We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairmont Norfolk Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Save Saved
You added Fairmont The Norfolk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont The Norfolk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fairmont Norfolk Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Food is excellent no need to go outside. The pre renovation rooms are good and the new ones are even better. wifi available and free if you are a Fairmont Presidents Club member.
There is excellent security and the staff is beyond friendly and helpful

Room Tip: slept in two different rooms on the way in country and another on the way out. both were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    168
    49
    26
    9
See reviews for
63
110
39
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I would say, the hotel is over priced because of its location. Staffs are friendly, foods seemed to be over priced as well. I would stay there for the second time if I don't get a better option and obviously if I'm on vacation in Nairobi.

Room Tip: It is a good choice if you are on vacation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

this is the second time i stayed in this hotel, last year, and this time in January 2012, that is one week before today. The service is outstanding; all the staffs in hotel are so friendly and helpful all the time. From the entrance to the reception.
Rooms are clean, good smell, beautiful gardens. Food is so good, tasty and fresh.
I recommend to everybody to stay in this hotel, if you want a piece of mind and little bit more.

Room Tip: Spa i tried last trip was fine, breakfast i did not tried, as i was coming hotel late in the night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was third time to the hotel and I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Nairobi. We were met outside baggage by our driver Joseph. Once in the van he had cold towels and cold bottled water. We stayed for two nights prior to our safari and on the second day spent the day with our guide and driver Patrick. Visited Daphne Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage, Giraffe Sanctuary and Karen Blixen. We used Patrick and Joseph for transporting the six of us to and from dinner and various other trips. The Norfolk has some true gems in Aisha (Concierge), Patrick and Joseph (Drivers), Caroline (Front Desk) and Hilda (Reservations). Hilda made our reservations for both the Norfolk and the Mara Safari Club. Everything went flawlessly. We all highly recommend the Norfolk.

Room Tip: Ask for the new renovated wind
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilongwe
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Me n my wife had a tour of Nairobi and lodged at Fairmont Norfolk Hotel....our stay was awesome. The receptionist and bellman were friendly and gave us a warm welcome making us feel at home. Our check in was in the morning and we were allocated to a room in which a customer had not checked out but the team apologised propoerly and gave us another better room....we didnt feel offended with thr first problem.
The rooms are clean including bathrooms....the min bar is well stocked and tthe rooms have enough working space....clean linen
The hotel is located in the heart of Nairobi and close to the tourist areas like Carnivore, Giraffee centre and the Bomas....all these are within reach.
The hotel has history behind it as it has one of the oldest buildings which was the first rooms of the hotel.
Its really value for money...you wont regret your spend on this hotel.....if you are in Nairobi you might wanna give it a shot.

Bravo!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We spent one night here prior to our safari trip in a renovated room. It was very nice, convenient to the lobby, bar and restaurant and very clean. The staff was very helpful and pleasant to us. There were armed guards at the front of the hotel, just as there had been at the Tribe Hotel we stayed two nights prior to arriving at the Fairmont and also in front of the Village Market in Nairobi. That's just life in Nairobi. I would certainly stay here again if you prefer to stay near the downtown area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband & I stayed here as the first port of call on our honeymoon. I have to say that Nicholas our driver was a much welcome sight in the carpark of the airport to the weary traveler. He had cool water and scented towels to freshen up with which was just what was needed. This is a beautiful hotel with clean, comfortable bedrooms & bathrooms.
We checked in late & checked out early so we didn't get to spend much time in this hotel, but it is a great place from which to explore the city.
Breakfast was also delicious, what a spread, every possible breakfast food was available from sausages to chicken curry!
We hope to return some day soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel has played a leading role in Kenya's colorful history, and continues to be the best-known luxury hotel in Nairobi. The town and later the modern city of Nairobi grew up around Fairmont The Norfolk hotel, which still has its own private tropical gardens. The hotel is still the traditional starting point for safaris and the Lord Delamere Terrace is modern Nairobi's popular meeting place, where drinks and light meals are served continuously from morning till late evening.Fairmont The Norfolk was expanded in 1999 and subsequently renovated in time for its centennial celebrations in 2004. The Delamere & Acacia Wing were refurbished in 2012 to give the rooms a modern touch, whilst preserving their charm and unique personality. The Nairobi hotel now offers accommodations in 170 guest rooms and suites, has eight conference rooms, the largest seating 175 delegates, a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club with gym, sauna and steam room and gift shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Norfolk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.