We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont The Norfolk to your Saves list
Fairmont The Norfolk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We only spent a little while here as we were off to go on safaris but what little time we spent we certainly felt the Fairmount Polish. The rooms were spacious and clean and the staff was most helpful and kind and Patrick went out f his way for us. Kenyan hospitality at its best!

Room Tip: Allow a lot of time to get from Nairobi airport to the hotel and vice versa. Traffic is a nightmare!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear belleg47,

A big thank you for this great review!

We will make sure to pass all your comments to our team and are already looking forward to your next stay with us!

Best regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    189
    58
    29
    10
See reviews for
73
129
40
170
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed one night after my long flight. Very beautiful hotel, the service and mood was like that if the 30's. Everything you could ask for. My only regret is that I get not get to stay longer. The grounds breath taking. Staff top knotch.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I should have posted this earlier. The rooms are clean and neat. The dinning and food great. I loved that I had a coffee french press in my room. And the coffee always tasted great. The ambiance is amazing. Staying there is pricey, but definitely worth it. Every time I went for breakfast, I was greeted by name, I travel quite some and I have not got that kind of treatment anywhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

After a 5 week overland trip I was looking forward to a touch of luxury and this hotel was our splurge!
The room was clean and cool which was a welcome relief from the heat of Nairobi but it was really a business room, with a large desk and multiple line phone. I was disappointed that it had little privacy and no outlook - a function room of sorts looked directly into the room necessitating keeping the curtains drawn. It was not the colonial heritage hotel I had hoped for I could have been anywhere. The pool was a long way away from the room and wasnt anything to write about, so I won't. The cocktail bar had little ambience and the whole place was a letdown. With its history I was expecting a hotel along the lines of The Victoria Falls or the Bangkok Oriental. Not even close.
My main gripe is with housekeeping, however. I requested and was pleased to get a late checkout of noon. Great I thought.. breakfast in bed, a late snooze,a long shower and I'd be rested up for the long trip home to Australia. Not to be..I had a nice breakfast then ... Knock on the door 30 mins later to pick up the tray...10mins later "can we clean the room" (even though I'm checking out!) 15mins later " can we check the mini bar" , then 2 maintenance men to measure the bathroom then a second minibar request, the latter two after a do not disturb sign was put on the door so I could have a shower in peace.
My advice would be to look around and not waste your money here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Janelle M,

Thank you for your review.

It was our pleasure to host you and we are pleased to hear that our clean rooms and breakfast exceeded your expectations.

We have noted the issue of interruption by our colleagues during your short stay and not meeting your needs, this has been addressed to my team and we will ensure that this type of incident does not re-occur in the future.

Your review has been constructive and candid to improving and enhancing our guest experience at Fairmont The Norfolk.

We look forward to hosting you in the future.

Warm regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

The Norfolk has certainly seen better days. Colonial charm has been replaced by bland tasteless decor in the common areas. We had booked a duplex suite which was tired, had a dirty shower, and were kept awake by the combination of a noisy air conditioner and a big generator or similar machine outside the room. On the plus side the staff were extremely helpful but even so we decided to stay elsewhere on our return leg through Nairobi.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear TravelGuruMoscow,

Thank you for your review.

It was our pleasure to host you at Fairmont The Norfolk. We are glad that you noted our excellent service.

We have noted all the concerns you raised for our corrective action.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed just two nights here (barely over a day), but it was so lovely. We checked in around 2:30 am from our flight and the staff was so helpful and warm as if it weren't the middle of the night. We were shown to our spacious room that had a tv, air conditioning, a view of the courtyard, a safe, and an amazing en suite with a huge tub and a separate walk in shower. The hotel had a great breakfast on the terrace in the morning complete with a made to order egg station and waffle station along with everything thing else you can imagine for breakfast! The pool looked great, although we didn't get in. The gym (free for guests) was pretty well equipped...cardio machines, some weight machines, a bench, filtered water machine and towels given upon checking in. We also had dinner at the restaurant 'Tatu' that is in the hotel. We didn't have reservations, but there were plenty of tables available. The food was really amazing and the chef even prepared a little taster for us. I enjoyed braised beef and we split a crispy shrimp starter as well...everything just perfect. At the end we were allowed to approach the chefs and thank them for the delicious meal. The hotel is located just a short walk from the city center and although we didn't walk around at night, during the day we felt safe to walk about.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Jklawhorn,

Thank you for your review.

On behalf of our team, I would like to thank you for your wonderful and heartening appreciation of our services and cuisine and the fantastic rating.

It is inspiring to know that you enjoyed our services and our colleagues and I are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Warm regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Enjoyed our stay in this charming quaint boutique hotel. The architecture is unusual, very colonial, the service is pretty good, the food in their restaurant TATU is the best ever tried in Kenya. Their manager really nice and hands on. The chef at TATU is really talented, he created some amazing dishes. This was the best meal ever in Kenya. The hotel offered very good taxi service with good taxi drivers, and if dissatisfied, they make sure that you get value for your money.
Loved the brass band playing Xmas carols in the garden below our bedroom
Our bedroom was nice, but i would not say the best. The bathroom was not up to scratch, the shower was splashing water everywhere and the tap in the sink was dysfunctional, trickling water, we had to request maintenance quite a few times to have it repaired. The bar offered some nice freshly prepared cocktails and good quality nuts. My only gripe is that i had to wait few hours on end for extra hangers to come to the room upon arrival as well as the bathroom! otherwise, all was perfect in that place. I enjoyed the massage and spa at the Norfolk, but Rita at IL Moran was better in my opinion.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Shermine54,

Thank you for your review.

It was our pleasure to host you at Fairmont The Norfolk. We are glad that you noted our standards and good value with excellent service. Thank you for your recommendation.

We are currently addressing the concerns you raised on the bathrooms.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel has played a leading role in Kenya's colorful history, and continues to be the best-known luxury hotel in Nairobi. The town and later the modern city of Nairobi grew up around Fairmont The Norfolk hotel, which still has its own private tropical gardens. The hotel is still the traditional starting point for safaris and the Lord Delamere Terrace is modern Nairobi's popular meeting place, where drinks and light meals are served continuously from morning till late evening.Fairmont The Norfolk was expanded in 1999 and subsequently renovated in time for its centennial celebrations in 2004. The Delamere & Acacia Wing were refurbished in 2012 to give the rooms a modern touch, whilst preserving their charm and unique personality. The Nairobi hotel now offers accommodations in 170 guest rooms and suites, has eight conference rooms, the largest seating 175 delegates, a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club with gym, sauna and steam room and gift shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Norfolk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.