We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Colonial Flavour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Save Saved
You added Fairmont The Norfolk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont The Norfolk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Rye, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“The Colonial Flavour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Years ago, I was fortunate to spend a few days there on business. A flash-back of illustrious times of Kenya and his hectic past. Great service, excellent food, special atmosphere, devoted staff... The Olde Kenya with modern comfort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Jean-Paul88,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am happy that you enjoyed the food, atmosphere and the warm and engaging service from our colleagues.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Nairobi.

Best regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    165
    49
    26
    9
See reviews for
63
107
39
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Great place to stay. I began my stay in Kenya here and truly a wonderful hotel.
This Fairmont hotel had all the comforts of the United States, the staff aim to please and the room service was delish!
Five stars!!

Room Tip: Join the Fairmont President's Club. You get lots of perks!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Jenny L,

Thank you for choosing Fairmont The Norfolk and we highly appreciate your kind feedback.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was my first stop in my 16 day East African Safari which I am going to review so follow me as I travel through Kenya and Tanzania witnessing river crossings and amazing animals.
I first arrived at The Norfolk at 10.30pm and after signing in was escorted to my room .Only problem the key once opened the door I could not leave till morning as the key did not work and being the late hour not much one could do about it.
The room and bed was comfortable but another problem no hot water or flushing toilet I did mention to desk staff when I checked out .
The décor of the bathroom is dated and worn and needs to be updated especially for the rating that this hotel has.
Breakfast was plentiful with more than enough choices.
My second stay at the Norfolk found the same problem no hot water unless you allow to run for a good 15 mins such a waste but at least I had hot water this time.
During the second stay at the hotel I had ordered a meal and after waiting a good 45 mins I enquired as to the delay of such and was informed there was a power failure .
Staff are courteous and helpful but hotel needs to be updated for the 21st century and amenities fixed that patrons have hot running water and flushing toilets as well as keys that work.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Keen Traveller12372,

Thank you for posting your feedback on your recent visit and we appreciate your great comment on our breakfast choices.

Kindly note that your concerns in regards to the hot water, toilet and key have been noted and remedial measures will be put in place. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience.
We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel.

Best regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I've stayed at the Fairmont the Norfolk hotel twice now and it's just amazing. The hotel itself has so much character, from the breakfast terrace area to the inner courtyard (which most rooms overlook) to all the old photos and memorabilia which are dotted around the hotel.

At the same time, there is nothing old about the facilities of the hotel. The rooms are top quality, the bathrooms are modern, there's a nice desk space for working, the wifi speed is decent and the beds are really luxurious!

Breakfast here is not to be missed, there's everything you could want, and I love how they bring you your own plunger of coffee. Room service was also excellent, I wasn't feeling very well one evening and I highly recommend their chicken soup :)

Room Tip: You can't tell from the website, but the rooms are on three floors. With the recent happenings i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear lapeltje,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel for a second visit.

We are humbled to hear that we surpassed your expectations and we are equally delighted that you have highly recommended us. It is through such positive reviews that will encourage more potential guests to choose our Hotel.

My team and I look forward to welcome you back to our Hotel in the not so distant future.

Best regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 21 & 22 October 2013 with hubby and nine year old daughter. Rooms are a little dated but had everything you could possibly want and very clean. Joined the Fairmont President's Club a week earlier and was therefore able to enjoy wifi free of charge. Food and drinks good and reasonably priced. Only criticism I have is when we were leaving, the Bell Hops confirmed our travel company and would send them a message to say we were ready to go to Wilson airport. There was obviously a conference going on any the lobby and veranda were so busy that they forgot to send the message. Our driver had been waiting down the road for 45 minutes. With the unpredictable Nairobi traffic it was iffy if we made our flight - thankfully we did :)

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I have been traveling to Africa since 1967, and this month, I traveled again. I had to layover in the Norfolk hotel which has been around since the beginning of the 19th C. However, since the hotel was taken over by Fairmont, and remodeled, many good things have happened. I last stayed there, about 7 years ago, The interior of the hotel still has the same British colonial charm, and the rooms have been excellently renovated, while maintaining the charm of colonial times. The restaurant presented a new view and a new menu, which was well beyond my expectations. The service was excellent and attentive, and the menu's items were new, modern, but still African. In addition, the wine list had a Kenyan as well as South African wines, which were reasonably priced, and nicely accompanied the meals.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Sequoya- Kiva,

It was a pleasure hosting you at Fairmont The Norfolk and we appreciate the great feedback.
We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us and look forward to hosting you again during your next visit to Nairobi.

Best regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed here en route to Tanzania for just one night and it was a good atmospheric place to stay for our first night on holiday.
The hotel was one of the first in Nairobi and it retains some of its heritage. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. There is a good bar, beautiful grounds and the the lovely Lord Delamere Terrace.
It may not be Raffles Hotel, but it is worth staying here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Ullans,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Nairobi.
We appreciate your great comments regarding our clean and comfortable rooms, nice bar and beautiful grounds.

We are glad you enjoyed your brief stay and hope to host you for longer during your next visit to Nairobi.

Best regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel has played a leading role in Kenya's colorful history, and continues to be the best-known luxury hotel in Nairobi. The town and later the modern city of Nairobi grew up around Fairmont The Norfolk hotel, which still has its own private tropical gardens. The hotel is still the traditional starting point for safaris and the Lord Delamere Terrace is modern Nairobi's popular meeting place, where drinks and light meals are served continuously from morning till late evening.Fairmont The Norfolk was expanded in 1999 and subsequently renovated in time for its centennial celebrations in 2004. The Delamere & Acacia Wing were refurbished in 2012 to give the rooms a modern touch, whilst preserving their charm and unique personality. The Nairobi hotel now offers accommodations in 170 guest rooms and suites, has eight conference rooms, the largest seating 175 delegates, a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club with gym, sauna and steam room and gift shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Norfolk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.