We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Countryside hotel in the centre of Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont The Norfolk to your Saves list
Fairmont The Norfolk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3rd Night FREE
Ranked #13 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Countryside hotel in the centre of Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Lovely charming hotel, the greenery courtyard gives relaxing feeling. Building and decoration reflects the history of the hotel. Service is excellent, I stayed in specious room facing courtyard, recently renovated. Restaurants serve good food. It is quite hotel in the center of busy Nairobi.

Room Tip: rooms facing courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Wael T,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Fairmont The Norfolk.

We are thankful for your comments which are invaluable in helping us maintain and continue to improve our services to all our valued Guests.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you once again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    214
    63
    31
    12
See reviews for
85
150
44
216
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

all prices in Nairobi is not cheap already, i spent a week there, the hotel is super clean, not very modern but good furniture though, very green. the breakfast buffet is not very rich, but for dinner menu, all food was sooo tasty. the stuff are super friendly and you can see a smile wherever you go, they are very ready to help anytime. I really loved them. the place is quiet so you will have a good sleep. i would definitely choose it again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear MA1979,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

It is gratifying to note that we met and exceeded your expectations and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again should you visit Kenya in the future.

Best regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I will précis this by saying that this is business travel, so different expectations

Hotel clean and central. Food good, (red snapper) if a little slow on delivery. Staff attentive. Everybody has a smile.

Room 517, above the kitchen so noisy and it appears there is a large water heater on the other side of the wall. So if you like getting up at 6 then the room is fine. Staff very happy to move me. What upsets me is if the hotel know the room is noisy why not warn travelers or reduce the rate.

Breakfast good coffee and omelets, but choice is limited.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

stayed here for 5 nights and room was spacious with garden view.....it felt like we were sooo far away from chaotic Nairobi..staff very helpful and attentive.... the only major complaint we had during our stay is the amount of salt they put in the food.....we constantly mentioned it to them and I have to say they was no improvement in the 5 nights we were there so a few times we opted to just go some place else for meals. ......On sunday morning the cleaning staff were so so loud at 7:30am in the morning and I went out the room 3 times to ask them to just keep it down and called the front as well but they just carried on with the noise....(our room was 427.....explanation given by the front desk they were a lot of guests leaving this morning so maybe that is why ) the other incident they have this black chinese teapots like the ones they sell in Teavana.....and I remember mentioning it to my partner the first morning how I didn't trust the teapots well on day 3 when I went to pour out my tea into my cup... behold came a fat housefly that did not survive the swim.. very tenderly burnt in the hot tea (ok I feel sick over again......just thankful it came out on the first pour) I didn't drink another tea after that.....i'm mentioning this because I think it would be such a brilliant idea to get rid of the black teapots and get something that you can see through or that if anything crawls in you can spot it.....The Hotel has a contract with a Taxi cab company called (I can't recall...maybe Kencab...) stay away from this guys they are dodgy and out to rip you off....yes it was that bad and after that one episode we just called Taxi cabs from the intercontinental from our previous stay or they are options right along the hotel that were as nice...we will come back again...hopefully the black teapots will be gone and the Taxi cab company washed down the street by a big tornado.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear idreamofkenya,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We sincerely appreciate your comments and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as our service.

Kindly note that your concern in regards to the noise, black Chinese teapots and amount of salt has been noted and remedial measures will be put in place. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!


Best regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

It's in a quiet location, which matters in Nairobi. There is a lovely shaded courtyard. Restaurants under broad porches are charming.
The pool is not exceptional, but for how badly you may need peace and tranquility while in Nairobi!

They have an EXCELLENT burger at the pool (try it.)

The desk staff is friendly and professional.

The reason I don't give it a higher rating: I arrived at 2:30am from a long trip (Abuja to Addis Ababa to Nairobi), and desperately wanted a hot shower. Turned on the shower, only cold water... Called the front dest (really didn't want to repackage and move, but would have... But it wasn't an option); they sent a maintenance guy who gave it some puzzling looks and said "fixed!"... I ran it, said "this feels warm to you?"... Pause... "No, in think the hot water pipe is clogged, I'll fix it tomorrow."

Very good is being charitable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear 1k_by_June,

Thank you for taking time to share your very impressive feedback following your recent visit to Nairobi.

We are humbled by your comments and happy that our product accompanied by our dedicated team ensured that your stay is exceptional.

Please accept our apologies for the hot water inconvenience which I have addressed with the Chief engineer to ensure seamless service delivery.

We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel.

Best regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We started our African Safari here. The Location is OK (for Nairobi) the Lobby/Bar is great. The décor is classical. The grounds and gardens are great & well maintained. The rooms are very comfortable with all the facilities you would expect in a 5 star hotel.

The food & service is very good, the staff are courteous, and are willing to help in an way. We got in late, so didn't appreciate the dinner, a few beers & a quick meal before bed, but the breakfast was fantastic!

The Australian Hospitality Industry could learn a lot from their Kenyan colleagues.

Room Tip: Look for the garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Graham B,

Thank you for your valuable review. We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your overall stay at Fairmont The Norfolk.

We are delighted to learn that you also liked our rooms, lobby/bar, gardens, food and quality of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Best regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape town
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My second time at this hotel. The perfect place to relax in Nairobi. Very good service, extremely attentive and very professional. The meals are great, and the rooms are extremely comfortable. Also a nice gym, and garden setting. After long days in Nairobi, the Norfolk is the perfect.
Good wireless and internet access, plus all mod cons. Not an ideal hotel for a stay with kids, but for business and or a stay over on the way through to another destination, it is perfect. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms, looking onto the centre garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear SimonCY,

Thank you for choosing Fairmont The Norfolk as your preferred hotel and for writing such a complimentary review on TripAdvisor.

We strive to give exceptional service to all our guests and it is great to hear such positive feedback. I will certainly share the review with my Team.

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel in the near future.

Best regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.6 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#11 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 758 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#3 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
8.5 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meridian Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#16 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from Nairobi's best attractions, including the home of Karen Blixen, from the Academy Award winning film 'Out of Africa', Fairmont The Norfolk offers luxurious guestrooms and suites, set amidst tropical gardens. It features plush furniture, flat screen TV, minibar, rainfall showers, and tea and coffee maker. Built in 1904, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club, sauna and steam rooms with massage facilities, tropical landscaped grounds, and award winning restaurants and bars from steak and seafood at Tatu restaurant, afternoon tea to Lord Delamere Terrace for international cuisine. The hotel is walking distance from artisanal craft shops, modern shopping centres, Sheldrick's Elephant Sanctuary, National Museums of Kenya and is the launch point for 'bucket list' worthy safari tours, which can be organized at the 24 hour concierge desk. A free shuttle bus is available to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport, located 11 miles away. Business Guests are also offered a complimentary return shuttle ride to their office with free WiFi on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HRS, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Norfolk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.