We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short but Sweet Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont The Norfolk to your Saves list
Fairmont The Norfolk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Short but Sweet Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed in this historical Fairmont property in Nairobi on our way to the Masai Mara National Reserve and again on our way back to London. We had a late night arrival from London and the Visa/Immigration process took longer than expected. We had arranged for airport transfer with the Fairmont - and was concerned about the long wait - but Joseph, was waiting, all smiles, with our name on his professionally- made card. We were immediately whisked to his van, offered hot towels and drinks. The security check at the hotel itself raised concern for its necessity but shrugged it off as one of those things that should be reassuring us. (We found out later this is standard procedure; we noted meetings of high profile corporations). Much to our pleasure, we were upgraded to the Theodore Roosevelt suite - overlooking the gardens. We had room service as it was late. We had breakfast at the open air Lord Delamere Terrace - the choices were overwhelming and everything was good and again, the service was very attentive. We were taken to the Wilson airport for our short flight to the Masai by David in one of the hotel's luxury SUV's. Eight days later we were back, again met on time at the airport by Joseph with his hot towels and cold drinks. We had drinks at the elegant Cin Cin wine bar, and later a memorable dinner at the hotel's Tatu steakhouse. We had on recommendation by the server, fish caught in Lake Victoria and some Kenyan vegetable dish. Excellent food and service - although I should comment that the the dining area was quite dark and noted some servers shining a flashlight on the menu for some diners. This should not be necessary if lighting was adequate for reading a menu. We were departing for London late that night so we opted for a day tour of Nairobi with David, who was an excellent driver/guide, well spoken and knowledgable of the history and culture (both human and animal) of Nairobi. As we have already checked out for the day, the hotel staff stored our luggage until we came back from the day tour. Because of this easy accommodation, we managed spa time and another dinner before heading to the airport, again with Joseph who made sure we were alright at departures area. Our stay at this Fairmont property was rather short - but the hospitality and care we experienced from the staff and Management will be long in our treasured memories.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear JC,

I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay at Fairmont The Norfolk. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed several aspects of the hotel especially the great service, very pleasant and helpful staff, great breakfast and excellent dinner.

I will certainly pass on the encouraging feedback to our management team as well as the transport team.

Thank you for your feedback and we welcome you back to our hotel during your next visit to Nairobi.

Kind Regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    189
    58
    29
    10
See reviews for
72
129
40
170
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a lovely property in the heart of Nairobi. It has a lovely open courtyard. The hotel bar sits on the edge of it and it's a great place to sit back and have a drink and relax. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was included with our room stay and was a great value. It had a wide selection, including being able to order an omlette and pancakes. The wait staff was always very attentive.

I'd definitely stay there again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paynesville, Minnesota
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed one day/night at the The Fairmont in Nairobi. It was nice to be back in "civilization" after a two week safari. Room was average, comfortable. They had several restaurant options. We enjoyed the Lord DelamereTerrace, where you could sit outside, street side. Weather was nice, we chose to dine there. Food was good also, as was wine selection and beer. We took advantage of the business center and the gift store. This room was expensive, but considering other locations of hotels, we were glad we made this choice. We felt safe walking within a two - three block radius, but ended up hiring a driver to take us to various sites outside of the hotel area. Service was great. Despite security, they made you feel comfortable and welcome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on 2 occasions recently. On each occasion, there was a long wait at reception. On our second stay we were given a room in the unrenovated section.Our room was dirty, the shower head sprayed water everywhere but on ones body, The shower door would not close properly and leaked water all over the floor. When I took up my complaint with the Director of Operations, Priyan he acknowledged that certain areas of the hotel were sub standard and offered to refund the cost of the night. The breakfast on the veranda is lovely, and the gym wonderful as too are its staff.There are now newer and better hotels in Nairobi and until the renovations are complete, I suggest avoid staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: If you wish to stay here insist on a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay at Fairmont The Norfolk. We are glad that you enjoyed your breakfast and our staff and gym are wonderful too.

We have noted your comments about the room and the shower. It was unfortunate that the hotel was busy during your visit and you were allocated a room in the unrenovated section. However, I am pleased to inform you that we are embarking on a total renovation programme starting November 2012 that will ensure all wings are fully renovated.

Thank you for your constructive feedback as this enables us to address any flaws as we strive to continually review services and the experience that we deliver.

We sincerely hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

With a childhood spent in Nairobi, this was a hotel we use to visit often. Returning now with my own family many years later, it was an obvious choice to stay at the start of our epic adventure around Kenya!
We requested refubished rooms overlooking the main courtyard and were lucky enough to get them. These rooms were of a good size and everything you would expect in a good standard hotel. We had an overnight flight from the UK, so just relaxed by the pool all afternoon. It was very peaceful and we had very good service by the pool for food and drinks. Athough saying that, the pool menu for food was a little disappointing with regard to choice.
My husband had an excellent massage in the Spa and would recommend it.
The following day we spent visiting David Sheldrake Elephant Trust, Giraffe centre, Kuzuri Beads and Karen Blixen Museum, all arranged through the hotel with our own driver. Worth doing. We had dinner that night in the Tatu Restaurant, quite pricey but the steak was excellent and the service wonderful.
The buffet breakfast in the Delamare 'open' Restaurant was very good and the location of it makes a lovely start to the day.
We love the location of the Norfolk, being just outside the main City, the grounds are beautiful and peaceful and you could easily forget you were in the capital. The Norfolk, for me, has hardly changed over the years in the way of excellent service and warm welcome and we would definitely return here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed in this hotel while i was on a business trip to Nairobi. My room was in the main building and on a little bit smaller side, rooms overlooking the courtyard in other buildings seem to be a little bit bigger. There were necessary tea and coffee facilities in the room, internet connection was included in my rate and it was actually pretty good.
The hotel swimming pool is small but it is heated which is nice if you are travelling late in the year.
Breakfast was very nice but during the week it was a little bit busy in the morning when most business people have their breakfast: so if you have a chance, go for breakfast a bit later.
The hotel provides shuttle service to and from airport for additional price and you can also organize a driver to drive you around National Park and main attractions of Nairobi. This is something nice to do if you have time during the weekend or staying for a day in Nairobi. If you are leaving too early, the hotel will provide breakfast package.
The only issue i had was with cleaning: cleaning service seems to work extremely slow: even if you place "please clean room" sign nobody gives priority to your room. I did have to raise this issue with the manager to ensure my room got cleaned.
Otherwise there were no major issues: the hotel is nice and friendly and food in the hotel restaurants is delicious.

Room Tip: choose rooms overlooking courtyard: they seem to be a bit bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel is very centrally located to Nairobi's city center. Although this may or may not be a positive thing for some travellers. There is not a whole lot of activites to do inside of the city therefore perhaps being on the outskirts would be more beneficial.
The hotel itself is what you would excpet from the Fairmont brand, clean, safe (lots of security), and overall beatiful with a large scenic area within it's walls.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel has played a leading role in Kenya's colorful history, and continues to be the best-known luxury hotel in Nairobi. The town and later the modern city of Nairobi grew up around Fairmont The Norfolk hotel, which still has its own private tropical gardens. The hotel is still the traditional starting point for safaris and the Lord Delamere Terrace is modern Nairobi's popular meeting place, where drinks and light meals are served continuously from morning till late evening.Fairmont The Norfolk was expanded in 1999 and subsequently renovated in time for its centennial celebrations in 2004. The Delamere & Acacia Wing were refurbished in 2012 to give the rooms a modern touch, whilst preserving their charm and unique personality. The Nairobi hotel now offers accommodations in 170 guest rooms and suites, has eight conference rooms, the largest seating 175 delegates, a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club with gym, sauna and steam room and gift shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Norfolk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.