We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont The Norfolk to your Saves list
Fairmont The Norfolk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 122 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Old World Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

This hotel has a wonderful Victorian charm.
The rooms aren't very big, but what they lack in size, they make up for with warmth and clean comfort. Check in was a bit slow, however, waiting at their al fresco restaurant made it a bit less tiresome.

The staff is friendly and polite and the food is good. The breakfast although sumptuous, is not as wide in variety, as what you would expect from a hotel at this price.

The main hotel building, although more than a century old, has been maintained very well. Its well located and the nearest shopping plaza is barely a 10 minute walk away.

I stayed here for 3 nights while on a business trip and I would recommend this hotel without any hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    195
    59
    30
    12
See reviews for
76
139
42
191
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Hosted a customer workshop conference. Service around the organizational aspects was not great. Staff friendly but unorganized and we had to arrange for management to quickly arrange for snacks, tea and finger breakfast. The restaurant did however serve good lunches. This happened over two days so no excuses. Both days we had the same problem as mentioned above.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants, Uk
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

This hotel is very central for Nairobi, an older establishment that's been burnt down and rebuilt several times in its 100+ year history.
It is not cheap, prices are around USD $200 a night for a double room, facilities are pretty much as you would expect and service is pretty good night and day.
Food is adequate though certainly not quite as good as one might expect given the prices, breakfast was a disappointment each day, though the freshly made omelettes are always a good plan.
This does seem a hotel for the safari industry in particular, however it does offer some very good meeting rooms, ideal for business purposes.
Wi-Fi is dreadful, it is supposed to be free when you become a member of the 'presidents club', otherwise you need to pay for each 24hrs, I found it patchy, slow and unreliable, the only helpline is an international call away. All staff were polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Try to get one facing the main courtyard or your view may be that of a brick wall and back yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear GreboGuru,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback.

We highly appreciate your great comments about Fairmont The Norfolk and especially on our outstanding service and good meeting rooms.

We have noted your comments on our breakfast and slow Wi-Fi connection which I have addressed with the Chef and IT Manager respectively.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and assure you of a memorable experience.


Best Regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgetown
Top Contributor
507 reviews 507 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 194 cities Reviews in 194 cities
284 helpful votes 284 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed at The Norfolk for 3 nights on our safari trip to Kenya. The room was comfortable, the pool great (& uncrowded) and the food good. It is a quiet and safe oasis in the middle of this diverse and hectic city.
At the end of out trip, we came back one more time - a mere 4 hour stop to await our airport transfer. Even though the restaurant was closed (between lunch and dinner), they opened just for the eight of us and served a great lunch.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear RandyRoss,

Thank you for taking time to share your wonderful feedback on your recent stay at Fairmont The Norfolk.

It is always a great pleasure to read that we are able to meet and exceed our guest’s expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Best Regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Norfolk and was reminded why I love staying here. The hotel is a refined piece of luxury in a hectic city. The staff is helpful, and I love dining on the veranda with the ceiling fans going overhead.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Jeff S,

Thank you for choosing Fairmont The Norfolk and we highly appreciate your kind feedback.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Nairobi.


Best Regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed here a few times before and after safari trips. Very accommodating staff and lovely grounds. Rooms are very spacious and clean.
You are completely unaware of the hustle and bustle of the busy city when ensconced in the hotel. It is very pleasant. When eating breakfast in the open air dining room you have the opportunity to watch the busy world pass you by as you enjoy a wonderful buffet breakfast. Besides the dining room and front entrance you are truly isolated from the world. The only other opportunity to see the large city is from the wonderful pool area. There you get to enjoy your surroundings but also see some high rises.
Had dinner in the main restaurant and was rather underwhelmed compared to the price. Thought the bar area had a more value added menu.

Room Tip: Suggest when you book a room to ask for a courtyard view. I loved waking up to the birds chirping e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We had a very wonderful stay here, the room was very spacious, very clean with good AC, with wifi and wired internet. The bathroom was spacious and clean and they prepared for us bubble bath in the evening. The staff are very warm and courteous.
The bed was big and very comfortable.
Breakfast was very delicious, with a very wide variety.
I totally enjoyed my stay there and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Some the standard rooms on the groundfloor at the middle of the older block have balconies without h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Edgar K,

Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback. We highly appreciate your wonderful comments about Fairmont The Norfolk and especially on our spacious & clean rooms, delicious breakfast and warm and courteous colleagues.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from Nairobi's best attractions, including the home of Karen Blixen, from the Academy Award winning film 'Out of Africa', Fairmont The Norfolk offers luxurious guestrooms and suites, set amidst tropical gardens. It features plush furniture, flat screen TV, minibar, rainfall showers, and tea and coffee maker. Built in 1904, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club, sauna and steam rooms with massage facilities, tropical landscaped grounds, and award winning restaurants and bars from steak and seafood at Tatu restaurant, afternoon tea to Lord Delamere Terrace for international cuisine. The hotel is walking distance from artisanal craft shops, modern shopping centres, Sheldrick's Elephant Sanctuary, National Museums of Kenya and is the launch point for 'bucket list' worthy safari tours, which can be organized at the 24 hour concierge desk. A free shuttle bus is available to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport, located 11 miles away. Business Guests are also offered a complimentary return shuttle ride to their office with free WiFi on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Splendia, Hotwire, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Norfolk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.