We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rare treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont The Norfolk to your Saves list
Fairmont The Norfolk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A rare treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed at the Norfolk in March of 2012 and frankly I cannot wait to return. It is rare to find a hotel that captures a sense of history with modern comfort but this is such a hotel. I arrived late at night and there had been a mess with booking my room, though in no way was this the fault of the hotel but rather the internet service I used to book it, and after a 12 hour journey from the States that could have spelled disaster. But no, the staff could not have been more polite or more helpful and all was more than resolved. The food I enjoyed was first rate, I particularly recall a split pea soup that transported me back to my grandmothers in England, and the bar is cozy and friendly. The rooms were very comfortable and the grounds are enchanting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    205
    60
    30
    12
See reviews for
79
144
42
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Nairobi is all go. Wild traffic, wild pedestrians, energy everywhere, the airport is tented receptions since the fire, but handling was super efficient, appauling slums, but wonderful wonderful people, and this hotel brings out the very best of them.
We were brought here by a car driver who like many in Africa is a grandparent looking after gradchildren. You never know, but probably HIV took his children. He was happy, positive and super friendly.
The hotel is delightful, built in 1902 of course fully modernised and absolutely charming. Great front entrance security, (lets face it, if security worries you ina city where they have had major terrorism incidents, you're not thinking clealry) and then into a sea of tranquility.
The front desk and bell staff were all friendly and helpful, checking tomorrows flights and car times for us.
Three floors high built around a central courtyard with several different tropical trees, the hotel oozes friendliness, charm, tranquility, harmony and style. Although only here for one night we thought this was about as good as it gets.
The rooms are extremely comfortable, great bathrooms with rain showers, every comfort.
Everything was simply wonderful.
We had a couple of glasses of wine and some delicious samosas and egg rolls in the bar. Joy, the ever smiling waitress, is a Joy.

Room Tip: This may not help get a great room, but remember, in Kenya, average wages are between $5 and $10 dai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Michael Broadhurst,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.
It is always a great pleasure to read that you had a memorable stay at Fairmont The Norfolk.
I have shared your comments with my team and we are all delighted that you enjoyed the comfortable rooms, delicious meals, security and service from our colleagues.

We look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back to Fairmont The Norfolk.

Thank you & Regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solon, Ohio
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Classic older hotel that seems to have been renovated recently. Nice courtyard, attentive friendly staff, and clean rooms. Bar lounge as well as a the front restaurant provide nice dining options, but with the same menu. Excellent oasis in Nairobi, Would definitely stay here again for business or with my family or friends.

NOTE: Had given my friend's room away on a prior visit, so they upgraded us both to suites this time. Nice gesture, but I noticed that this did happen to someone else when we arrived this time as well(He was at the bar with a free drink waiting to find an available hotel) so just be aware.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear OnAPLANE,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor,
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay to the up-most.

We are looking forward to welcoming you to the Fairmont The Norfolk again!

Thank you & Regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is by far the best hotel ' experience' I have had in Nairobi. The hotel has a colonial style & was originally opened in 1904. The passage walls have many photos from yesteryear. The rooms are large & well equipped. (with a very large flatscreen TV - if you need it!). The bathroom has a separate shower. The gels & shampoos etc. are of good quality. The best thing about the hotel is the service. Everyone is friendly & efficient. Prices are also good compared to other similar hotels in Nairobi. There were many guests who were going on safari with a tour operated by the Hotel it seems. The breakfasts are very good - a great start to the day.The Gym looks good (did not use). They have a spa in the hotel as well. It is really a great hotel & I will be staying here on my future business trips. One thing that could be improved is to offer free WiFi to guests. WiFi is available at about $20 for 24 hours.

Room Tip: Try & get a ground floor room as they have a patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Rainer S,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay; from our well equipped rooms, breakfast and exceptional service.
Please note that there is complimentary internet provided for all Fairmont Presidents Club Members and we invite you to join so you can receive all of the advantages the club has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairmont The Norfolk in the future.

Thank you & Regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Was at this hotel while visiting Nairobi for work. Hotel staff was incredibly courteous and helpful, giving recommendations for places to go to for dinner. Hotel itself was incredibly comfortable. Great pool and gym. I highly recommend the breakfast buffet out on the terrace. Excellent variety and choices. Dinner there is excellent as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Ryan H,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, great pool & gym and excellent Service from our incredibly courteous and helpful staff.

We very much look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Thank you & Regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Norfolk Fairmont will put you in the mood of your Safari trip; Wonderful Hotel and services.
This colonial style hotel, build in 1904 will, like it did to us, put you in the Safari trip ambiance.
If you have the chance, i also advise you to have a massage in their SPA facility; just wonderful and very relaxing moment.
My happy feet went there and will probably go again in the near future

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester County, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed at the Fairmont Norfolk for 4 nights in August and found it a very pleasant stay. The property itself is very lovely, and the setting is quiet, away from the hustle of center city Nairobi, and next to the University. The hotel is historic, going back to 1904 I believe, but has been greatly expanded and all of the rooms are modern. On this stay, I had a very modern room. On a prior stay, I had a less modern room, but still very nice. I used the hotel as a "base camp" for my time in Nairobi and for travel to other parts of Kenya. The staff is very helpful. The rooms are clean, the showers are very nice. Free bottled water is provided in the rooms. The restaurants are all excellent (especially Tatu), but expensive. You can expect to pay a little less than Big City (London, New York) prices here for the food, which is way out of market for Kenya, but not exorbitant. There's a nice swimming pool (from the looks of it) and a good sized fitness room with modern equipment. I would return to this property every time I come to Nairobi.
TIP: If you join the Fairmont President's Club (free to join), you can get Internet access for free in all the Fairmont Hotels, including the Norfolk.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from Nairobi's best attractions, including the home of Karen Blixen, from the Academy Award winning film 'Out of Africa', Fairmont The Norfolk offers luxurious guestrooms and suites, set amidst tropical gardens. It features plush furniture, flat screen TV, minibar, rainfall showers, and tea and coffee maker. Built in 1904, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club, sauna and steam rooms with massage facilities, tropical landscaped grounds, and award winning restaurants and bars from steak and seafood at Tatu restaurant, afternoon tea to Lord Delamere Terrace for international cuisine. The hotel is walking distance from artisanal craft shops, modern shopping centres, Sheldrick's Elephant Sanctuary, National Museums of Kenya and is the launch point for 'bucket list' worthy safari tours, which can be organized at the 24 hour concierge desk. A free shuttle bus is available to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport, located 11 miles away. Business Guests are also offered a complimentary return shuttle ride to their office with free WiFi on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Splendia, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Norfolk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.