We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality old world colonial hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Save Saved
You added Fairmont The Norfolk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont The Norfolk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quality old world colonial hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Beautiful hotel with the feel of the early colonial days. I stayed there going to Mount Kilimanjaro and on my return. This is the only place I would ever stay in Nairobi. The staff was friendly, food was good, and the history on the wall plaques was very interesting - made me feel a part of the colonial past. I will return again next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear n2maps,

We are thrilled to learn your stay surpassed your expectations! Thank you for sharing your experience and mentioning that it is the ONLY Hotel you would ever stay in Nairobi.

It is wonderful to know you enjoyed our food and appreciated viewing our history through the photo wall plaques. We look forward to your return next year.

Best Regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    167
    49
    26
    9
See reviews for
63
110
39
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed here twice while heading to and from a safari. First stay was in a newly renovated room which was perfectly clean and gracious with a stunning bath facility. Second stay was in an older room farther from the main building, also clean but definitely worn and a little musty. Staff are very friendly. The food is good, but service in both the dining room and lounge was slow on both occasions. The breakfast buffet is excellent. The grounds are lovely and peaceful, the pool is good for an urban location. I enjoyed an excellent massage at the spa. Absolutely would stay there again, but allow plenty of time for your meals if dining in house.

Room Tip: Join their President's Club to avoid wifi fees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We have stayed here on all but one of four trips to Nairobi, and I sorely missed it the year we didn't. The history, the atmosphere, the food, and the service are always top notch for us. There is literally nothing else I could ask for on the breakfast buffet, it is extensive & always tastes good. The beds are comfortable, and we have never had any trouble sleeping with the noise of the city, perhaps the way it is built blocks that out. There have been occasions when service at the front desk was not exactly up to par, but it was never anything serious that wasn't fixed right away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Lynda Sw,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Fairmont The Norfolk.

I am glad that you always choose to stay with us on all your trips to Nairobi. I also wish to thank you for your positive feedback on our food, services, rooms and above all your continued support and patronage.

We look forward to hosting you again on your future trips to Nairobi.

Best Regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed here one night before safari holiday and it was good. Clean hotel, nice breakfast, and good service. The birds were great to take pics of and the bar seemed nice as well but we were so tired we went straight to bed. The area hotel was in appeared safe and I had no worries myself.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear PTTraveler 101,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Fairmont The Norfolk.

We are delighted that you found our hotel facilities, breakfast, services, bar and security to be exceptional.

We look forward to welcoming you back to in the near future.

Best Regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Nice fairmont, but staff are hit and miss some are rude and some are super nice, security staff at front door are rude and turned me off from hotel, being that I stay at fairmonts all the time I will overlook but not impressed- restaurant is exceptional and service is second to none

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Lakeway 10,

We acknowledge with thanks receipt of your comments about your recent stay with us.

We are glad that you were happy with our exceptional Restaurant and services.

Indeed we are sorry that you were not impressed by some of our colleague’s approach and assure you that we will continue coaching all our colleagues on the significance of outstanding customer service.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you once again in the near future.

Best Regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

some of the staff are plain rude but some are definitely nice. yummy ice cream. the food could be better. the rooms are ok. some of them need fixing though. and i think by now everybody should know that when u r staying in a hotel one night that they almost always give u a room with a hitch. :( anyway, i gave them chances too and i think I'm definitely not going back :D but not to discourage y'all. may be different for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Siobhan 158,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We're happy to note that you enjoyed the rooms and yummy ice cream. We have also noted your comments in regards to some of our staff’s attitude, food and rooms which I have addressed with the concerned leaders.

Please feel free to contact me directly on kenya.reservations@fairmont.com during your next visit to Kenya.


Best Regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last year, and wasn't very impressed, however, decided to give them a second chance. I am sad to say that they have disappointed even more than my previous visit. The quality of food has deteriorated yet the prices have increased. I paid almost $30 for a very small burger and fries. Didn't taste all that grand either! The food is really expensive, which you wouldn't mind paying for if it was really good - not the case I'm afraid. They have really cut down on some of their amenities as well.I paid $288 per night for a twin room - you don't get chocolates for turn down, you don't have the little amenities like a sewing kit, or little vanity kits that you get at other hotels for a cheaper price - and they leave exactly one sachet of coffee at the refreshment unit! When I did ask for more coffee, one sachet was brought 2 hours after my call. If you do stay here, ask for rooms in the left wing, the rooms are newly refurbished. The bathrooms are smaller, but the rooms in the older wings are really old and require desparate refurbish.
The reception staff are really helpful though, and very pleasant in true Kenyan style. Although the overall service is great, for the price you pay you would expect more. Breakfast is $33 per person, but not quite worth it, especially if you order in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel has played a leading role in Kenya's colorful history, and continues to be the best-known luxury hotel in Nairobi. The town and later the modern city of Nairobi grew up around Fairmont The Norfolk hotel, which still has its own private tropical gardens. The hotel is still the traditional starting point for safaris and the Lord Delamere Terrace is modern Nairobi's popular meeting place, where drinks and light meals are served continuously from morning till late evening.Fairmont The Norfolk was expanded in 1999 and subsequently renovated in time for its centennial celebrations in 2004. The Delamere & Acacia Wing were refurbished in 2012 to give the rooms a modern touch, whilst preserving their charm and unique personality. The Nairobi hotel now offers accommodations in 170 guest rooms and suites, has eight conference rooms, the largest seating 175 delegates, a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club with gym, sauna and steam room and gift shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Norfolk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.