We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really special vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Save Saved
You added Fairmont The Norfolk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont The Norfolk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A really special vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here on the night of 6th August 2013 then went for 2 nights to Fairmont Mount Kenya (see separate review) before returning to Nairobi for 9th and 10th August. Nairobi is a city that appears to be moving forward, none the less to stay in such a luxurious environment in an African city was an odd if pleasant experience. The rooms were superb, the overall feeling of the hotel was as good as you could expect anywhere in the world and the staff understood the meaning of service. The only poor experience I had (which was nothing to do with the Hotel) was trying to rent a serviceable car with adequate insurance without paying the "extras" the rental company was trying to charge, I gave up in the end and used the Hotel transport - which was also very good.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors with a view into the inner garden are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Paulpm57,

Thank you for staying with us before and after your Safari, we are glad you had a wonderful time on both stays.

We appreciate and are grateful for the encouraging feedback as we look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Best regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    171
    51
    26
    10
See reviews for
68
113
39
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Carlos, Panama
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Probably one of the best hotels to stay at while visiting or passing through Nairobi.

Had the chance to stay there on 3 separate occasions in the past month and the service was great at all times, including the last day we were there and the president of Kenya was there to give a speech.

Although the street was blocked because of security reasons, we were able to check in at the hotel without any problems or delays.

Restaurant has a good assorted choice of food and the various meals we had were all very good.

We would return to this hotel without hesitation

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed at the Norfolk in March of 2012 and frankly I cannot wait to return. It is rare to find a hotel that captures a sense of history with modern comfort but this is such a hotel. I arrived late at night and there had been a mess with booking my room, though in no way was this the fault of the hotel but rather the internet service I used to book it, and after a 12 hour journey from the States that could have spelled disaster. But no, the staff could not have been more polite or more helpful and all was more than resolved. The food I enjoyed was first rate, I particularly recall a split pea soup that transported me back to my grandmothers in England, and the bar is cozy and friendly. The rooms were very comfortable and the grounds are enchanting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Nairobi is all go. Wild traffic, wild pedestrians, energy everywhere, the airport is tented receptions since the fire, but handling was super efficient, appauling slums, but wonderful wonderful people, and this hotel brings out the very best of them.
We were brought here by a car driver who like many in Africa is a grandparent looking after gradchildren. You never know, but probably HIV took his children. He was happy, positive and super friendly.
The hotel is delightful, built in 1902 of course fully modernised and absolutely charming. Great front entrance security, (lets face it, if security worries you ina city where they have had major terrorism incidents, you're not thinking clealry) and then into a sea of tranquility.
The front desk and bell staff were all friendly and helpful, checking tomorrows flights and car times for us.
Three floors high built around a central courtyard with several different tropical trees, the hotel oozes friendliness, charm, tranquility, harmony and style. Although only here for one night we thought this was about as good as it gets.
The rooms are extremely comfortable, great bathrooms with rain showers, every comfort.
Everything was simply wonderful.
We had a couple of glasses of wine and some delicious samosas and egg rolls in the bar. Joy, the ever smiling waitress, is a Joy.

Room Tip: This may not help get a great room, but remember, in Kenya, average wages are between $5 and $10 dai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Michael Broadhurst,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.
It is always a great pleasure to read that you had a memorable stay at Fairmont The Norfolk.
I have shared your comments with my team and we are all delighted that you enjoyed the comfortable rooms, delicious meals, security and service from our colleagues.

We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back to Fairmont The Norfolk.

Thank you & Regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solon, Ohio
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Classic older hotel that seems to have been renovated recently. Nice courtyard, attentive friendly staff, and clean rooms. Bar lounge as well as a the front restaurant provide nice dining options, but with the same menu. Excellent oasis in Nairobi, Would definitely stay here again for business or with my family or friends.

NOTE: Had given my friend's room away on a prior visit, so they upgraded us both to suites this time. Nice gesture, but I noticed that this did happen to someone else when we arrived this time as well(He was at the bar with a free drink waiting to find an available hotel) so just be aware.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear OnAPLANE,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor,
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay to the up-most.

We are looking forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont The Norfolk again!

Thank you & Regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is by far the best hotel ' experience' I have had in Nairobi. The hotel has a colonial style & was originally opened in 1904. The passage walls have many photos from yesteryear. The rooms are large & well equipped. (with a very large flatscreen TV - if you need it!). The bathroom has a separate shower. The gels & shampoos etc. are of good quality. The best thing about the hotel is the service. Everyone is friendly & efficient. Prices are also good compared to other similar hotels in Nairobi. There were many guests who were going on safari with a tour operated by the Hotel it seems. The breakfasts are very good - a great start to the day.The Gym looks good (did not use). They have a spa in the hotel as well. It is really a great hotel & I will be staying here on my future business trips. One thing that could be improved is to offer free WiFi to guests. WiFi is available at about $20 for 24 hours.

Room Tip: Try & get a ground floor room as they have a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Rainer S,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay; from our well equipped rooms, breakfast and exceptional service.
Please note that there is complimentary internet provided for all Fairmont Presidents Club Members and we invite you to join so you can receive all of the advantages the club has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont The Norfolk in the future.

Thank you & Regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Was at this hotel while visiting Nairobi for work. Hotel staff was incredibly courteous and helpful, giving recommendations for places to go to for dinner. Hotel itself was incredibly comfortable. Great pool and gym. I highly recommend the breakfast buffet out on the terrace. Excellent variety and choices. Dinner there is excellent as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Ryan H,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, great pool & gym and excellent Service from our incredibly courteous and helpful staff.

We very much look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Thank you & Regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel has played a leading role in Kenya's colorful history, and continues to be the best-known luxury hotel in Nairobi. The town and later the modern city of Nairobi grew up around Fairmont The Norfolk hotel, which still has its own private tropical gardens. The hotel is still the traditional starting point for safaris and the Lord Delamere Terrace is modern Nairobi's popular meeting place, where drinks and light meals are served continuously from morning till late evening.Fairmont The Norfolk was expanded in 1999 and subsequently renovated in time for its centennial celebrations in 2004. The Delamere & Acacia Wing were refurbished in 2012 to give the rooms a modern touch, whilst preserving their charm and unique personality. The Nairobi hotel now offers accommodations in 170 guest rooms and suites, has eight conference rooms, the largest seating 175 delegates, a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club with gym, sauna and steam room and gift shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Norfolk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.