We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont The Norfolk to your Saves list
Fairmont The Norfolk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 124 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here prior to safari last year. The rooms are well-appointed, if a bit tired, but perfectly adequate. the public spaces are wonderful and we especially enjoyed the bar area and sitting rooms. Very beautiful. The courtyard is wonderful as well but our favorite aspect was the buffet breakfast on the front porch which was excellent in every way. Be sure not to miss!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    202
    60
    30
    12
See reviews for
79
143
42
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Fairmont The Norfolk was the first hotel on arrival in Kenya. Very nice location! Here we could smell wild animals but we didnt see them :=)
We arrived at night but the hotel was 20 min away from airport. We filled in declarations beforehand at home and received our luggage very quickly so in 30 min we were already at Norfolk. Our room was waiting for us, it was standard room with one king size bed and 1 bed was for our child. The view from the room was pretty, see my photo. I would underline that this hotel was one of the hotels where you can use bathroom and shower in your room. It was very convenient because i travelled with 5 y.o. child. We decided to have a dinner in the hotel restaurant. Menu a la cart was perfect, suitable for children too =) i would recommend this hotel for visiting. You wont be dissappoited with it. It was really good impression for our family because it was our first visit to southeast Africa.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Elena S,

Thank you for your valuable review. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your overall stay at Fairmont The Norfolk.

We are pleased that you were impressed by our rooms, convenient location, restaurants and quality of food.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you once again in the near future.

Best regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

On business I had the privilege of staying at The Norfolk for in total 37 nights. I found the hotel facilities, people, dining, general atmosphere all excellent. The staff were always courteous, friendly and helpful without exception. The grounds are impeccably kept, it is the only hotel I know which paints it's bricks!!! I can thoroughly recommend the hotel for short or long stays. BRS

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Lovely charming hotel, the greenery courtyard gives relaxing feeling. Building and decoration reflects the history of the hotel. Service is excellent, I stayed in specious room facing courtyard, recently renovated. Restaurants serve good food. It is quite hotel in the center of busy Nairobi.

Room Tip: rooms facing courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Wael T,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Fairmont The Norfolk.

We are thankful for your comments which are invaluable in helping us maintain and continue to improve our services to all our valued Guests.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you once again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

all prices in Nairobi is not cheap already, i spent a week there, the hotel is super clean, not very modern but good furniture though, very green. the breakfast buffet is not very rich, but for dinner menu, all food was sooo tasty. the stuff are super friendly and you can see a smile wherever you go, they are very ready to help anytime. I really loved them. the place is quiet so you will have a good sleep. i would definitely choose it again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear MA1979,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

It is gratifying to note that we met and exceeded your expectations and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again should you visit Kenya in the future.

Best regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I will précis this by saying that this is business travel, so different expectations

Hotel clean and central. Food good, (red snapper) if a little slow on delivery. Staff attentive. Everybody has a smile.

Room 517, above the kitchen so noisy and it appears there is a large water heater on the other side of the wall. So if you like getting up at 6 then the room is fine. Staff very happy to move me. What upsets me is if the hotel know the room is noisy why not warn travelers or reduce the rate.

Breakfast good coffee and omelets, but choice is limited.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

stayed here for 5 nights and room was spacious with garden view.....it felt like we were sooo far away from chaotic Nairobi..staff very helpful and attentive.... the only major complaint we had during our stay is the amount of salt they put in the food.....we constantly mentioned it to them and I have to say they was no improvement in the 5 nights we were there so a few times we opted to just go some place else for meals. ......On sunday morning the cleaning staff were so so loud at 7:30am in the morning and I went out the room 3 times to ask them to just keep it down and called the front as well but they just carried on with the noise....(our room was 427.....explanation given by the front desk they were a lot of guests leaving this morning so maybe that is why ) the other incident they have this black chinese teapots like the ones they sell in Teavana.....and I remember mentioning it to my partner the first morning how I didn't trust the teapots well on day 3 when I went to pour out my tea into my cup... behold came a fat housefly that did not survive the swim.. very tenderly burnt in the hot tea (ok I feel sick over again......just thankful it came out on the first pour) I didn't drink another tea after that.....i'm mentioning this because I think it would be such a brilliant idea to get rid of the black teapots and get something that you can see through or that if anything crawls in you can spot it.....The Hotel has a contract with a Taxi cab company called (I can't recall...maybe Kencab...) stay away from this guys they are dodgy and out to rip you off....yes it was that bad and after that one episode we just called Taxi cabs from the intercontinental from our previous stay or they are options right along the hotel that were as nice...we will come back again...hopefully the black teapots will be gone and the Taxi cab company washed down the street by a big tornado.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear idreamofkenya,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We sincerely appreciate your comments and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as our service.

Kindly note that your concern in regards to the noise, black Chinese teapots and amount of salt has been noted and remedial measures will be put in place. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!


Best regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from Nairobi's best attractions, including the home of Karen Blixen, from the Academy Award winning film 'Out of Africa', Fairmont The Norfolk offers luxurious guestrooms and suites, set amidst tropical gardens. It features plush furniture, flat screen TV, minibar, rainfall showers, and tea and coffee maker. Built in 1904, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club, sauna and steam rooms with massage facilities, tropical landscaped grounds, and award winning restaurants and bars from steak and seafood at Tatu restaurant, afternoon tea to Lord Delamere Terrace for international cuisine. The hotel is walking distance from artisanal craft shops, modern shopping centres, Sheldrick's Elephant Sanctuary, National Museums of Kenya and is the launch point for 'bucket list' worthy safari tours, which can be organized at the 24 hour concierge desk. A free shuttle bus is available to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport, located 11 miles away. Business Guests are also offered a complimentary return shuttle ride to their office with free WiFi on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Splendia, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Norfolk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.