We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent business hotel -- great Wifi access” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont The Norfolk to your Saves list
Fairmont The Norfolk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3rd Night FREE
Ranked #14 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Samoens, France
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Excellent business hotel -- great Wifi access”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I've been here for 9 days now and the service has been impeccable, the food excellent, the beds comfortable and the wifi excellent. All in the middle of Nairobi. I do have to agree with the guest that said getting in and out can be difficult but that is true of everywhere one wants to go in Nairobi. The hotel did their best to move small groups of us around when taxis were stuck in traffic. I truly felt like a member of an exclusive club rather than a hotel guest.

Room Tip: Because I was here so long, they put me in a ground floor room overlooking the garden. Quiet and wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Chats2092,

Thank you for staying with us and we are glad you had a memorable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Nairobi.

Best regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    209
    62
    31
    12
See reviews for
83
149
42
205
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here three times in June while cris-crossing East Africa. Getting into the hotel can be an adventure. The driveway has not been updated to meet the growing demands of Nairobi traffic, and so it's usually a tight squeeze. Then you have to go through a security screening on the veranda, and that can create quite a logjam. Same with reception, especially if you get stuck behind a big group. That sort of thing should just be a minor distraction though. Keep in mind, you're in Nairobi, not Omaha, and a small degree of chaos shouldn't just be expected, but accepted. Maybe even enjoyed. Besides, the extraordinary service more than makes up for any delays. Everyone at the hotel makes you feel welcome, and it comes off as sincere and gracious, not fawning. That's particularly true when you're a return visitor.

The Fairmont seems to mostly cater to either the business crowd or people spending the night before heading off on safari. That means either expense accounts or package deals, which could explain why the hotel is a bit pricey, especially the bar and restaurants ($30+ each for breakfast). Unfortunately, there aren't any alternative options for dining nearby, but there's always a Java House on the way to wherever you're going next.

Rooms are spacious, well appointed and very clean. The hotel has an old feel, befitting it's colonial roots, but rooms and public areas are very up-to-date and stylish. A nice combination, in my opinion. For being in the city center, there's quite a bit of green space at the hotel, notably the beautiful courtyard area. Get a room overlooking that if you can.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Ewebber,

Thank you for having chosen to stay with us and for the great feedback. We are glad our facilities and staff made your stay relaxing and enjoyable.

We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Nairobi.

Best regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here on the night of 6th August 2013 then went for 2 nights to Fairmont Mount Kenya (see separate review) before returning to Nairobi for 9th and 10th August. Nairobi is a city that appears to be moving forward, none the less to stay in such a luxurious environment in an African city was an odd if pleasant experience. The rooms were superb, the overall feeling of the hotel was as good as you could expect anywhere in the world and the staff understood the meaning of service. The only poor experience I had (which was nothing to do with the Hotel) was trying to rent a serviceable car with adequate insurance without paying the "extras" the rental company was trying to charge, I gave up in the end and used the Hotel transport - which was also very good.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors with a view into the inner garden are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Paulpm57,

Thank you for staying with us before and after your Safari, we are glad you had a wonderful time on both stays.

We appreciate and are grateful for the encouraging feedback as we look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Best regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, Panama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Probably one of the best hotels to stay at while visiting or passing through Nairobi.

Had the chance to stay there on 3 separate occasions in the past month and the service was great at all times, including the last day we were there and the president of Kenya was there to give a speech.

Although the street was blocked because of security reasons, we were able to check in at the hotel without any problems or delays.

Restaurant has a good assorted choice of food and the various meals we had were all very good.

We would return to this hotel without hesitation

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed at the Norfolk in March of 2012 and frankly I cannot wait to return. It is rare to find a hotel that captures a sense of history with modern comfort but this is such a hotel. I arrived late at night and there had been a mess with booking my room, though in no way was this the fault of the hotel but rather the internet service I used to book it, and after a 12 hour journey from the States that could have spelled disaster. But no, the staff could not have been more polite or more helpful and all was more than resolved. The food I enjoyed was first rate, I particularly recall a split pea soup that transported me back to my grandmothers in England, and the bar is cozy and friendly. The rooms were very comfortable and the grounds are enchanting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Nairobi is all go. Wild traffic, wild pedestrians, energy everywhere, the airport is tented receptions since the fire, but handling was super efficient, appauling slums, but wonderful wonderful people, and this hotel brings out the very best of them.
We were brought here by a car driver who like many in Africa is a grandparent looking after gradchildren. You never know, but probably HIV took his children. He was happy, positive and super friendly.
The hotel is delightful, built in 1902 of course fully modernised and absolutely charming. Great front entrance security, (lets face it, if security worries you ina city where they have had major terrorism incidents, you're not thinking clealry) and then into a sea of tranquility.
The front desk and bell staff were all friendly and helpful, checking tomorrows flights and car times for us.
Three floors high built around a central courtyard with several different tropical trees, the hotel oozes friendliness, charm, tranquility, harmony and style. Although only here for one night we thought this was about as good as it gets.
The rooms are extremely comfortable, great bathrooms with rain showers, every comfort.
Everything was simply wonderful.
We had a couple of glasses of wine and some delicious samosas and egg rolls in the bar. Joy, the ever smiling waitress, is a Joy.

Room Tip: This may not help get a great room, but remember, in Kenya, average wages are between $5 and $10 dai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Michael Broadhurst,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.
It is always a great pleasure to read that you had a memorable stay at Fairmont The Norfolk.
I have shared your comments with my team and we are all delighted that you enjoyed the comfortable rooms, delicious meals, security and service from our colleagues.

We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back to Fairmont The Norfolk.

Thank you & Regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solon, Ohio
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Classic older hotel that seems to have been renovated recently. Nice courtyard, attentive friendly staff, and clean rooms. Bar lounge as well as a the front restaurant provide nice dining options, but with the same menu. Excellent oasis in Nairobi, Would definitely stay here again for business or with my family or friends.

NOTE: Had given my friend's room away on a prior visit, so they upgraded us both to suites this time. Nice gesture, but I noticed that this did happen to someone else when we arrived this time as well(He was at the bar with a free drink waiting to find an available hotel) so just be aware.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear OnAPLANE,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor,
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay to the up-most.

We are looking forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont The Norfolk again!

Thank you & Regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from Nairobi's best attractions, including the home of Karen Blixen, from the Academy Award winning film 'Out of Africa', Fairmont The Norfolk offers luxurious guestrooms and suites, set amidst tropical gardens. It features plush furniture, flat screen TV, minibar, rainfall showers, and tea and coffee maker. Built in 1904, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club, sauna and steam rooms with massage facilities, tropical landscaped grounds, and award winning restaurants and bars from steak and seafood at Tatu restaurant, afternoon tea to Lord Delamere Terrace for international cuisine. The hotel is walking distance from artisanal craft shops, modern shopping centres, Sheldrick's Elephant Sanctuary, National Museums of Kenya and is the launch point for 'bucket list' worthy safari tours, which can be organized at the 24 hour concierge desk. A free shuttle bus is available to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport, located 11 miles away. Business Guests are also offered a complimentary return shuttle ride to their office with free WiFi on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Norfolk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.