We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont The Norfolk to your Saves list
Fairmont The Norfolk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 110 Hotels in Nairobi
Red Deer, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Nice fairmont, but staff are hit and miss some are rude and some are super nice, security staff at front door are rude and turned me off from hotel, being that I stay at fairmonts all the time I will overlook but not impressed- restaurant is exceptional and service is second to none

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Lakeway 10,

We acknowledge with thanks receipt of your comments about your recent stay with us.

We are glad that you were happy with our exceptional Restaurant and services.

Indeed we are sorry that you were not impressed by some of our colleague’s approach and assure you that we will continue coaching all our colleagues on the significance of outstanding customer service.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you once again in the near future.

Best Regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    188
    58
    29
    10
See reviews for
72
129
40
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

some of the staff are plain rude but some are definitely nice. yummy ice cream. the food could be better. the rooms are ok. some of them need fixing though. and i think by now everybody should know that when u r staying in a hotel one night that they almost always give u a room with a hitch. :( anyway, i gave them chances too and i think I'm definitely not going back :D but not to discourage y'all. may be different for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Siobhan 158,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We're happy to note that you enjoyed the rooms and yummy ice cream. We have also noted your comments in regards to some of our staff’s attitude, food and rooms which I have addressed with the concerned leaders.

Please feel free to contact me directly on kenya.reservations@fairmont.com during your next visit to Kenya.


Best Regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last year, and wasn't very impressed, however, decided to give them a second chance. I am sad to say that they have disappointed even more than my previous visit. The quality of food has deteriorated yet the prices have increased. I paid almost $30 for a very small burger and fries. Didn't taste all that grand either! The food is really expensive, which you wouldn't mind paying for if it was really good - not the case I'm afraid. They have really cut down on some of their amenities as well.I paid $288 per night for a twin room - you don't get chocolates for turn down, you don't have the little amenities like a sewing kit, or little vanity kits that you get at other hotels for a cheaper price - and they leave exactly one sachet of coffee at the refreshment unit! When I did ask for more coffee, one sachet was brought 2 hours after my call. If you do stay here, ask for rooms in the left wing, the rooms are newly refurbished. The bathrooms are smaller, but the rooms in the older wings are really old and require desparate refurbish.
The reception staff are really helpful though, and very pleasant in true Kenyan style. Although the overall service is great, for the price you pay you would expect more. Breakfast is $33 per person, but not quite worth it, especially if you order in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here prior to safari last year. The rooms are well-appointed, if a bit tired, but perfectly adequate. the public spaces are wonderful and we especially enjoyed the bar area and sitting rooms. Very beautiful. The courtyard is wonderful as well but our favorite aspect was the buffet breakfast on the front porch which was excellent in every way. Be sure not to miss!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Fairmont The Norfolk was the first hotel on arrival in Kenya. Very nice location! Here we could smell wild animals but we didnt see them :=)
We arrived at night but the hotel was 20 min away from airport. We filled in declarations beforehand at home and received our luggage very quickly so in 30 min we were already at Norfolk. Our room was waiting for us, it was standard room with one king size bed and 1 bed was for our child. The view from the room was pretty, see my photo. I would underline that this hotel was one of the hotels where you can use bathroom and shower in your room. It was very convenient because i travelled with 5 y.o. child. We decided to have a dinner in the hotel restaurant. Menu a la cart was perfect, suitable for children too =) i would recommend this hotel for visiting. You wont be dissappoited with it. It was really good impression for our family because it was our first visit to southeast Africa.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Elena S,

Thank you for your valuable review. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your overall stay at Fairmont The Norfolk.

We are pleased that you were impressed by our rooms, convenient location, restaurants and quality of food.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you once again in the near future.

Best regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

On business I had the privilege of staying at The Norfolk for in total 37 nights. I found the hotel facilities, people, dining, general atmosphere all excellent. The staff were always courteous, friendly and helpful without exception. The grounds are impeccably kept, it is the only hotel I know which paints it's bricks!!! I can thoroughly recommend the hotel for short or long stays. BRS

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Lovely charming hotel, the greenery courtyard gives relaxing feeling. Building and decoration reflects the history of the hotel. Service is excellent, I stayed in specious room facing courtyard, recently renovated. Restaurants serve good food. It is quite hotel in the center of busy Nairobi.

Room Tip: rooms facing courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Wael T,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Fairmont The Norfolk.

We are thankful for your comments which are invaluable in helping us maintain and continue to improve our services to all our valued Guests.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you once again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel has played a leading role in Kenya's colorful history, and continues to be the best-known luxury hotel in Nairobi. The town and later the modern city of Nairobi grew up around Fairmont The Norfolk hotel, which still has its own private tropical gardens. The hotel is still the traditional starting point for safaris and the Lord Delamere Terrace is modern Nairobi's popular meeting place, where drinks and light meals are served continuously from morning till late evening.Fairmont The Norfolk was expanded in 1999 and subsequently renovated in time for its centennial celebrations in 2004. The Delamere & Acacia Wing were refurbished in 2012 to give the rooms a modern touch, whilst preserving their charm and unique personality. The Nairobi hotel now offers accommodations in 170 guest rooms and suites, has eight conference rooms, the largest seating 175 delegates, a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club with gym, sauna and steam room and gift shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Norfolk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.