We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, relaxing stay after two weeks in The Bush.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont The Norfolk to your Saves list
Fairmont The Norfolk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3rd Night FREE
Ranked #13 of 134 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Paynesville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice, relaxing stay after two weeks in The Bush.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed one day/night at the The Fairmont in Nairobi. It was nice to be back in "civilization" after a two week safari. Room was average, comfortable. They had several restaurant options. We enjoyed the Lord DelamereTerrace, where you could sit outside, street side. Weather was nice, we chose to dine there. Food was good also, as was wine selection and beer. We took advantage of the business center and the gift store. This room was expensive, but considering other locations of hotels, we were glad we made this choice. We felt safe walking within a two - three block radius, but ended up hiring a driver to take us to various sites outside of the hotel area. Service was great. Despite security, they made you feel comfortable and welcome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    223
    65
    33
    12
See reviews for
90
156
46
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on 2 occasions recently. On each occasion, there was a long wait at reception. On our second stay we were given a room in the unrenovated section.Our room was dirty, the shower head sprayed water everywhere but on ones body, The shower door would not close properly and leaked water all over the floor. When I took up my complaint with the Director of Operations, Priyan he acknowledged that certain areas of the hotel were sub standard and offered to refund the cost of the night. The breakfast on the veranda is lovely, and the gym wonderful as too are its staff.There are now newer and better hotels in Nairobi and until the renovations are complete, I suggest avoid staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: If you wish to stay here insist on a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay at Fairmont The Norfolk. We are glad that you enjoyed your breakfast and our staff and gym are wonderful too.

We have noted your comments about the room and the shower. It was unfortunate that the hotel was busy during your visit and you were allocated a room in the unrenovated section. However, I am pleased to inform you that we are embarking on a total renovation programme starting November 2012 that will ensure all wings are fully renovated.

Thank you for your constructive feedback as this enables us to address any flaws as we strive to continually review services and the experience that we deliver.

We sincerely hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

With a childhood spent in Nairobi, this was a hotel we use to visit often. Returning now with my own family many years later, it was an obvious choice to stay at the start of our epic adventure around Kenya!
We requested refubished rooms overlooking the main courtyard and were lucky enough to get them. These rooms were of a good size and everything you would expect in a good standard hotel. We had an overnight flight from the UK, so just relaxed by the pool all afternoon. It was very peaceful and we had very good service by the pool for food and drinks. Athough saying that, the pool menu for food was a little disappointing with regard to choice.
My husband had an excellent massage in the Spa and would recommend it.
The following day we spent visiting David Sheldrake Elephant Trust, Giraffe centre, Kuzuri Beads and Karen Blixen Museum, all arranged through the hotel with our own driver. Worth doing. We had dinner that night in the Tatu Restaurant, quite pricey but the steak was excellent and the service wonderful.
The buffet breakfast in the Delamare 'open' Restaurant was very good and the location of it makes a lovely start to the day.
We love the location of the Norfolk, being just outside the main City, the grounds are beautiful and peaceful and you could easily forget you were in the capital. The Norfolk, for me, has hardly changed over the years in the way of excellent service and warm welcome and we would definitely return here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed in this hotel while i was on a business trip to Nairobi. My room was in the main building and on a little bit smaller side, rooms overlooking the courtyard in other buildings seem to be a little bit bigger. There were necessary tea and coffee facilities in the room, internet connection was included in my rate and it was actually pretty good.
The hotel swimming pool is small but it is heated which is nice if you are travelling late in the year.
Breakfast was very nice but during the week it was a little bit busy in the morning when most business people have their breakfast: so if you have a chance, go for breakfast a bit later.
The hotel provides shuttle service to and from airport for additional price and you can also organize a driver to drive you around National Park and main attractions of Nairobi. This is something nice to do if you have time during the weekend or staying for a day in Nairobi. If you are leaving too early, the hotel will provide breakfast package.
The only issue i had was with cleaning: cleaning service seems to work extremely slow: even if you place "please clean room" sign nobody gives priority to your room. I did have to raise this issue with the manager to ensure my room got cleaned.
Otherwise there were no major issues: the hotel is nice and friendly and food in the hotel restaurants is delicious.

Room Tip: choose rooms overlooking courtyard: they seem to be a bit bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel is very centrally located to Nairobi's city center. Although this may or may not be a positive thing for some travellers. There is not a whole lot of activites to do inside of the city therefore perhaps being on the outskirts would be more beneficial.
The hotel itself is what you would excpet from the Fairmont brand, clean, safe (lots of security), and overall beatiful with a large scenic area within it's walls.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights on my honeymoon in November 2011. The rooms are fantastic and clean. The food is awesome and wide selection to choose from.

The only downside for me was a food item on the menu called "Angus steak" (or something similar) way too expensive for the portion you are getting.

Otherwise we enjoyed our stay in this hotel

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. We highly appreciate your great comments about Fairmont The Norfolk and particularly on our rooms and food.

We have however noted your concern on our pricing vs quantity of the Angus steak which I will review with our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

While still an historical landmark, the "new" Norfolk is dissappointinly redone. It reeks of California mordern with plastic wicker chairs on the Lord Delemere Terrace, flowery drapes, and spring color schemes. The staff is friendly and efficient. The rooms had dirty carpets, ad-hoc water pressure, and ineffcient wifi. Not the Norfolk of historical proportions.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.6 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#7 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 787 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
0.4 mi away
Meridian Hotel
Meridian Hotel
#18 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from Nairobi's best attractions, including the home of Karen Blixen, from the Academy Award winning film 'Out of Africa', Fairmont The Norfolk offers luxurious guestrooms and suites, set amidst tropical gardens. It features plush furniture, flat screen TV, minibar, rainfall showers, and tea and coffee maker. Built in 1904, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club, sauna and steam rooms with massage facilities, tropical landscaped grounds, and award winning restaurants and bars from steak and seafood at Tatu restaurant, afternoon tea to Lord Delamere Terrace for international cuisine. The hotel is walking distance from artisanal craft shops, modern shopping centres, Sheldrick's Elephant Sanctuary, National Museums of Kenya and is the launch point for 'bucket list' worthy safari tours, which can be organized at the 24 hour concierge desk. A free shuttle bus is available to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport, located 11 miles away. Business Guests are also offered a complimentary return shuttle ride to their office with free WiFi on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HRS, Odigeo, Splendia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Norfolk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.