We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A calming and peaceful place in the middle of Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Save Saved
You added Fairmont The Norfolk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont The Norfolk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 103 Hotels in Nairobi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A calming and peaceful place in the middle of Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The Norfolk was a welcomed surprise of pretty gardens and nice porches to relax on after long travel days. The hotel was very secure and well maintained. The breakfast was wonderful and other meals were good as well. The workout facilities and pool area are very nice. The staff is most helpful as well as being warm and welcoming. Arranged airport transfers were very comfortable and on time. We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay here and would definitely stay at the Norfolk on another visit to Nairobi!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear DallasMom Travels,

We were honored to host you and we are happy you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you for the great feedback and we look forward to hosting you again.

Best regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    174
    54
    26
    10
See reviews for
68
117
40
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Grand old colonial style hotel with immaculate spacious gardens. Rooms comfortable, well furnished with some thoughtful additions including iron and ironing board, ground coffee with bodem. Friendly staff. Huge spread for breakfast well presented.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear David R,

We appreciate the opportunity you gave us to host you and we are glad you enjoyed the well-presented breakfast, well furnished rooms and great service.

We look forward to hosting you when you are next in Nairobi.

Best regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We only had a very short stay at this hotel (10 hours). The food and the atmosphere were fabulous. Our room was very nice and comfortable. We were welcomed and treated very well. The included breakfast was one of the best that I have ever had. Many choices all of which were outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear El Dorado Hills,

We are happy you have great memories from your 10 hours stay with us and we will be delighted to host you when you are back in Kenya.

We look forward to host you during your next visit.

Best regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Fairmont Norfolk is a beautiful hotel in a good section of Nairobi. The gardens are magnificent and the decore of old historical pictures every where make it even greater. The staff are very friendly and helpful and everything is kept very clean. I would definately stay at this hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Jkmuller4,

Thank you for your great feedback and we are glad you chose us. We look forward to continue making your stays in Nairobi memorable.

Best regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I travel extensively, and spend half of my year staying in hotels. I didn't really expect much from a hotel in the heart of Nairobi, but boy was I wrong. The Norfolk is probably one of the best hotels I've ever had the pleasure of staying in. The atmosphere is wonderful, with a hint of colonial times, the gardens and decor well maintained, simply a beautiful property.

The rooms are fantastic, very well appointed, and the services associated with your room are consistent and unobtrusive. The room was magically restored to it's former state during the day, and the turn down service happened everyday while I stepped out of the room. The room itself is very well appointed, with a very modern bathroom - rain shower and all - and this hotel has some of the best pillows around!

The breakfast is hands down the best I've had in a hotel! Excellent selection, and everyone gets their own freshly brewed press coffee.

The only negative is that service around the pool is slow, and closes at 6pm, which is far too early.

Give it a try, you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms with private garden are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Wayne S,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback.

We highly appreciate your great comments about Fairmont The Norfolk and especially on our excellent service, good food and lovely rooms.

Please contact us on kenya.reservations@fairmont.com and we shall enroll you to our Fairmont President’s Club which allows you access to a host of exclusive benefits and privileges including free internet connection in all Fairmont Hotels & Resorts Worldwide!
We have noted your concern about our security search procedures which we are reviewing with our Security Team.

We look forward to hosting you at Fairmont The Norfolk and making your stay exceptional, once again.

Best regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DXB
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The Norfolk is a good place to stay when visiting Nairobi for business (this of course is depending on where one has to be). The hotel is clean, comfortable, and the staff is friendly and helpful. In the evening the bar & terrace is good for winding down. So overall, one will not go wrong when choosing the Norfolk

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Dora_Boots_Swiper,

Thank you for your positive feedback and we are glad you chose us. We look forward to continue making your stays in Nairobi memorable.

Best regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Although this property is situated in Nairobi, once you step inside the doors it is as if you have stepped into a world of days gone by. The colonial feel, beatiful gardens and stunning rooms enable you to forget about the ustle and bustle outside.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Karen,

It was a pleasure hosting you at Fairmont The Norfolk and we appreciate your positive comments regarding our stunning rooms, nice bar and beautiful gardens.

We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us and look forward to hosting you again during your next visit to Nairobi.

Best regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel has played a leading role in Kenya's colorful history, and continues to be the best-known luxury hotel in Nairobi. The town and later the modern city of Nairobi grew up around Fairmont The Norfolk hotel, which still has its own private tropical gardens. The hotel is still the traditional starting point for safaris and the Lord Delamere Terrace is modern Nairobi's popular meeting place, where drinks and light meals are served continuously from morning till late evening.Fairmont The Norfolk was expanded in 1999 and subsequently renovated in time for its centennial celebrations in 2004. The Delamere & Acacia Wing were refurbished in 2012 to give the rooms a modern touch, whilst preserving their charm and unique personality. The Nairobi hotel now offers accommodations in 170 guest rooms and suites, has eight conference rooms, the largest seating 175 delegates, a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club with gym, sauna and steam room and gift shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Norfolk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.