We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so, so” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont The Norfolk to your Saves list
Fairmont The Norfolk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“so, so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

some of the staff are plain rude but some are definitely nice. yummy ice cream. the food could be better. the rooms are ok. some of them need fixing though. and i think by now everybody should know that when u r staying in a hotel one night that they almost always give u a room with a hitch. :( anyway, i gave them chances too and i think I'm definitely not going back :D but not to discourage y'all. may be different for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siobhan158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Siobhan 158,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We're happy to note that you enjoyed the rooms and yummy ice cream. We have also noted your comments in regards to some of our staff’s attitude, food and rooms which I have addressed with the concerned leaders.

Please feel free to contact me directly on kenya.reservations@fairmont.com during your next visit to Kenya.


Best Regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last year, and wasn't very impressed, however, decided to give them a second chance. I am sad to say that they have disappointed even more than my previous visit. The quality of food has deteriorated yet the prices have increased. I paid almost $30 for a very small burger and fries. Didn't taste all that grand either! The food is really expensive, which you wouldn't mind paying for if it was really good - not the case I'm afraid. They have really cut down on some of their amenities as well.I paid $288 per night for a twin room - you don't get chocolates for turn down, you don't have the little amenities like a sewing kit, or little vanity kits that you get at other hotels for a cheaper price - and they leave exactly one sachet of coffee at the refreshment unit! When I did ask for more coffee, one sachet was brought 2 hours after my call. If you do stay here, ask for rooms in the left wing, the rooms are newly refurbished. The bathrooms are smaller, but the rooms in the older wings are really old and require desparate refurbish.
The reception staff are really helpful though, and very pleasant in true Kenyan style. Although the overall service is great, for the price you pay you would expect more. Breakfast is $33 per person, but not quite worth it, especially if you order in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrotV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here prior to safari last year. The rooms are well-appointed, if a bit tired, but perfectly adequate. the public spaces are wonderful and we especially enjoyed the bar area and sitting rooms. Very beautiful. The courtyard is wonderful as well but our favorite aspect was the buffet breakfast on the front porch which was excellent in every way. Be sure not to miss!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbradbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Fairmont The Norfolk was the first hotel on arrival in Kenya. Very nice location! Here we could smell wild animals but we didnt see them :=)
We arrived at night but the hotel was 20 min away from airport. We filled in declarations beforehand at home and received our luggage very quickly so in 30 min we were already at Norfolk. Our room was waiting for us, it was standard room with one king size bed and 1 bed was for our child. The view from the room was pretty, see my photo. I would underline that this hotel was one of the hotels where you can use bathroom and shower in your room. It was very convenient because i travelled with 5 y.o. child. We decided to have a dinner in the hotel restaurant. Menu a la cart was perfect, suitable for children too =) i would recommend this hotel for visiting. You wont be dissappoited with it. It was really good impression for our family because it was our first visit to southeast Africa.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Elena S,

Thank you for your valuable review. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your overall stay at Fairmont The Norfolk.

We are pleased that you were impressed by our rooms, convenient location, restaurants and quality of food.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you once again in the near future.

Best regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

On business I had the privilege of staying at The Norfolk for in total 37 nights. I found the hotel facilities, people, dining, general atmosphere all excellent. The staff were always courteous, friendly and helpful without exception. The grounds are impeccably kept, it is the only hotel I know which paints it's bricks!!! I can thoroughly recommend the hotel for short or long stays. BRS

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilks231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Lovely charming hotel, the greenery courtyard gives relaxing feeling. Building and decoration reflects the history of the hotel. Service is excellent, I stayed in specious room facing courtyard, recently renovated. Restaurants serve good food. It is quite hotel in the center of busy Nairobi.

Room Tip: rooms facing courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Wael T,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Fairmont The Norfolk.

We are thankful for your comments which are invaluable in helping us maintain and continue to improve our services to all our valued Guests.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you once again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

all prices in Nairobi is not cheap already, i spent a week there, the hotel is super clean, not very modern but good furniture though, very green. the breakfast buffet is not very rich, but for dinner menu, all food was sooo tasty. the stuff are super friendly and you can see a smile wherever you go, they are very ready to help anytime. I really loved them. the place is quiet so you will have a good sleep. i would definitely choose it again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MA1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear MA1979,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

It is gratifying to note that we met and exceeded your expectations and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again should you visit Kenya in the future.

Best regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.7 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
1.0 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#13 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#8 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 689 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#11 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 858 reviews
8.5 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from Nairobi's best attractions, including the home of Karen Blixen, from the Academy Award winning film 'Out of Africa', Fairmont The Norfolk offers luxurious guestrooms and suites, set amidst tropical gardens. It features plush furniture, flat screen TV, minibar, rainfall showers, and tea and coffee maker. Built in 1904, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club, sauna and steam rooms with massage facilities, tropical landscaped grounds, and award winning restaurants and bars from steak and seafood at Tatu restaurant, afternoon tea to Lord Delamere Terrace for international cuisine. The hotel is walking distance from artisanal craft shops, modern shopping centres, Sheldrick's Elephant Sanctuary, National Museums of Kenya and is the launch point for 'bucket list' worthy safari tours, which can be organized at the 24 hour concierge desk. A free shuttle bus is available to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport, located 11 miles away. Business Guests are also offered a complimentary return shuttle ride to their office with free WiFi on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing