We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The Grand Dame of Nairobi"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont The Norfolk to your Saves list
Fairmont The Norfolk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“"The Grand Dame of Nairobi"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The title of my review is how the hotel describes itself. Opening in 1904, it is still very "sophisticated", spotless and very welcoming. We stayed for 2 nights prior to leaving on a safari. The rooms and grounds are beautiful and well kept. The location is great and only a short walk to the hectic city center. It has also been described as "a calm oasis in the heart of the city"! The service is 5 star, keeping with the reputation of The Fairmont Hotels.

Room Tip: Our room was over the court -yard and it got very loud one nite, as it seemed like the whole outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    189
    58
    29
    10
See reviews for
73
129
40
170
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Beautiful rooms and grounds in the centre of the city. Meticulously maintained with the expected 5 star service one expects . Tasteful decor and furniture in the fashion you would expect from the countrys oldest hotel .Wish I could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: No bad rooms here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Fortq,

Thank you for your positive feedback.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we are definitely looking forward to hosting you at Fairmont The Norfolk and making your stay exceptional, once again.

Kind Regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, BC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Norfolk for one night, arriving at 2am to check in for a 1 night stay before catching our flight with Safari Link to the Masai Mara. The hotel is in a beautiful historic building that's been well maintained and updated and has the feel of a 5 star luxury hotel with all the amenities you would expect at a Fairmont. The rooms were beautiful and beds very comfortable. We had trouble with our air conditioning but the problem was quickly addressed. Service is excellent. We ordered room service for breakfast and it was expensive but very delicious. Grounds are well maintained and everything is spotless. The area was quiet and peaceful even though you are right in the middle of the city! Great 1 night stay and perfect place to rest before catching a flight.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Amber Abbotsford,


Thank you very much for sharing your memorable stay at Fairmont The Norfolk

We’re elated that you enjoyed the whole ambience, beautiful gardens, delicious food & excellent service.

We look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.


Kind Regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Fairmont The Norfolk combines it all: a central location, extremely well-trained staff who are cheerful, helpful and stylish at the same time and very pleasant and comfortable accommodation. All amenities one can wish for under the African and international sun are provided. Despite its renovations, the hotel has kept its colonial architecture and most of its characteristic charm. The well maintained garden is a romantic oasis, with a variety of palms and flowering shrubs. In front of the a la carte restaurant's verandah one can relax in a small herb garden, enjoying different fragrancies while watching small colourful birds hop about.
Whether on business or not, here, in the centre of the city, guests are able to enjoy Kenya's natural beauty and its upcountry crisp air.
I stayed at the Norfolk over the Easterweekend and over and over again have been surprised with home made delicacies brought to my room, all of them very elegantly presented, being not only delicious but also reflecting the exceptional creativity of the hotel's chef.
Last but not least: the heated15 metre long pool, located in a quiet corner of the compound, is a blessing for tired bones.

Room Tip: A deluxe room on the second (top) floor of the main building will provide you with a lovely view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Arteve_Diani,


Thank you for taking time to share your feedback.

We highly appreciate your great comments about our Hotel and in particular on our amenities, staff, services, colonial architecture & central location.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Kind Regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Just Excellent employees in this nice hotel . They are helping in any situation to make the stay for the quest as convenience as possible. Special mentioned the lady called Mary. But all the others are doing a wonderful job so nobody has a reason to complain as far as I realized.

Room Tip: The breakfast hours are too short. 1000 AM for people they have to work until late night for the com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Kingler J,


Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on your recent stay at Fairmont The Norfolk.

It is always a great pleasure to read that we are able to meet and exceed our guest’s expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.



Kind Regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Do you want to enjoy a feel of early British architecture in Kenya? Then this is the best example in Nairobi. The hotel is well designed. The decor is very pleasant. The staff are also very kind. I attended a business conference here and really enjoyed the facilities. The hotel is very businesslike and works well for travellers on business. It is also very close to the city centre and therefore easy to access, even on foot.

The food over the lunch is excellent with all the courses well presented. I can vote for it as a place to bring your business partners and small conferences.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The hotel is beautful. The rooms have been renovated, and are nicely appointed and extremely comfortablenice. The pool (heated) and the gym/spa are wonderful. And the staff are terrific.

The hotel is not cheap--but it's worth it. And the hotel's location is convenient to the CBD.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently renovated room. And some rooms have patios/balconies--which are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Ramzyk,


Thank you for sharing your great feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
We are delighted to learn that your overall stay with us was a pleasant one and it left you with such wonderful impression of our hotel.

Our aim is to always pursue the highest level of service and it is fulfilling for us that you acknowledged and have experienced it during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel has played a leading role in Kenya's colorful history, and continues to be the best-known luxury hotel in Nairobi. The town and later the modern city of Nairobi grew up around Fairmont The Norfolk hotel, which still has its own private tropical gardens. The hotel is still the traditional starting point for safaris and the Lord Delamere Terrace is modern Nairobi's popular meeting place, where drinks and light meals are served continuously from morning till late evening.Fairmont The Norfolk was expanded in 1999 and subsequently renovated in time for its centennial celebrations in 2004. The Delamere & Acacia Wing were refurbished in 2012 to give the rooms a modern touch, whilst preserving their charm and unique personality. The Nairobi hotel now offers accommodations in 170 guest rooms and suites, has eight conference rooms, the largest seating 175 delegates, a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club with gym, sauna and steam room and gift shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Norfolk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.