We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, but a bit worn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Save Saved
You added Fairmont The Norfolk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont The Norfolk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable, but a bit worn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I agree with some of the other reviewers that this hotel has seen better days. The decor is very 80s. The plumbing is very colonial....at least it's indoor. Also, the "colonial flavor' one person refers to is only relevant to part of the hotel; a large section of the hotel is actually from the 70s or 80s and not that special at all. However, the food was great and breakfast buffet was terrific. I probably wouldn't choose to stay there again, but it's perfectly fine if you adjust your expectations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    168
    49
    26
    9
See reviews for
63
110
39
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I have been to Africa several times and almost always end up in Nairobi. I have always stayed at The Norfolk but have not been there for several years. it still is an amazing place. Surrounded as it is by the hectic Nairobi traffic it is an oasis in the bedlam. The rooms are quiet and beds welcoming. The pool, work-out room and spa are world class. They are on par with any US hotel. The courtyard is much like a Zen garden and evokes images of British Kenya. The staff is always welcoming and always guest friendly and oriented. When in Nairobi this is the only hotel to stay at.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the first courtyard are my favorites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

I just went in for a quick snack, I had to wait 10 minutes and then went to search for a waitress to be served, had coffee and a croissant for 991 Kenya Shillings = more than $10! And was told there was no change, problem with coins! Needless to say I didn't leave a tip but give them one now, you're in Nairobi not London, charge more reasonable prices!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Years ago, I was fortunate to spend a few days there on business. A flash-back of illustrious times of Kenya and his hectic past. Great service, excellent food, special atmosphere, devoted staff... The Olde Kenya with modern comfort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Jean-Paul88,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am happy that you enjoyed the food, atmosphere and the warm and engaging service from our colleagues.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Nairobi.

Best regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Great place to stay. I began my stay in Kenya here and truly a wonderful hotel.
This Fairmont hotel had all the comforts of the United States, the staff aim to please and the room service was delish!
Five stars!!

Room Tip: Join the Fairmont President's Club. You get lots of perks!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Jenny L,

Thank you for choosing Fairmont The Norfolk and we highly appreciate your kind feedback.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was my first stop in my 16 day East African Safari which I am going to review so follow me as I travel through Kenya and Tanzania witnessing river crossings and amazing animals.
I first arrived at The Norfolk at 10.30pm and after signing in was escorted to my room .Only problem the key once opened the door I could not leave till morning as the key did not work and being the late hour not much one could do about it.
The room and bed was comfortable but another problem no hot water or flushing toilet I did mention to desk staff when I checked out .
The décor of the bathroom is dated and worn and needs to be updated especially for the rating that this hotel has.
Breakfast was plentiful with more than enough choices.
My second stay at the Norfolk found the same problem no hot water unless you allow to run for a good 15 mins such a waste but at least I had hot water this time.
During the second stay at the hotel I had ordered a meal and after waiting a good 45 mins I enquired as to the delay of such and was informed there was a power failure .
Staff are courteous and helpful but hotel needs to be updated for the 21st century and amenities fixed that patrons have hot running water and flushing toilets as well as keys that work.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Keen Traveller12372,

Thank you for posting your feedback on your recent visit and we appreciate your great comment on our breakfast choices.

Kindly note that your concerns in regards to the hot water, toilet and key have been noted and remedial measures will be put in place. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience.
We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel.

Best regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I've stayed at the Fairmont the Norfolk hotel twice now and it's just amazing. The hotel itself has so much character, from the breakfast terrace area to the inner courtyard (which most rooms overlook) to all the old photos and memorabilia which are dotted around the hotel.

At the same time, there is nothing old about the facilities of the hotel. The rooms are top quality, the bathrooms are modern, there's a nice desk space for working, the wifi speed is decent and the beds are really luxurious!

Breakfast here is not to be missed, there's everything you could want, and I love how they bring you your own plunger of coffee. Room service was also excellent, I wasn't feeling very well one evening and I highly recommend their chicken soup :)

Room Tip: You can't tell from the website, but the rooms are on three floors. With the recent happenings i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear lapeltje,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel for a second visit.

We are humbled to hear that we surpassed your expectations and we are equally delighted that you have highly recommended us. It is through such positive reviews that will encourage more potential guests to choose our Hotel.

My team and I look forward to welcome you back to our Hotel in the not so distant future.

Best regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel has played a leading role in Kenya's colorful history, and continues to be the best-known luxury hotel in Nairobi. The town and later the modern city of Nairobi grew up around Fairmont The Norfolk hotel, which still has its own private tropical gardens. The hotel is still the traditional starting point for safaris and the Lord Delamere Terrace is modern Nairobi's popular meeting place, where drinks and light meals are served continuously from morning till late evening.Fairmont The Norfolk was expanded in 1999 and subsequently renovated in time for its centennial celebrations in 2004. The Delamere & Acacia Wing were refurbished in 2012 to give the rooms a modern touch, whilst preserving their charm and unique personality. The Nairobi hotel now offers accommodations in 170 guest rooms and suites, has eight conference rooms, the largest seating 175 delegates, a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club with gym, sauna and steam room and gift shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Norfolk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.