We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Save Saved
You added Fairmont The Norfolk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont The Norfolk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Amman, Jordan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Checked out before a while from the Fairmont, the Norfolk, Nairobi. This is maybe one of the most beautiful and elegant hotels on earth! This has been my second visit to Nairobi, and the Fairmont made it a memorable one. The property reminded of the movies where stories take place in the 19th century - my wife described our stay as a fairy tale. The hotel is clean, tidy, elegant, well-maintained - considering it's more than 100 years old - and everything just feels and smells majestic. It has an African feel, starting from the paintings in corridors to toilet accessories. Food was excellent, staff were very hospitable and friendly, and the service was professional and fast. The whole ambience provoked a feeling like it was heaven on earth. The hotel gardens are just so colorful and unique, and the style/theme is from the colonial era - very nice and cozy. Coming to Nairobi anytime soon - this is the place to stay! P.S. one last thing - the hotel is in the heart of Nairobi

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Yousef,

Thank you very much for sharing your memorable stay at Fairmont The Norfolk.

It’s a joy to receive positive feedback from our guests, and especially as it pertains to excellent customer service and food. We pride ourselves in providing outstanding service, and we work each day to enhance the guest experience even further. We’re elated that you also enjoyed the whole ambience, beautiful gardens and the prime and convenient location

We look forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    168
    49
    26
    9
See reviews for
63
110
39
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hotel had all the bellman whistles but in an understated way and has that old charm. The room was luxurious and was on the court side part of the hotel so was very quiet. Loved the bar area and the food in the restaurant was good, they make the best burgers! Breakfast was served on the verandah which was lovely but could easily get hot. It's next to the national university and it was graduation time during our stay. Traffic is terrible in Nairobi, graduation made it worse. I would certainly go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Tumesecha,

Thank you for your positive feedback.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and are definitely looking forward to hosting you at Fairmont The Norfolk in the near future and making your stay exceptional, once again.

Warm regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I had been away during the week of the election due to tribal tensions. It was so lovely to return and find the city a very different place - calm and peaceful. I treated myself to three nights at the Norfolk Hotel and was able to completely relax. I was celebrating my birthday alone as I have been traveling alone for 2 months. When Jemimah Kakindo, Food and Beverage manager, found out it was my birthday, she went out of her way to ensure the day was special. I was welcomed and she introduced me to Richard Kimenyi the General Manager who greeted me warmly as well. The restaurant staff were wonderful (robustly singing happy birthday) and gave me cake!. It was a very special treat and I highly recommend it. Elizabeth in the spa gave me a brilliant pedicure.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the spa and facing the central gardens are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Sarrah D,

We’re delighted reading your review; thank you. We couldn’t be more thrilled or honored that you had such a wonderful experience at the Hotel. We’re so proud of our warm, welcoming and cordial staff, as we know that service is what makes the difference between a good stay and a great one.

It was also our pleasure to celebrate your birthday with you.

Many thanks once again for choosing Fairmont The Norfolk; we look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another special stay.

Warm regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This hotel has everything, absolutely everything. The rooms are beautiful, wonderfully cool, comfortable to the hilt with nice baths and all amenities. Fully stocked fridge contains bottled water ($7.00 US for the small Avia bottle and ironically the larger bottle costs less). Nice large pool good for lap swimming but opens later in the morning around 8 AM. The breakfast buffet has absolutely everyrthing with a full selection of foods and pasteries, nothing lacking. The hotel layout is a little maze-like with a central courtyard and requires some thinking to find your room but plenty of staff around to help you orient yourself to the whole facility. I was turned around a bit each time I tried to return to my room. the pool is somewhat remotely located, not within the central courtyard. I can't imagine any disappoint with this hotel, not even for the most discriminating.

Room Tip: Might ask for a room closer to the front lobby with easier access and less maneuvering within the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Paulyduckduck,

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review in regard to your recent stay at Fairmont The Norfolk.

I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the hotel. Thank you for your feedback in relation to our beautiful rooms, excellent breakfast and helpful staff.
I apologize that you were not able to access our pool which now opens same time as our gym - 6:00am daily.

Once again, thank you for recommending Fairmont The Norfolk to fellow reviewers and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a fine hotel, though not worth the prices they charge. And they charge for everything. Service is uneven. Some staff go the extra distance while others seem bored. Service by the pool is particularly easy going. The breakfast buffet - again not cheap - is served until 1000 though it seems staff stop replenishing things about 0900. We had to ask three times for a glass. Overall, for a hotel charging $300+ a night, it falls short of the mark. There is nothing wrong here, but I didn't get the impression that they were trying all that hard.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Wrightone,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay.

I note that our service delivery fell short of your expectation and I apologize for this shortcoming. I will look into pricing of our menu and share your service comments with the Restaurants Manager and Executive Chef in order to ensure service satisfaction of our guests in the future.

Your review helps us to identify the areas we fell short of your expectation and we take every measure to correct each area.

Hopefully you will give us another opportunity to serve you again and regain your trust.

Kind Regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have been staying at the Norfolk regularly, say between five and ten times a year for the past eight years.
Since Fairmont took over it has become world class
in terms of comfort and above all service, which is exceptional, with genuine hospita
Ity and welcome from all staff.The rooms are spacious and comfortable, the grounds are a real oasis in a busy city, and the food and beverage choice is outstanding, the lunch buffets great and Tatu would give many high end steak restaurants in SA, London or New York a good run for their money.there is an ethos of continuous improvement and a real energy about how the staff go about their work.I have stayed in other so called high end hotels and Nairobi and they are WAY off the pace compared to the Norfolk.
I apcannot believe some of the negative comments belwo, thankfully they aroe in the minority, but some people love to moan.I have stayed here enough timekeeping sto say it is excellent
, and CONSISTENTLY excellent. Well done everyone.

Room Tip: 1937 block is where it's at !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Steven P,

Thank you for choosing Fairmont The Norfolk as your preferred Hotel of choice. We greatly appreciate the time you took to share your detailed and valued feedback with us.

It was a pleasure receiving your compliments about our rooms and services. I have also noted that you had an opportunity to dine in our restaurants and you had a memorable experience.

It is our goal to consistently offer superior service and satisfaction to our guests.

We look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you.

Kind Regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The rooms built in the colonial era are very spacious and very serene. The enviroment is very calm and freindly. Their meals are fabulous and especially the buffy due to the many varieties. The hotel is vey proximity to the city centre of Nairobi and one can walk comfortably for shopping to the city centre.

Room Tip: Their old original rooms are more spacious than the new once.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Restaurant, Poo...
Show More
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#4 of 96 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 477 reviews
Luxury, Free Pa...
Show More
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#3 of 96 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
Nairobi Central Business District
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Breakfast...
Show More
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#9 of 96 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 572 reviews
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
Nairobi Central Business District
PrideInn Hotel Raphta Suites
Free Parking, P...
Show More
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#11 of 96 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel has played a leading role in Kenya's colorful history, and continues to be the best-known luxury hotel in Nairobi. The town and later the modern city of Nairobi grew up around Fairmont The Norfolk hotel, which still has its own private tropical gardens. The hotel is still the traditional starting point for safaris and the Lord Delamere Terrace is modern Nairobi's popular meeting place, where drinks and light meals are served continuously from morning till late evening.Fairmont The Norfolk was expanded in 1999 and subsequently renovated in time for its centennial celebrations in 2004. The Delamere & Acacia Wing were refurbished in 2012 to give the rooms a modern touch, whilst preserving their charm and unique personality. The Nairobi hotel now offers accommodations in 170 guest rooms and suites, has eight conference rooms, the largest seating 175 delegates, a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club with gym, sauna and steam room and gift shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Norfolk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.