We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Experience Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont The Norfolk to your Saves list
Fairmont The Norfolk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3rd Night FREE
Ranked #13 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Hotel Experience Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed at the Fairmont The Norfolk for a week long business trip. The hotel seemed to cater for a mixed crowd of tourists on safari and business travellers. The location is just off the CBD, next to the University on a quiet street, although I felt very safe within the boundaries of the hotel.

Upon arriving I was welcomed by the friend door staff and security (a common aspect in Kenya) and as it was evening, my check-in was expedited swiftly by the helpful reception.
The grounds of the hotel are amazing, very fitting for any Kenyan venue and the room certainly matched the surroundings. It was very large with a seating area and a work space.
During my stay, I didn't have a chance to use the facilities or restaurants although I heard they were very good. However, I sampled the room service throughout my stay and it was by far the best variety/choice I've experienced at any hotel and the quality was like dining in a 5-star restaurant every time!

My only gripe would be the taxi service contracted out by the hotel, it's not a very efficient service and even with calling ahead or pre-planning the pick-ups from my client's location they were always 1-1.5 hours late.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Kmalho,

Thank you for sharing your "Best Hotel Experience Ever" on Trip Advisor.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay.

I have noted your comments on our taxi services which I have reviewed with my team and the contracted taxi company for better and efficient services.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    214
    63
    31
    12
See reviews for
85
150
44
217
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corona , California USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Was here for a day , a stepping stone to an African safari. The staff were very friendly and helpful.the food was excellent. The
entire hotel was very clean. The rooms were well appointed with all the amenities , attention paid to the minutest detail
I even found aq shoe horn in the cabinet. There was nothing more to be desired. The wireless Internet was very fast the wired LAN connection was even faster. Although it is advertised as a chargeable service if one joins the presidents club on arrival there is no charge for internet access. The hotel is a little pricey but then again it is fully worth the money.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Nalin_9,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to post your review.
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I have shared your kind words with our Teams.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Food excellent, tremendous service. It made our trip to Nairobi so special! Rooms are wonderful, grounds lovely. The location was terrific for all meetings in the city, and we were so happy to arrive back here after fabulous safari in Maasai Mara!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad, Ostfold, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel last year and in 3 weeks we are going back. For us this is the only place to stay in Nairobi. The garden and the restaurant terraces are just great and we loved the quietness in the garden. The food are very good and service is excellent. Its a great place to stay for some days after being out on safari and relax before a long flight back home!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed in the Norfolk on our recent trip to Kenya. Service is generally excellent throughout the hotel, with an attentive and friendly staff. The food options are good, with a good buffet breakfast which the kids enjoyed. The Norfolk also has a good pool and health club. The obvious area for improvement is the hotel rooms themselves. While spacious, the rooms we stayed in were a little dingy and in need of a renovation. The showers had poor water pressure and little cold water, which made them difficult to use. Also, make sure you spray well for mosquitoes, as we encountered more in the Norfolk than on safari...

All in all a good stay!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Nigel D,

Thank you for your review.

It was our pleasure to host you at Fairmont The Norfolk. We are glad that our Health Club, customer service, food variety and buffet breakfast exceeded your expectation.
We have taken note of all the concerns raised which we shall address as a team to better our service and product.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Charming facility, with great character. The old big game hunters and movers and shakers hung out here since 1904! Has good food, great service, and patio dining where you can people watch and get the feel of Nairobi.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Mayo G,

Thank you for your review.

For more than 100 years, we have endeavored to meet and exceed our customer expectations. We are happy that you enjoyed our food and exceptional service.

We look forward to hosting you again

Best Regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I spent two weeks at the Fairmont on a recent business trip. I liked the hotel because of its location and style. The rooms are very nice, the service could not have been better, and the layout of the hotel complex with a nice courtyard away from the hussle and bussle of Nairobi was an added plus. The internet connectivity was some of the best I have had anywhere in the world, which was totally surprising.

My only complaint would be the breakfast buffet which was extremely expensive and not that great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Fletchjhome,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad that our location in Nairobi's central business district was of convenience to your purpose of visit.

We have noted your concern on our breakfast rating which I shall review with the rest of the team.

We look forward to your return.

Best Regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.6 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#10 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 760 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#3 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
8.5 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meridian Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#16 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from Nairobi's best attractions, including the home of Karen Blixen, from the Academy Award winning film 'Out of Africa', Fairmont The Norfolk offers luxurious guestrooms and suites, set amidst tropical gardens. It features plush furniture, flat screen TV, minibar, rainfall showers, and tea and coffee maker. Built in 1904, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club, sauna and steam rooms with massage facilities, tropical landscaped grounds, and award winning restaurants and bars from steak and seafood at Tatu restaurant, afternoon tea to Lord Delamere Terrace for international cuisine. The hotel is walking distance from artisanal craft shops, modern shopping centres, Sheldrick's Elephant Sanctuary, National Museums of Kenya and is the launch point for 'bucket list' worthy safari tours, which can be organized at the 24 hour concierge desk. A free shuttle bus is available to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport, located 11 miles away. Business Guests are also offered a complimentary return shuttle ride to their office with free WiFi on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HRS, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Norfolk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.