We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nairobi hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont The Norfolk to your Saves list
Fairmont The Norfolk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Alta Loma, California
1 review
“Nairobi hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Fairmont Norfolk is a beautiful hotel in a good section of Nairobi. The gardens are magnificent and the decore of old historical pictures every where make it even greater. The staff are very friendly and helpful and everything is kept very clean. I would definately stay at this hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Jkmuller4,

Thank you for your great feedback and we are glad you chose us. We look forward to continue making your stays in Nairobi memorable.

Best regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    205
    60
    30
    12
See reviews for
79
143
42
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I travel extensively, and spend half of my year staying in hotels. I didn't really expect much from a hotel in the heart of Nairobi, but boy was I wrong. The Norfolk is probably one of the best hotels I've ever had the pleasure of staying in. The atmosphere is wonderful, with a hint of colonial times, the gardens and decor well maintained, simply a beautiful property.

The rooms are fantastic, very well appointed, and the services associated with your room are consistent and unobtrusive. The room was magically restored to it's former state during the day, and the turn down service happened everyday while I stepped out of the room. The room itself is very well appointed, with a very modern bathroom - rain shower and all - and this hotel has some of the best pillows around!

The breakfast is hands down the best I've had in a hotel! Excellent selection, and everyone gets their own freshly brewed press coffee.

The only negative is that service around the pool is slow, and closes at 6pm, which is far too early.

Give it a try, you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms with private garden are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Wayne S,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback.

We highly appreciate your great comments about Fairmont The Norfolk and especially on our excellent service, good food and lovely rooms.

Please contact us on kenya.reservations@fairmont.com and we shall enroll you to our Fairmont President’s Club which allows you access to a host of exclusive benefits and privileges including free internet connection in all Fairmont Hotels & Resorts Worldwide!
We have noted your concern about our security search procedures which we are reviewing with our Security Team.

We look forward to hosting you at Fairmont The Norfolk and making your stay exceptional, once again.

Best regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DXB
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The Norfolk is a good place to stay when visiting Nairobi for business (this of course is depending on where one has to be). The hotel is clean, comfortable, and the staff is friendly and helpful. In the evening the bar & terrace is good for winding down. So overall, one will not go wrong when choosing the Norfolk

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Dora_Boots_Swiper,

Thank you for your positive feedback and we are glad you chose us. We look forward to continue making your stays in Nairobi memorable.

Best regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Although this property is situated in Nairobi, once you step inside the doors it is as if you have stepped into a world of days gone by. The colonial feel, beatiful gardens and stunning rooms enable you to forget about the ustle and bustle outside.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Karen,

It was a pleasure hosting you at Fairmont The Norfolk and we appreciate your positive comments regarding our stunning rooms, nice bar and beautiful gardens.

We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us and look forward to hosting you again during your next visit to Nairobi.

Best regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed here several times over the years, each time enjoyable, and each time the rooms were different depending on which room they put you in, so definitely asking about the different grades and options. Very enjoyable drinks on the terrace, and breakfast was always superb. Staff quality was always good. Can't fault it.

Room Tip: Ask for the options - they are different in different wings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear ChubbysHiFi,

Thank you for staying with us time after time during all your visits to Nairobi.

It is always a pleasure hosting you at Fairmont The Norfolk and we appreciate the great feedback.

We look forward to continue making your stays in Nairobi memorable.

Best regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proctorville, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for one night during the month of April. The Norfolk is a nice hotel: clean, comfortable, and cozy.

The security checks and uniformed armed guards at the entrance were at first intimidating (given that we hadn't experienced this before) but with recent terrorist attacks in Kenya, this was understandable and reassuring.

The dining experience was mixed. For dinner, my wife ordered gluten free but the quality was well below our expectations. However, when we mentioned this to the manager, we were impressed by his willingness to listen and make amends. The kitchen staff went out of their way to listen to our concerns. They took down notes of our suggestions, and promised to address our concerns. We were highly impressed by the hotels willingness to listen and make amends to customer complaints. None of the people we spoke to (the manager and the kitchen staff) were defensive about our complaints. Instead, we felt like they genuinely listened to us and were determined to fix this. For this reason, we plan on staying at the Norfolk on our next visit to Kenya.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Richard A,

Thank you for choosing Fairmont The Norfolk.

We appreciate the great feedback and we are happy our team made your stay memorable.

We look forward to hosting you again during your next visit to Nairobi.

Best regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tottenham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Excellent hotel. Reccommend highly.
Quality of Location, staff , amenities and rooms was impeccable.
Fairmont has acquired hotels with history and character and made them truly their own. Four Seasons or Fairmont - hard to choose.


  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Alan W,

We are thrilled to learn your stay surpassed your expectations! Thank you for sharing your experience and recommending Fairmont Hotels Worldwide on TripAdvisor.

It is wonderful to know you enjoyed our food, rooms, convenient location and outstanding service.

We look forward to continue making your stays in all Fairmont Hotels & Resorts worldwide memorable.

Best regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from Nairobi's best attractions, including the home of Karen Blixen, from the Academy Award winning film 'Out of Africa', Fairmont The Norfolk offers luxurious guestrooms and suites, set amidst tropical gardens. It features plush furniture, flat screen TV, minibar, rainfall showers, and tea and coffee maker. Built in 1904, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club, sauna and steam rooms with massage facilities, tropical landscaped grounds, and award winning restaurants and bars from steak and seafood at Tatu restaurant, afternoon tea to Lord Delamere Terrace for international cuisine. The hotel is walking distance from artisanal craft shops, modern shopping centres, Sheldrick's Elephant Sanctuary, National Museums of Kenya and is the launch point for 'bucket list' worthy safari tours, which can be organized at the 24 hour concierge desk. A free shuttle bus is available to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport, located 11 miles away. Business Guests are also offered a complimentary return shuttle ride to their office with free WiFi on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Splendia, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Norfolk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.