We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not worth the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont The Norfolk to your Saves list
Fairmont The Norfolk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Definitely not worth the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Sadly, my stay at the The Norfolk was not as anticipated. On the Up side:
- the service was excellent, especially from one of the reception ladies - she was an absolute gem and she even helped us get accommodation in Mombasa as well.
- the rooms were clean.
- nice pool and grounds.
on the down side:
- food was way overpriced.
- the decor was very old - the carpet was threadbare in my room and the shower didn't work properly.
- if you requested a taxi from the hotel, it was twice the price than calling a cab yourself.
- the room service menu was very limited.
i must say i was terribly disappointed with this hotel - especially if you consider the price you pay per night.

Room Tip: Choose a room that opens out onto the garden area for more privacy and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    205
    60
    30
    12
See reviews for
79
143
42
198
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Moved to Kenya for a project in Feb 2012 and stayed at Norfolk for almost a month. Great service and facilities. Located very close to the city and have easy access to almost all the nearby locations. Bit expensive on the food but hey, you always have the option to dine out. Highly recommended for people who love Nature and wanted to feel at home while staying at a hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Booked this hotel because of the Fairmont Brand. Have stayed at other Fairmonts around the world. This place is noisy, smells old and needs some major work,. Price paid is way to high for product offered. Service is slow, long lines at the desk, Food Over priced for what you get. Maybe someone from Toronto should visit this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Bertha B,

Thank you for taking your time to share the experience of your recent stay at Fairmont The Norfolk.

I am sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. Fairmont The Norfolk observes the same high standards which all Fairmont Hotels & Resorts adhere to. It’s unfortunate that you were accommodated in the unrenovated section. However, I am pleased to inform you that we are continually renovating our bedrooms and as from this month, we are working on the main blocks facing the hotel courtyard.

Thank you for your constructive feedback as this enables us to address any flaws as we strive to continually review services and the experience that we deliver to our guests.

If you happen to travel to Nairobi again, I would be happy to revisit this issue and ensure your stay with us is great.

Kind Regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Norfolk is situated next to a University in a nice quiet part of central Nairobi. The setting is beautiful and the rooms are clean and elegant. There is excellent internet connection and the grounds are beautiful. There is a beautiful garden.

The location may not be convenient for some business travelers as it is a 20-25 minute walk to most government buildings but over an hour by taxi because of Nairobi's crippling traffic problem.

There are no other service near the hotel and you must cross a busy road to get to anything interesting.

Now to the main problem with this hotel. The price they charge for food and other services is insane.

Food: a simple Cesar salad cost +USD 30. It was not the best one I had ever had and frankly was actually sub-par.

Internet access is over USD 20 per day. Again this is not acceptable.

Laundry service: USD 10 for one shirt.

It should be noted that all prices are presented a much less than the ones I quoted but if you read the fine-print, they add VAT, service charge and a flat fee for everything. I find this misleading as other hotels don't do that.

I'm traveling for business and these costs are covered by my employer but if you are here using your own money, this is a rip-off.

Finally, in general service is good, but for the price, small things are not addressed. After cleaning my room I found that it was lacking tissue and garbage cans are not emptied. Small details but the price you expect perfection.

Although this hotel is beautiful and the quality of the facilities is excellent, I cannot recommend this hotel since other equally good options exist in the city center or on Upper Hill.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Michael B,

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay at Fairmont The Norfolk.

I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed our excellent internet connection, clean rooms & beautiful garden.

We have however noted your comments about our food & laundry pricing which I will address with the rest of the team and also do comparisons with other major hotels in Nairobi to ensure we are not over priced.

Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Kind Regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Norfolk is a wondeful place. I stayed back in 2001 with my family on the first few nights of our trip, and I loved it! The rooms are very homey, the staff is very helpful and kind, the grounds are spacious and pretty, and the hotel itself is quite beautiful. It is a cozy place amid the hustle and bustle of Nairobi.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Norfolk pre-safari, and LOVED the hotel! (I guess we were in the renovated portion because the room was lovely!) We were only there for 2 nights and I would definitely stay there again. We are looking forward to another safari and will start our trip with a few nights at the Norfolk...a beautiful oasis in the middle of busy Nairobi.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Wonderful grounds amdist very busy, traffic jammed city.
Rooms are badly in need of a refurb. Smelt of mold and smoke.
Carpets were filthy.
However food was excellent, gym was fabulous for a hotel gym and staff couldnt have been nicer despite the many complaints I am sure they get from international travelers in regards to the room conditions.

Room Tip: Ask for another room if you are disappointed with the first one you are given
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Carmel 22,

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay at Fairmont The Norfolk.

I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed several aspects of the hotel especially the excellent food, our gym & staff services.

We have however noted your comments about our rooms which I am pleased to inform you that we are renovating in stages.

Thank you for your feedback and we welcome you back to our hotel during your next visit to Nairobi.


Kind Regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from Nairobi's best attractions, including the home of Karen Blixen, from the Academy Award winning film 'Out of Africa', Fairmont The Norfolk offers luxurious guestrooms and suites, set amidst tropical gardens. It features plush furniture, flat screen TV, minibar, rainfall showers, and tea and coffee maker. Built in 1904, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club, sauna and steam rooms with massage facilities, tropical landscaped grounds, and award winning restaurants and bars from steak and seafood at Tatu restaurant, afternoon tea to Lord Delamere Terrace for international cuisine. The hotel is walking distance from artisanal craft shops, modern shopping centres, Sheldrick's Elephant Sanctuary, National Museums of Kenya and is the launch point for 'bucket list' worthy safari tours, which can be organized at the 24 hour concierge desk. A free shuttle bus is available to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport, located 11 miles away. Business Guests are also offered a complimentary return shuttle ride to their office with free WiFi on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Splendia, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Norfolk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.