We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'd stay again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont The Norfolk to your Saves list
Fairmont The Norfolk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3rd Night FREE
Ranked #13 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
on the go
Level Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“We'd stay again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at the Fairmont Norfolk for 6 nights. It’s in the city center, about a 30 minute drive (in good traffic) from the airport. The Police station and a college is down the street. 2 minutes walking distance is a Barclays bank/ATM, and 10 minutes away is the city market.

We had a room in the Delemere wing and it was very clean, well arranged, and very comfortable. I'm not sure why but our room didn't get but a few mosquitos, while others in another wing had a lot! Our room had 2 comfortable twin beds, a flat screen TV, a minibar fridge, a desk & chair, supplies for tea or coffee, plenty of closet space, an easy to use safe, and air conditioning! 2 bottled waters were provided daily. The bathroom had a tub with shower (water pressure was ok), a hairdryer, robes if you wanted to use them, or towels. There was one luggage table/cabinet but our suitcase was hanging over; one day we came in to find an additional cabinet for us – very nice and attentive of the housekeeper!

The courtyard and grounds were well maintained and the staff was always helpful. Our keycard stopped working and after the attempted fix, they sent a colleague to accompany us to ensure it worked. It didn’t so we just made due. They charged for wifi, 500 Shillings for 1 hour (use within 24hrs). Speed seemed ok. Local calls were about $0.50/USD cents a minute. Buffet breakfast was included for us and there was a variety of offerings: omelets made on the spot, fruit, cereals, many juices, pastries, eggs, sausages, crepes, pancakes, potatoes, etc. There were 3 restaurants on site but there were many service charges for the convenience so if you have the time, pay a taxi to eat elsewhere. We went on safari and they held our luggage until our return.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    214
    63
    31
    12
See reviews for
85
150
44
216
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

The Norfolk Fairmont remains one of Nairobi's most charming hotels. I arrived late evening and the welcome was warm and professional. After freshening up, we visited the bar which has a great ambience and overlooks the garden. After a few G&T's time disappeared and actually reversed to 1930's Africa!! Most rooms have a Victorian style decor but are comfortable and all the utilities, A/C, phones, hot water all work well. Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the street was nice. Not as extensive as I thought it should be for the price though. The location is OK. Not as central as The Stanley or Grand Regency but certainly accessible. All in all a comfortable stay and good for either business trip or as a overnight to or from safari.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

The staff at the norfolk were nice and accomidating. The taxi service through the hotel was superb, as they had the taxis wait for us when shopping and come back after dinner. They also negotiated rates so we didn't have to. There was no elevator though so you had to walk a litttle ways and up stairs to get to your rooms. The hotel itself was beautiful and clean and the rooms comfortable. The restaurants were VERY expensive but yummy!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

The most beautiful hotel I never been in Africa. Classic but magical place, amazing people and better accommodation

Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sampa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

We stayed at the Fairmont for 4 days and really loved it. The staff were nice, the place and gardens are beautiful, the room is lovelly and the food is great. It is the very best place to stay in Nairobi. We loved the pool, and the massage also. We only disliked the internet acess that was really slow.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

we have enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this hotel. The staff is quick (saying lots for Africa) they are accommodating and customer service oriented!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonga
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

Just back from a week long stay at the Fairmont and I must say that coming "home" to this place each night was a pleasure. The rooms have just been renovated (we were the first to stay in ours) and look very nice and are LARGE. We had two rooms, one with desk and closets and hard wood floors and then another carpeted room with a sitting area and a bed and the bathrooms are very large (bath and shower separate).

I think the reason you may see some slightly negative reviews of this place is because people expect a completely western Fairmont experience in the third world, which, in my opinion, isn't a reasonable expectation. For example, the service in the restaurant is not always consistent, often slow and sometimes borderline negligible, but the food is pretty good (and didn't make any of us sick!!). Our shower didn't work the first day we were there, by day two it worked but no hot water, and by day three we were set (so long as you let the hot water run for about 10 minutes before showering) - to some this would be unacceptable - we were happy to have running water considering the drought.

The location was great - not quite in the city center so very quiet at night but this also allowed for the grounds to be massive. There was a beautiful gym, pool and garden area, and never saw a single mosquito while there.

Only complaint is the price - amazing to us that they can demand a hefty per night room charge - but to get western amenities while in the third world is something you have a pay for, I guess. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.6 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#10 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 759 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#3 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
8.5 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meridian Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#16 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from Nairobi's best attractions, including the home of Karen Blixen, from the Academy Award winning film 'Out of Africa', Fairmont The Norfolk offers luxurious guestrooms and suites, set amidst tropical gardens. It features plush furniture, flat screen TV, minibar, rainfall showers, and tea and coffee maker. Built in 1904, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club, sauna and steam rooms with massage facilities, tropical landscaped grounds, and award winning restaurants and bars from steak and seafood at Tatu restaurant, afternoon tea to Lord Delamere Terrace for international cuisine. The hotel is walking distance from artisanal craft shops, modern shopping centres, Sheldrick's Elephant Sanctuary, National Museums of Kenya and is the launch point for 'bucket list' worthy safari tours, which can be organized at the 24 hour concierge desk. A free shuttle bus is available to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport, located 11 miles away. Business Guests are also offered a complimentary return shuttle ride to their office with free WiFi on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HRS, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Norfolk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.