We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but good service if a little chaotic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Save Saved
You added Fairmont The Norfolk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont The Norfolk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Hants, UK
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Expensive but good service if a little chaotic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

This hotel is very central for Nairobi, an older establishment that's been burnt down and rebuilt several times in its 100+ year history.
It is not cheap, prices are around USD $200 a night for a double room, facilities are pretty much as you would expect and service is pretty good night and day.
Food is adequate though certainly not quite as good as one might expect given the prices, breakfast was a disappointment each day, though the freshly made omelettes are always a good plan.
This does seem a hotel for the safari industry in particular, however it does offer some very good meeting rooms, ideal for business purposes.
Wi-Fi is dreadful, it is supposed to be free when you become a member of the 'presidents club', otherwise you need to pay for each 24hrs, I found it patchy, slow and unreliable, the only helpline is an international call away. All staff were polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Try to get one facing the main courtyard or your view may be that of a brick wall and back yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear GreboGuru,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback.

We highly appreciate your great comments about Fairmont The Norfolk and especially on our outstanding service and good meeting rooms.

We have noted your comments on our breakfast and slow Wi-Fi connection which I have addressed with the Chef and IT Manager respectively.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and assure you of a memorable experience.


Best Regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    167
    49
    26
    9
See reviews for
63
110
39
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgetown
Top Contributor
269 reviews 269 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed at The Norfolk for 3 nights on our safari trip to Kenya. The room was comfortable, the pool great (& uncrowded) and the food good. It is a quiet and safe oasis in the middle of this diverse and hectic city.
At the end of out trip, we came back one more time - a mere 4 hour stop to await our airport transfer. Even though the restaurant was closed (between lunch and dinner), they opened just for the eight of us and served a great lunch.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear RandyRoss,

Thank you for taking time to share your wonderful feedback on your recent stay at Fairmont The Norfolk.

It is always a great pleasure to read that we are able to meet and exceed our guest’s expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Best Regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Norfolk and was reminded why I love staying here. The hotel is a refined piece of luxury in a hectic city. The staff is helpful, and I love dining on the veranda with the ceiling fans going overhead.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Jeff S,

Thank you for choosing Fairmont The Norfolk and we highly appreciate your kind feedback.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Nairobi.


Best Regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed here a few times before and after safari trips. Very accommodating staff and lovely grounds. Rooms are very spacious and clean.
You are completely unaware of the hustle and bustle of the busy city when ensconced in the hotel. It is very pleasant. When eating breakfast in the open air dining room you have the opportunity to watch the busy world pass you by as you enjoy a wonderful buffet breakfast. Besides the dining room and front entrance you are truly isolated from the world. The only other opportunity to see the large city is from the wonderful pool area. There you get to enjoy your surroundings but also see some high rises.
Had dinner in the main restaurant and was rather underwhelmed compared to the price. Thought the bar area had a more value added menu.

Room Tip: Suggest when you book a room to ask for a courtyard view. I loved waking up to the birds chirping e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We had a very wonderful stay here, the room was very spacious, very clean with good AC, with wifi and wired internet. The bathroom was spacious and clean and they prepared for us bubble bath in the evening. The staff are very warm and courteous.
The bed was big and very comfortable.
Breakfast was very delicious, with a very wide variety.
I totally enjoyed my stay there and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Some the standard rooms on the groundfloor at the middle of the older block have balconies without h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Edgar K,

Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback. We highly appreciate your wonderful comments about Fairmont The Norfolk and especially on our spacious & clean rooms, delicious breakfast and warm and courteous colleagues.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed overnight on my way to Amboseli National Park. The staff was outstanding and helpful in adjusting to the fact that the Travel Company had not made a reservation. Room was nice, clean and quiet--very relaxing. The bar area and the service outstanding; great place to relax after spending several days in the bush in Botswana. Security was good, and I felt fairly safe. Breakfast was one of the best on a 5-week, 6-country trip in southern Africa. I would have liked to experienced more of the ambiance, decor and furnishing of the original hotel, it opened in 1904, but was informed that the hotel burned twice. Updates from the original all in good taste and a very pleasant stay. I did use the business center to catch up on email since I had been off the "grid" for several days. Rhino Safaris was supposed to have made a reservation at this hotel, and they dropped the ball. Situation resolved after about 45 minutes to an hour after they called Italy, their home office--odd. They also did not meet me at the airport; not a good place to be without transport to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Diogenese1,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback.

We’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us and are definitely looking forward to hosting you at Fairmont The Norfolk and making your stay exceptional, once again.

Best regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Visited with an old Kenya friend who wished to eat at what he remembered as one of the finest and friendliest dining experiences in Nairobi
despite being told by myself and a number of Kenya residents that it has lost entirely any resemblance to what it was under Lohnro and Block we decided to have lunch
The Tatu restaurant was not open for lunch ,but were told we could eat on Tatu Patio,but was rather far from the lunch buffet and as such chose the Delamere Terrace
gone are the days when this was packed to the door every lunch time and evening -- we were the first to occupy a table and there were more staff than diners
it is like eating in a morgue --everything so clinical and minimalist and no atmosphere at all
we chose a table and waited over 5 minutes for our wine to arrive ,which was warm --another 5 minutes until we get a slightly colder bottle --another wait of over 5 minutes for the butter to be brought to the table --this despite a plethora of staff passing by --- I think all were chiefs and very few braves
The Buffet was Indian food and I could state categorically that I have eaten much better in many places around the world and in Nairobi itself --it was certainly no better
than 2 star
Now to get the bill --again a long lengthy wait for this to arrive and I asked to speak to whoever was in charge and told this person we were not happy with the service or for that matter wjth the food --and said we would always remember this as it used to be and with the standards now existing,it was little wonder that only some 5 tables of the 25 to 30 available were occupied

Shall not eat here again -- I visit Kenya 6 or 7 times a year and certainly will think twice about visiting the Norfolk again to eat .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear John W,

Thank you for your detailed review.

We have noted all your concerns regarding our Indian cuisine and service delivery for our immediate corrective action.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.


Best regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel has played a leading role in Kenya's colorful history, and continues to be the best-known luxury hotel in Nairobi. The town and later the modern city of Nairobi grew up around Fairmont The Norfolk hotel, which still has its own private tropical gardens. The hotel is still the traditional starting point for safaris and the Lord Delamere Terrace is modern Nairobi's popular meeting place, where drinks and light meals are served continuously from morning till late evening.Fairmont The Norfolk was expanded in 1999 and subsequently renovated in time for its centennial celebrations in 2004. The Delamere & Acacia Wing were refurbished in 2012 to give the rooms a modern touch, whilst preserving their charm and unique personality. The Nairobi hotel now offers accommodations in 170 guest rooms and suites, has eight conference rooms, the largest seating 175 delegates, a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club with gym, sauna and steam room and gift shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Norfolk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.