sights so you know how much to pay. Restaurants were of good quality. We also stayed at their sister hotel next door, Country Lodge, which was very good too.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Address: Bishops Road | P.O Box 40842, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nairobi's most popular and only family-run four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill, away from the noise of Nairobi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.