We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont The Norfolk to your Saves list
Fairmont The Norfolk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Just had 2 days and nights at the Norfolk - old world charm and a fantastic setting. The staff could not have been more helpful expecially at at the Pool Restaurant and Cin Cin Bar. Breakfast (buffet) in The Lord Delemere Terrance was excellent and caters for all options (continenal to full english) and the steak I had for dinner was one of the best yet.

Room Tip: Slecet a room that overlooks the main courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Richard J,

We are grateful for your review. We are happy that you found our rooms to be lovely. We are also pleased to know that you enjoyed the excellent service from our colleagues.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    186
    58
    28
    10
See reviews for
72
126
40
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

In the past few months I and my work colleagues have stayed several times at the Norfolk and I consider myself as knowing the property pretty well. The Front Desk staff has consistently delivered a rather sloppy service, the quality of the service would totally depend on who checked you in and who the duty manager was at the time of your arrival. Most of the time the duty manager is nowhere to be seen so if you face an issue the front desk staff member is not able to deal with, it will take a long time to escalate to a supervisor. The worst experience I had was last week during Christmas: the lady who checked me in insisted in allocating a room I was absolutely not happy with (again, I know the property pretty well). The Duty Manager, Mr. Mututi (I think) came after she called him and instead of helping, he was downright rude. His tone of voice and overall demeanor was bossy and almost aggressive. Totally inappropriate behaviour. I felt really appalled and decided not to argue.

Another major issue is the security at the hotel. After the WEsgate attacks one would think the security has stepped up. Beware that this is not the case. After business hours, say late at night or early in the morning, virtually anyone can enter the hotel. I usually check out very early from the hotel (at around 5am) and the front desk stay can be seem sleeping around the lobby couches or behind the counter. The security checks at the door are spartan. The terrace restaurant opens to the street, no one on watch.

In a nutshell, rude service and questionable security at the Norfolk. Fairmont's senior management has much work to do!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Lemantraveller,

Thanks for sharing your feedback.

Kindly accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused to you.
Kindly note that management’s objective continues to be consistent delivery of professional
service by ensuring that guests’ expectations are exceeded and giving value for money.

Please note that we have taken action on the matter you raised on security. We have also responded to you directly via e-mail.

We hope that this incident will not deter you from staying with us in the future.

Best regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed at this gorgeous hotel pre and post Safari. It was heaven with luxury linens, elegant baths, and excellent service. Porters and room service were fast and friendly. Breakfast buffet was exceptional for Kenya and dinner at Tatu was probably the best meal we had throughout our safari. I loved the fact that you can plug in your devices directly in the room without an adaptor.
Infinity edge pool was a delight and the central courtyard was lush. Location is not great for walking around but our Tour company always had a car available for us to go anywhere so that was not an issue for us. I highly recommend the Norfolk.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear itchyfootDallas,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us.

We are happy to learn that our quality of rooms, breakfast and courteousness of our personnel met your expectation, thus your memorable experience with our hotel.

We look forward to another opportunity to host you in the future.

Best regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

i stayed at this hotel from jul 10 2013 to jul 12 2013. The rooms were really great, with excellent pool, and great room service. I liked the stay very much. Still, wasn't the best hotel during our safari trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Make sure to see the different types of rooms as some are the size of a coat closet and some are like suites. Very comfortable beds, clean, great amenities. The internet is annoying that you have to keep logging on over and over during your stay. The service in the Delamere restaurant leaves something to be desired. While the choices of food are awesome, the wait staff needs to better trained to follow up. Service is slow and inattentive in this restaurant. Grounds are beautiful. Great pool and spa--good massage service--very well trained therapist for deep tissue massage.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear isfcmh,

Thank you for posting your review. We are always happy to receive feedback.

We are grateful that you found our rooms nice and comfortable and the health club services excellent.

We apologize for the internet inconveniences and the slow service in the Lord Delamere Restaurant which has since been addressed with the respective colleagues.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I stayed at the Norfolk for two nights on business. It's twenty years since I had been to Africa and there is no doubt that the standards of comfort, cleanliness and general efficiency have improved to Euro- American standards. Even so in the process something of the soul of the place has, I suspect, been lost.
Before Fairmont took it over, it was a Hotel that for many years had been run as a long standing family business and the centre of colonial social life, as evidenced by the many faded photos of past times that hang around the hotel walls.Locals I spoke with say it's lost something; perhaps they would say that. It used to have a view of fields and parks but its been swamped by Narobi City and its very lovely Verandha bar and restaurant looks out on a scruffy road and the unlovely back gates of some kind of university.
Still the courtyard garden is very pretty and well tended and you can eat and drink by the side of that too. It's a fine hotel if you aren't intending stepping out to sample the city but a bit of a walk away from the central business and shopping district if you would like to.

If you are kind of anxious about being in Africa unattended then this, if you have $300-$400 dollars a night, may be for you. If you want to have a less cosetted experience then chose something downtown.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Like many guests, we stayed here twice - before and after a safari. Our rooms were impeccably decorated with many delightful touches you expect at a five star hotel. For instance, I loved the particularly cushy slippers. Also handy was the ability to charge North American appliances without an adaptor. Our first room was more spacious but quite noisy due to construction at Nairobi University next door. We asked for a new room, which was quite a bit smaller but had a lovely view of the courtyard which is truly beautiful. Beds and linens were quite comfy. The front desk made an error (forgot to send a wake up call? I can't remember). They were apologetic but rather overwhelmed with a large tour group. Individual travelers can get overlooked in the wake of large groups. Service at the restaurant for lunch was painfully slow. The breakfast buffet was superb. Service at the front desk varied from a lovely young woman who couldn't do enough to an indifferent guy with an attitude.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel has played a leading role in Kenya's colorful history, and continues to be the best-known luxury hotel in Nairobi. The town and later the modern city of Nairobi grew up around Fairmont The Norfolk hotel, which still has its own private tropical gardens. The hotel is still the traditional starting point for safaris and the Lord Delamere Terrace is modern Nairobi's popular meeting place, where drinks and light meals are served continuously from morning till late evening.Fairmont The Norfolk was expanded in 1999 and subsequently renovated in time for its centennial celebrations in 2004. The Delamere & Acacia Wing were refurbished in 2012 to give the rooms a modern touch, whilst preserving their charm and unique personality. The Nairobi hotel now offers accommodations in 170 guest rooms and suites, has eight conference rooms, the largest seating 175 delegates, a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club with gym, sauna and steam room and gift shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Norfolk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.