We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Save Saved
You added Fairmont The Norfolk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont The Norfolk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
England
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“What a lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

From the staff to the Gardens this place was fantastic. Rooms were well air conditioned no mosquitoes, comfortable beds, great pool (although they could do with a few more sun loungers), excellent bar (drinks fairly pricey for Kenya, buts that's a 5* hotel for you).
All in all a great place and would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    168
    49
    26
    9
See reviews for
63
110
39
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
�G|ϗϨ�
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

Stayed there for two nights awaiting our Safari , Old colonial elegance and simplicity.
Very nice. Left luggage ,and gifts we had purchased in our first stop. Returned 10 days later after safari and used a 5 hour day room with friends and retrived our packages . They were very helpful

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

This hotel has clearly been around for a while as it is clearly dated but it is set on a nice piece of property. The buildings are a bit of a walk away from the main lobby which might be a problem for someone disabled. Evening drinks and snacks out the verandah were nice and they had portable heaters for when it cooled down. At breakfast there were both hot and cold selections and it was a pretty big spread. There were beautiful large palm trees on this property. If anyone can figure out the toilets in Kenya let me know! Why don't they flush properly?

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonning
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

This used to be my regular stayover in Nairobi when it was Block Hotels.
When I went back, everything had changed. The Verandah had been ''converted'' into a restaurant. No-one wanted to sit in what had been the Long Bar. The whole thing is now twice the price, for a bland Hilton/Sheraton/Holiday Inn copy.
Still some nice, attentive staff.
But otherwise: Avoid!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

We found the Norfolk to be a well appointed hotel, with terrific service and an excellent breakfast. But I would never stay there again, because of the mosquitoes we constantly found in our rooms.

When we first went into our room on our first stay, the room was full of mosquitoes. I killed 20 before calling housekeeping and asking them to spray the room. Management was very apologetic.

Despite my better judgement, we stayed there again a few days later. We went into our new room, and yes, more mosquitoes. I called housekeeping and they sprayed the room while we were out to dinner. We came back to find still more mosquitoes. So we got housekeeping to send up a can of flyspray and we did it ourselves. The following day, after we returned from sightseeing, the room had a fresh swarm of mosquitoes. Sigh.

Why the fixation with mosquitoes? Well, Nairobi is in a malaria area, and there are no nets in the room.

Management was apologetic - again. But they do need to spray their rooms each day, and fix the sliding window (that opens to the internal courtyard) in the room that would not close completely, which is how I guess the mosquitoes flew in. Either that or they are breeding in the a/c ducts...

Avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Beautiful hotel- one of the best I have ever stayed at. I would highly rate this hotel and service. We stayed for ten nights and had a fabulous experience! The gift shop had great jewelry as well. They even stored our luggage while we were away for three days on a safari. Quite a breathtaking experience.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

I've been staying at the Norfolk for 20 years. It had flaws under its previous owners (Lonrho) but it had a great atmosphere. Fairmont who now manage it have ripped out its soul and turned it into a bland hotel for tourists from Ohio. The Delamere verandah bar, once the buzziest place in town where the locals mingled with the tourists over a sunset Tusker, has become a midwestern American restaurant with less atmosphere than a Basingstoke pizza joint. If you want to just have an evening drink there, you are actively discouraged. The night I was there there were four people in the entire place. Five years ago there would have been 104.

The rooms are pure Ohio. The a-c is set to icy and does not respond to the controls. You will freeze. I had a junior suite with a huge bathroom from which they had ripped out the bath and installed a large shower in its place. Presumably midwesterners don't like baths. Too European.

What a crime to destroy a place with such a history. It's a pity its new Saudi owner obviously has no interest in its heritage.

A great place to go - if you're from Ohio. Otherwise avoid. The Serena has less history but at least you know you're in Nairobi and you'll meet some of the locals.

Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel has played a leading role in Kenya's colorful history, and continues to be the best-known luxury hotel in Nairobi. The town and later the modern city of Nairobi grew up around Fairmont The Norfolk hotel, which still has its own private tropical gardens. The hotel is still the traditional starting point for safaris and the Lord Delamere Terrace is modern Nairobi's popular meeting place, where drinks and light meals are served continuously from morning till late evening.Fairmont The Norfolk was expanded in 1999 and subsequently renovated in time for its centennial celebrations in 2004. The Delamere & Acacia Wing were refurbished in 2012 to give the rooms a modern touch, whilst preserving their charm and unique personality. The Nairobi hotel now offers accommodations in 170 guest rooms and suites, has eight conference rooms, the largest seating 175 delegates, a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club with gym, sauna and steam room and gift shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Norfolk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.