We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt welcome and safe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Save Saved
You added Fairmont The Norfolk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont The Norfolk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Felt welcome and safe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 21 & 22 October 2013 with hubby and nine year old daughter. Rooms are a little dated but had everything you could possibly want and very clean. Joined the Fairmont President's Club a week earlier and was therefore able to enjoy wifi free of charge. Food and drinks good and reasonably priced. Only criticism I have is when we were leaving, the Bell Hops confirmed our travel company and would send them a message to say we were ready to go to Wilson airport. There was obviously a conference going on any the lobby and veranda were so busy that they forgot to send the message. Our driver had been waiting down the road for 45 minutes. With the unpredictable Nairobi traffic it was iffy if we made our flight - thankfully we did :)

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    167
    49
    26
    9
See reviews for
63
110
39
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I have been traveling to Africa since 1967, and this month, I traveled again. I had to layover in the Norfolk hotel which has been around since the beginning of the 19th C. However, since the hotel was taken over by Fairmont, and remodeled, many good things have happened. I last stayed there, about 7 years ago, The interior of the hotel still has the same British colonial charm, and the rooms have been excellently renovated, while maintaining the charm of colonial times. The restaurant presented a new view and a new menu, which was well beyond my expectations. The service was excellent and attentive, and the menu's items were new, modern, but still African. In addition, the wine list had a Kenyan as well as South African wines, which were reasonably priced, and nicely accompanied the meals.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Sequoya- Kiva,

It was a pleasure hosting you at Fairmont The Norfolk and we appreciate the great feedback.
We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us and look forward to hosting you again during your next visit to Nairobi.

Best regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed here en route to Tanzania for just one night and it was a good atmospheric place to stay for our first night on holiday.
The hotel was one of the first in Nairobi and it retains some of its heritage. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. There is a good bar, beautiful grounds and the the lovely Lord Delamere Terrace.
It may not be Raffles Hotel, but it is worth staying here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Ullans,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Nairobi.
We appreciate your great comments regarding our clean and comfortable rooms, nice bar and beautiful grounds.

We are glad you enjoyed your brief stay and hope to host you for longer during your next visit to Nairobi.

Best regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

i stayed here 20 years ago and returned again last month after my Kilimanjaro climb for a nights stay. The Hotel has had a new wing added but the ambiance remains the same and brought back some childhood memories from my last stayThe room i stayed was very comfortable and a fantastic compared to my mountain tent the previous 7 days up the mountain! Having cocktails and dinner on the verandah while watching the world go by was a truely memorable evening. The staff could not have done anything more to make my short stay such a memorable one, thank you. A must if visiting Nairobi if you want to turn the clock back and want to feel good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear UkGilles,

Thank you for your great feedback and we are glad you chose to stay with us 20 years later!
We look forward to continue making your stays in Nairobi memorable.

Best regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We’ve stayed at the Fairmont for 2 nights while heading to Masai Mara, and were surprised by the outstanding quality of the hotel. The hotel is located in a central, yet quite part of town. Over the years, the hotel has managed to maintain its glamor. Pictures hanged on the corridor walls demonstrate the history of the hotel. Name tags on the doors of some of the rooms, present the variety of VIP visitors to the hotel. Our room was spacious and very clean, overlooking the hotel’s garden. The staff was very helpful in suggesting places to go to during our stay.

Overall, we truly enjoyed our stay and the hotel, and would definitely stay there again next time we’re in Nairobi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Ahmed M,

Thank you for choosing Fairmont The Norfolk.
We appreciate the great feedback and we are happy our team and facilities made your stay memorable.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Best regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Norfolk is a lovely hotel, but it probably does need a bit of updating. Rooms are small compared with others in Nairobi and the air conditioning and plumbing need attention. That said, the hospitality is excellent and the breakfast buffet is superb. On this stay I dined in the hotel's restaurant for the first time and was a little disappointed... the standard of food was not as high as the hotel would like it to be, I suspect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear JCCMLondon,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.

We are glad you enjoyed our excellent hospitality and superb breakfast buffet.

We have however noted your concerns regarding our air conditioning and plumbing which I shall address with the engineering team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont The Norfolk.

Best regards
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We recently stayed at the Fairmont Norfolk on our way out to Masai Mara. The room was quiet and well appointed. Breakfast on the Terrace was sumptuous and my husband swore his cappuchino was one of the best he has had.
We especially appreciated being able to leave some of our luggage at the hotel since we were limited as to what we could take on safari.
We picked up the luggage and got a "day room" on our way back through Nairobi. Since most long distance flights leave late a night it was nice to shower, repack and have a nap before flying out. I only wish we had time to dine at Tatu, the menu looked fantastic.
Security was on top ofeverything so no worries there at all. An oasis of calm inside the Norfolk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel has played a leading role in Kenya's colorful history, and continues to be the best-known luxury hotel in Nairobi. The town and later the modern city of Nairobi grew up around Fairmont The Norfolk hotel, which still has its own private tropical gardens. The hotel is still the traditional starting point for safaris and the Lord Delamere Terrace is modern Nairobi's popular meeting place, where drinks and light meals are served continuously from morning till late evening.Fairmont The Norfolk was expanded in 1999 and subsequently renovated in time for its centennial celebrations in 2004. The Delamere & Acacia Wing were refurbished in 2012 to give the rooms a modern touch, whilst preserving their charm and unique personality. The Nairobi hotel now offers accommodations in 170 guest rooms and suites, has eight conference rooms, the largest seating 175 delegates, a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club with gym, sauna and steam room and gift shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Norfolk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.