We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in downtown Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Save Saved
You added Fairmont The Norfolk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont The Norfolk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Oasis in downtown Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We arrived at a ridiculously early hour of the morning, just after sunrise, and we were welcomed with smiles and immediately shown to our ground-floor room that looked onto the beautiful, shady garden courtyard. The accommodations were excellent: crisp, smooth sheets on a comfortable king-sized bed; high-quality toiletries in the prettiest hotel bathroom I've ever seen, although it was on the small side; fresh fruit and bottled water every day. The breakfast buffet was decadent (and expensive) so we chose to eat from the pastry and coffee table only for 1/3 the cost - the pastries, yogurt, fresh fruit and juices were ample enough to satisfy even my husband's big breakfast habits! We ate two lunches and one dinner out on the town with friends, and one dinner on our own at the hotel's Tatu restaurant. The steak was out of this world, and the entire meal was a complete pleasure. Something not to be missed: High Tea, ordered from the Tea Room, and taken on the brick terrace. Culinary decadence in a lovely, quiet, grassy and shady courtyard. Like living a scene from "Out of Africa." We also enjoyed after dinner drinks, taken outside on luxurious leather sofas, at the Cin Cin wine bar. The historical appeal combined with modern amenities and excellent service make Fairmont the Norfolk a must-stay in Nairobi.

Only three "complaints" to note: the shower head was in need of replacing; I wonder if the security checkpoint (which is much appreciated!) might be moved to a location that doesn't block the entrance to, and dominate the view from some of the table at, the terrace where breakfast is served; the hotel laundry service was the most expensive I have ever encountered.

Room Tip: We loved our room on the ground floor, with a small terrace, that gave onto the courtyard. It was q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    165
    49
    26
    9
See reviews for
63
107
39
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
auckland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We have just spent 2 nights at this hotel in Nairobi and what an excellent choice.Wonderful service, very friendly and helpful staff. We hired the hotel car to take us sightseeing for the day and found David to be a very helpful and knowledgeable guide. David showed us around Nairobi as well as taking us to the elephant orphanage (highly recommended).We had been a bit apprehensive about staying in Nairobi, but felt very safe and would definitely return.Loved it!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard K, General Manager at Fairmont The Norfolk, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback.

We are pleased that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. Thank you for your kind comments about our colleagues and service and in particular, your compliment to David, we shall share your feedback with the rest of the team.

sincerely,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Walking in the majestic doors of the Fairmont in Nairobi is like stepping back into the Colonial era. Passing through the strict security provides a sense of comfort and security in the midst of a fairly chaotic city. The elegant lobby and shade of the serene garden court are perfect for a midday lunch or evening cocktails. The rooms are slightly dated but charming. Beware, there are not screens on the windows and while there aren't mosquitoes during the day they come out by the scores come sundown! Don't recommend opening the windows!! Hotel staff was very helpful in preparing a take away breakfast so that we could make very early flight. Ask for a room in the more historic part of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlington, va
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

I fyou are looking for a nice, clean, safe, and friendly place to stay in Nairobi, you wont be disappointed with the Norfolk. A historic place and one that you can tell why it's been a staple for so many pre and post safari.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

were there for new year 2010 and had a great time....like a little slice of england in the heart of nairobi.....

Room Tip: all rooms seem to be quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011 via mobile

We would have appreciated if the plaçe would had maintained better butneverything you need is there, the food is great, and staff very nice. Super safe spot with police station a block away.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

As a Fairmont this hotel is fairly average. Having said that, in the context of Nairobi, this is a very high end hotel.
Pool and spa services are good as well. Tatu restaurant is top notch as well.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel has played a leading role in Kenya's colorful history, and continues to be the best-known luxury hotel in Nairobi. The town and later the modern city of Nairobi grew up around Fairmont The Norfolk hotel, which still has its own private tropical gardens. The hotel is still the traditional starting point for safaris and the Lord Delamere Terrace is modern Nairobi's popular meeting place, where drinks and light meals are served continuously from morning till late evening.Fairmont The Norfolk was expanded in 1999 and subsequently renovated in time for its centennial celebrations in 2004. The Delamere & Acacia Wing were refurbished in 2012 to give the rooms a modern touch, whilst preserving their charm and unique personality. The Nairobi hotel now offers accommodations in 170 guest rooms and suites, has eight conference rooms, the largest seating 175 delegates, a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club with gym, sauna and steam room and gift shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Norfolk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.