We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Farimont The Norfolk - nice pass through” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont The Norfolk to your Saves list
Fairmont The Norfolk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3rd Night FREE
Ranked #13 of 126 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Farimont The Norfolk - nice pass through”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We were a group of twenty people who spent two days here before we headed to the Maasai Mara to help build a school and then a few days on Safari. This hotel definitely lives up to the Fairmont name. It has nicely appointed rooms, a lovely dining area and a bar/lounge with beautiful art and decor. Spa facilities were also available, although we didn't have time to try them out. The staff was wonderful and the service was top notch. Yes, it is a bit pricey, but that is expected at this level of accomodations.

The only thing that I did not like is that breakfast was included in our trip but we were given a 'bill' to sign off on when we ate. When I questioned the wait staff, they said we didn't have to pay the bill, but still had to sign off on it. I was a little worried that we would have to pay for this on check out, but turns out it was in fact covered. Nice hotel for a pass through, but I enjoyed the luxury tents in the Maasai Mara much better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the beautiful gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    209
    62
    31
    12
See reviews for
83
149
42
205
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Michigan
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Full disclosure: My wife and I and close friends were on a 15 day safari to Amboseli, Masai Mara,
Serengeti, and Ngorongoro. Nairobi is where we arrived and where we departed. When we do it again, we will go through Arusha and directly into the bush. The Norfolk has history in its colonial sense and all that, but this place is tired, the food marginal, the service more rude than not, and it's in the middle of a very intense city where I personally did not want to linger. We fell in love with the African bush, its tented camps and lodges, its incredibly kind and warm people, and the indescribable magic that is Africa. The Norfolk and its location is not inspiring in any way.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear MLP50,

Thank you for staying at Fairmont The Norfolk and for your recent review on TripAdvisor. All guests’ comments are important to us and we appreciate your candid feedback.


We have shared this with the relevant departments for immediate action and we are sorry to learn that your experience did not live up to your expectation.

We would appreciate for you to get in touch with us directly by emailing kenya.reservations@fairmont.com so that we can welcome you back and ensure that your next stay with us is seamless.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont The Norfolk.

Kind Regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed at The Norfolk twice during our 5 week African tour and both times were amazing. We thought it was a peaceful oasis away from the hustle and bustle of the city. It certainly lives up to the Fairmont standards. We had 2 wonderful meals in Tatu restaurant and we couldn't fault the food or service, everything was just perfect! We would definitely stay at The Norfolk again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Kim T,

Thank you for your review and for continuing to choose Fairmont The Norfolk for your travel.

We are very happy to hear that you find not only the quality of our award winning restaurant exceptional, but that your find out general facilities accommodating.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Norfolk is a nice historic hotel in Nairobi. Service is good, staff is competent and welcoming. Rooms are well fitted, even if not very big (at least standard rooms).
So why my rating is on the stingy side? The problem is the price of food and beverages. They have a pricey restaurant (the "Tatu"). I can even accept that, even if it hardly justifies a bill close to € 500 for a dinner for four (you get incredibly better quality for that kind of money in Europe!).
But what is totally unacceptable is to have to pay € 25.00 for a sandwich and a Coke!!!!
I felt totally ripped off, so I shall not come back to this place. Shame on them! I would have certainly come back otherwise, but I do not like to be taken for a ride. Please revise your pricing policy!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Magister Rome,

Thank you for taking your time to share the experience of your recent stay at Fairmont The Norfolk.

We are very happy to learn that you were able to experience the hospitality that our colleagues are renowned for. I have noted your comments on our Tatu restaurant pricing which I shall address with the rest of the team.

Thank you for your constructive feedback as this enables us to address any flaws as we strive to continually review services and the experience that we deliver to our guests.

If you happen to travel to Nairobi again, I would be happy to ensure your stay with us is great.

Kind Regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My two adult daughter's and I stayed at the Fairmont Norfolk twice, before and after our safari in December, 2012. Both stays were absolutely wonderful. The staff were so helpful with so many of our requests. The food was amazing. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Alan T,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your review.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our food and your overall stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind Regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Food is excellent no need to go outside. The pre renovation rooms are good and the new ones are even better. wifi available and free if you are a Fairmont Presidents Club member.
There is excellent security and the staff is beyond friendly and helpful

Room Tip: slept in two different rooms on the way in country and another on the way out. both were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I would say, the hotel is over priced because of its location. Staffs are friendly, foods seemed to be over priced as well. I would stay there for the second time if I don't get a better option and obviously if I'm on vacation in Nairobi.

Room Tip: It is a good choice if you are on vacation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from Nairobi's best attractions, including the home of Karen Blixen, from the Academy Award winning film 'Out of Africa', Fairmont The Norfolk offers luxurious guestrooms and suites, set amidst tropical gardens. It features plush furniture, flat screen TV, minibar, rainfall showers, and tea and coffee maker. Built in 1904, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club, sauna and steam rooms with massage facilities, tropical landscaped grounds, and award winning restaurants and bars from steak and seafood at Tatu restaurant, afternoon tea to Lord Delamere Terrace for international cuisine. The hotel is walking distance from artisanal craft shops, modern shopping centres, Sheldrick's Elephant Sanctuary, National Museums of Kenya and is the launch point for 'bucket list' worthy safari tours, which can be organized at the 24 hour concierge desk. A free shuttle bus is available to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport, located 11 miles away. Business Guests are also offered a complimentary return shuttle ride to their office with free WiFi on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Norfolk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.