We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nairobi Jul 2014” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont The Norfolk to your Saves list
Fairmont The Norfolk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nairobi Jul 2014”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Overall Stay was Good ,
Staff were very friendly ,
Food was very good,
However the 1st night at the hotel an inconvenient incident took place where a Staff kept on knocking on my door for 30min @ 02:10am and at the end he decided to Break-in.



  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank Rony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Rony G,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay and highly appreciate your wonderful comments about our food and friendly colleagues.

We have noted your concern on our Duty engineer knocking your door at 02:10am. I apologise that there was a miscommunication between our Royal Service agent and Duty engineer, whereby a guest in the adjacent room had requested us to fix a fused bulb and instead the duty engineer mistakenly visited your room. This has been addressed with the rest of the Team and we will ensure that this type of incident does not re-occur in the future.

We can assure you and all our guests of adequate Security coverage at all times in the entire Hotel.

Your review has been constructive in improving and enhancing our guest experience at Fairmont The Norfolk and we look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Best regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
india
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed in the property for more than a week and loved the ambiance, food and the corresponding hospitality. It's an old world charm kind of a place with photo-frames spread throughout highlighting the colonial era. Loved the food which is a mix of African and continental! A bit expensive ( I was at 200 USD per day) but it includes a buffet breakfast so fine! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Take a room with a view of the inside pool, garden and colonial era tractors and canon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank journalistnitin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Journalistnitin,

We were honoured to host you and are happy you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you for the great feedback and high recommendation on Trip Advisor.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Best regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed here twice on our recent African safari. We were not disappointed. The staff are friendly and helpful. We arrived quite late one evening, and check-in was very efficient. Security is great. The breakfast is exceptional, with all types of cuisine and high quality food. The rooms are very nice, and well kept. The gardens are beautiful, and this is an oasis in the middle of the city. If you enjoy history, the photographs throughout the hotel are a must see. As a plus, the hotel kept our some of our luggage for one leg or our journey enabling us to travel light. Would highly recommend, and would return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Denise S,

Thank you for taking the time again to generously provide feedback on our hotel and its facilities.

It is heartening to know you have chosen to stay with us for a second time and that we have managed to once again make your stay in Kenya a memorable one. Your loyalty to the Fairmont brand is highly appreciated and we hope that we will have the privilege to welcome you once again.

Best regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel in the heart of Nairobi. The staff was amazing, the rooms were modern and comfortable, and the food was great. Plus it's close to Nairobi national park - if you're up for a quick safari. I highly recommend!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mourad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Mourad B,

On behalf of our team, we would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback on our exceptional services , comfortable rooms, convenient location and great cuisine.

The pleasure was ours to host you.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

The Norfolk was a welcomed surprise of pretty gardens and nice porches to relax on after long travel days. The hotel was very secure and well maintained. The breakfast was wonderful and other meals were good as well. The workout facilities and pool area are very nice. The staff is most helpful as well as being warm and welcoming. Arranged airport transfers were very comfortable and on time. We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay here and would definitely stay at the Norfolk on another visit to Nairobi!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DallasMomTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear DallasMom Travels,

We were honored to host you and we are happy you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you for the great feedback and we look forward to hosting you again.

Best regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Grand old colonial style hotel with immaculate spacious gardens. Rooms comfortable, well furnished with some thoughtful additions including iron and ironing board, ground coffee with bodem. Friendly staff. Huge spread for breakfast well presented.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We only had a very short stay at this hotel (10 hours). The food and the atmosphere were fabulous. Our room was very nice and comfortable. We were welcomed and treated very well. The included breakfast was one of the best that I have ever had. Many choices all of which were outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcooper1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear El Dorado Hills,

We are happy you have great memories from your 10 hours stay with us and we will be delighted to host you when you are back in Kenya.

We look forward to host you during your next visit.

Best regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.7 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
1.0 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#13 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,051 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#8 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 689 reviews
8.5 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#11 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from Nairobi's best attractions, including the home of Karen Blixen, from the Academy Award winning film 'Out of Africa', Fairmont The Norfolk offers luxurious guestrooms and suites, set amidst tropical gardens. It features plush furniture, flat screen TV, minibar, rainfall showers, and tea and coffee maker. Built in 1904, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club, sauna and steam rooms with massage facilities, tropical landscaped grounds, and award winning restaurants and bars from steak and seafood at Tatu restaurant, afternoon tea to Lord Delamere Terrace for international cuisine. The hotel is walking distance from artisanal craft shops, modern shopping centres, Sheldrick's Elephant Sanctuary, National Museums of Kenya and is the launch point for 'bucket list' worthy safari tours, which can be organized at the 24 hour concierge desk. A free shuttle bus is available to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport, located 11 miles away. Business Guests are also offered a complimentary return shuttle ride to their office with free WiFi on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing