We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont The Norfolk to your Saves list
Fairmont The Norfolk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed for one night at this hotel before transferring to Tanzania.
The shuttle collected us promptly from the airport. Traffic was appalling and it took over an an hour to get to the hotel. So we adjusted our return timing accordingly.
First impressions of the hotel were excellent, uniformed staff, and our cases were scanned before we entered. At reception on arrival we booked a driver to take us out the following day to the Elephant orphanage, Karen Blixen's house and back to the airport for 150dollars for three of us, all very smooth.
Room was comfortable and high American/british standard. We ate in the fine dining restaurant, again a good experience.
There was a bit of a mix up the next morning as the lady who had booked our trip- well, hadn't ! But they sorted it quickly and a driver arrived for us within 30minutes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with patio. There are stairs, no lift as far as I could see, so check access before y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    205
    60
    30
    12
See reviews for
79
144
42
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Splendid reception, food and refreshing spa.
Make sure you sample the fresh squeezed juice.
Spacious and beautifully furnished room with perfect ambience.
The place to definitely be for your wedding night

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Another visit to the Fairmont Kenta, and i am always pleasantly surprized with the warm reception, attention to details, good service and excellent food. I would recommend this place for business or leisure

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davide B, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Mehdi Daoud,

Thank you for choosing Fairmont The Norfolk for your stay again and more so for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. It's always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and are grateful that you will recommend us an ideal place for business or leisure.

We are pleased to hear that you received a warm reception and that you appreciate the attention to detail, the good service and the excellent food.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Davide Bertilaccio
Area General Manager, Kenya
Fairmont Hotels & Resorts, Kenya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A large sprawling hotel with rooms that are large, clean and comfortable with all amenities (coffee making , free water etc). Large bathrooms with walk in showers. Free wifi is quite fast. There is a fitness room and spa with heated swimming pool. Breakfast was not included in my room price and was very expensive, making the overall cost per night high, even by US or European standards. Security is very tight, not just the gated surrounds of the hotel but armed soldiers were patrolling the hotel which is reassuring, given the recent problems in Kenya. One problem which is nothing to do with the hotel is the traffic in Nairobi. I left at around 7 p.m. for a flight at 11.15 p.m. and just made it so allow plenty of time to catch a flight in the evening or morning

Room Tip: All rooms seem quiet and I can't add anything in particular
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davide B, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear gs488,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay.

We are very pleased to read your positive commentaries regarding our Health Club, our large, clean and comfortable rooms, the walk-in showers, the fast Wi-Fi and our tight security. We are sorry to notice your disappointment on our pricing structure. This is something we are currently re-looking at. We apologize for the heavy traffic and are glad that you made it to the airport in time.

Thank you once again for sharing your overall experience with us and we hope you will stay with us again in the not so distant future.

Best regards,
Davide Bertilaccio
Area General Manager, Kenya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had travelled with two of my friends and we really enjoyed everything from the warm welcome and assistance from the bell men to the two lovely ladies at the reception who assisted us check - in on both occasions we visited the hotel (am pretty bad with names the first time).
The room is super spacious and I love the bathroom too. The beds where very comfortable, soft and large! My friends enjoyed the inroom dining service and the royal service was prompt to our request.
You would never imagine the hotel is tucked at the edge of the city as its so serene and quiet. I will definately visit again and hopefully have time to try out the dining outlets.

Room Tip: Free wifi to Fairmont Presidential Club members
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davide B, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Misspurplev,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback following your recent visit to Nairobi.

We are humbled by your comments and happy that you and your friends enjoyed the spacious rooms, the bathroom, the beds, the in room dining service and our dedicated team who ensured that your stay was memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.

Best regards,

Davide Bertilaccio
Area General Manager, Kenya
Fairmont Hotels & Resorts, Kenya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

my stay here was a slightly unusual one. On checking in I was "reassured" that the restaurants now all contained bullet proof glass...as a solo female traveller, this was quite astounding to be told!
The staff were lovely, the room fabulous but I just felt ill at ease and was unable to sleep.
There were heavily armed paramilitary patrolling the grounds and at just 2 stories there was no option of the safety of a higher floor.
The grounds were immaculate as were the staff. The food was excellent, I would go back if it was positioned in a different area that fell less uneasy.

Room Tip: Request garden view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davide B, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Cteataylor,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at our property and most of all for sharing your feedback and your concerns.

We are very glad to read that you enjoyed the fabulous room, excellent food, the immaculate grounds and the attentive staff.

We are also sorry that you did not feel at ease and was unable to sleep. We assure you that we have given our full attention to security issues and recently enhanced security at the Hotel.

Thank you once again for sharing your overall experience with us and we hope to have a chance to welcome you back in the not too distant future, when we are sure you will be more at ease.

Davide Bertilaccio
Area General Manager, Kenya
Fairmont Hotels & Resorts, Kenya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had a wonderful experience and more importantly received the best of my desire. Starting with the rooms, the restaurant and the swimming pool, not forgetting the fitness center, it was a nice. I Will be very happy to introduce any one who choose to visit Nairobi to give Fairmont the Norfolk - Nairobi a try, and am sure it will the best experience in their life.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davide B, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Felabhi,

Thank you very much for choosing Fairmont The Norfolk for your stay. We appreciate your feedback on Trip Advisor. It's always a pleasure to receive positive feedback! We are very glad to read that you enjoyed our facilities; from the rooms, the restaurant, the swimming pool and the fitness center. Thank you too for referring your friends to stay at Fairmont The Norfolk

We appreciate that you shared your overall wonderful experience with us and we hope you will stay with us again in the not so distant future.

Davide Bertilaccio
Area General Manager, Kenya
Fairmont Hotels & Resorts, Kenya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from Nairobi's best attractions, including the home of Karen Blixen, from the Academy Award winning film 'Out of Africa', Fairmont The Norfolk offers luxurious guestrooms and suites, set amidst tropical gardens. It features plush furniture, flat screen TV, minibar, rainfall showers, and tea and coffee maker. Built in 1904, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club, sauna and steam rooms with massage facilities, tropical landscaped grounds, and award winning restaurants and bars from steak and seafood at Tatu restaurant, afternoon tea to Lord Delamere Terrace for international cuisine. The hotel is walking distance from artisanal craft shops, modern shopping centres, Sheldrick's Elephant Sanctuary, National Museums of Kenya and is the launch point for 'bucket list' worthy safari tours, which can be organized at the 24 hour concierge desk. A free shuttle bus is available to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport, located 11 miles away. Business Guests are also offered a complimentary return shuttle ride to their office with free WiFi on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Splendia, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Norfolk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.