We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont The Norfolk to your Saves list
Fairmont The Norfolk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 122 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed one night on arrival in Nairobi before starting our safari. We arrived about 10PM and were on the road by 8AM the next day. Given that, we had no time to appreciate, or even discover, all that the hotel had to offer. The room was weel appointed and the bed was comfortable; the shower was wonderful. The food at the breakfast buffet was varied and very good.

Wifi is free for members of the Fairmont President's Club, and we are glad we signed up for the free club prior to our travel, other wise internet access is almost $6 for one hour.

We arrived the evening before the unfortunate event at the Westgate Mall. Upon arrival, a security person went through my purse and carry on bag prior to entering the hotel. Interestingly, our suitcases did not seem to be checked at all.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are more quiet than those facing out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear travlr,

Thank you for the great feedback and we are happy our team and facilities made your stay memorable.

We appreciate the opportunity you gave us to host you for a few nights and are glad you had a great stay.

We look forward to hosting you when you are next in Nairobi.

Thank you

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    197
    59
    30
    12
See reviews for
76
139
42
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

In spite of some minor issues on check-in (well, some systems do go down from time to time and you just being lucky to be the one who enjoys the longest registration process). However, everything else went just great. Inner garden of the hotel is awesome (grab a Tusker and enjoy the table right in there). Breakfast is also nice and you should take it on the terrace (weather permitting).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear renatmin,

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay.

We are glad to note that you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hosting you again.

Thank you

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Great hotel, very clean. Spacious, comfortable rooms. Lovely food and extremely friendly, helpful Staff. My only niggle was having to pay daily for Wifi, which I thought was unusual for this standard of accommodation. Unfortunately I was there during the attack at the Westgate Mall, but the Hotel Staff were amazing, keeping very calm in assuring guests of their security.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trail, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

A beautiful setting and room, though we had difficulty getting hot water to our room. Staff eventually sorted it out. Food was good, and plentiful! A wonderful, relaxing oasis in the busy city of Nairobi!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Famous hotel in city, across from the University, Chinese construction but not a problem with noise. Not a good walk about area, but hotel is wonderful with restaurants, bars, pool, spa and gym to keep you busy. Staff friendly and helpful. Would go again and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for room in newer section. With a view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a really excellent hotel and compares very favourably with most Fairmonts that I have been to. Lovely gardens, leisure facilities and a great bar. Also 2 really good restaurants. No doubt though this was right in the centre of the best area when it was built but it is not that today. On the other hand, being right by the university, it is hardly in a rough or poor areas.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at the Norfolk for one night before heading off on our safari trip - the hotel was booked through Emirates holidays as part of our honeymoon, and on arrival we were pleasantly surprised to find that we had been upgraded to a suite in the newer part of the hotel. The hotel has the feel of a traditional colonial residence, and our room had a lovely view over the gardens. The room itself was very clean, although there was a problem with the sink plug not opening properly - hardly a deal-breaker though! The bed was nice and comfy, and there were no problems at all with insects during the night - breakfast in the morning was incredible, with a full selection of cereals, cooked breakfast options, as well as omelettes made to order! We left our larger bags at the hotel when we visited the Masai Mara, and despite having a luggage ticket, telling the porters when we were returning and that we were in a hurry for the airport, they still took an age to find our bags. Considering the number of porters milling around the entrance, it was slightly disappointing that there didn't seem to be anyone taking charge - a minor blemish on what was otherwise a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from Nairobi's best attractions, including the home of Karen Blixen, from the Academy Award winning film 'Out of Africa', Fairmont The Norfolk offers luxurious guestrooms and suites, set amidst tropical gardens. It features plush furniture, flat screen TV, minibar, rainfall showers, and tea and coffee maker. Built in 1904, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club, sauna and steam rooms with massage facilities, tropical landscaped grounds, and award winning restaurants and bars from steak and seafood at Tatu restaurant, afternoon tea to Lord Delamere Terrace for international cuisine. The hotel is walking distance from artisanal craft shops, modern shopping centres, Sheldrick's Elephant Sanctuary, National Museums of Kenya and is the launch point for 'bucket list' worthy safari tours, which can be organized at the 24 hour concierge desk. A free shuttle bus is available to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport, located 11 miles away. Business Guests are also offered a complimentary return shuttle ride to their office with free WiFi on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Splendia, Hotwire, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Norfolk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.