We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice, safe, friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Save Saved
You added Fairmont The Norfolk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont The Norfolk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
arlington, va
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“nice, safe, friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

I fyou are looking for a nice, clean, safe, and friendly place to stay in Nairobi, you wont be disappointed with the Norfolk. A historic place and one that you can tell why it's been a staple for so many pre and post safari.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    174
    54
    26
    10
See reviews for
68
117
40
152
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

were there for new year 2010 and had a great time....like a little slice of england in the heart of nairobi.....

Room Tip: all rooms seem to be quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011 via mobile

We would have appreciated if the plaçe would had maintained better butneverything you need is there, the food is great, and staff very nice. Super safe spot with police station a block away.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

As a Fairmont this hotel is fairly average. Having said that, in the context of Nairobi, this is a very high end hotel.
Pool and spa services are good as well. Tatu restaurant is top notch as well.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

At the end of a safari into the Kenyan Rift Valley I made a wise choice to stay at the Norfolk, a guarantee for a successful conclusion of my trip.
Some of the older 'wazees' still recognized me and the reception was equally alert to my return, giving me the 'Abraham Block' suite, which instantly brought back many memories of the Block family and their ties to the hotel.
The room was perfect, including a terrace overlooking the inner courtyard, and while this particular suite has not bath tub, it has an oversized shower which more than made up for that.
And then the food outlets ... while I never did eat at their signature restaurant 'Tatu' I had two meals at the Cin Cin and was most pleasantly surprised over the various creations on the menu, the food presentation, the taste of it and the service which was a perfect match. A special surprise were the waitresses, dressed in body hugging red dresses, what a change from the days when the 'wazees' served at the Ibis Grill dressed up with dinner jackets and bow ties ... I sure liked the 'new look' better ...
Breakfast too was a revelation ... organic eggs and my Egg Benedict done to perfection as were the poached eggs the following morning. Also available are a cheese board and cold cuts, yogurts, ready made mueslis and a full range selection of yet more, pastries galore and fruits and juices of all varieties.
Staff seem to have giant memories as they appear to greet every guest by name, something which sure makes for brand loyalty.
My experience with The Norfolk goes back into the 70's and I have never been disappointed to this day and it is always a pleasure to be back there ...
Now the Fairmont The Norfolk, for me it will for ever remain just 'The Norfolk' and it does come highly recommended, hospitality at its best.
Thanks to all their phantastic staff who are true hospitality wizards in their own right - they made my stay very memorable, enjoyable and they will for sure see me soon again.

Room Tip: Ask for a duplex suite or else a suite in the main building above the main entrance with a view into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

This hotel is nice for Africa, but not up to the same standards as 4 or 5 star hotel in the U.S. It was a nice stay, but the room I got was very old and a bit outdated. The bed was a bit hard and not so comfortable and the linens were nothing to write home about. Also the view, mine looked at a wall of an adjoining building and was very dark.

I had a spa treatment and it was very nice, I got a special massage with tea leaves and it was great. I found the spa clean and tidy and very relaxing.

I also used the gym which was also quite nice, good equipment. The pool is great, it is huge and so warm it is like a bath, it was wonderful!

I ate at both restaurants and both were very good.

Room Tip: As for a view of the garden or interior courtyard. Many face the walls of the building next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Hot Springs, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

I had lots of massages throughout the entire world. I have been to dozens of Spas but there is one massage I will remember for the rest of my life because she came to sell me the service as we were relaxing by the pool with my wife.she gave me the best deep tissue massage ever. Even better than massages I had in Bangkok! I still remember how totally focused she was during the session. After the first treatment I felt like I was reborn-no jokes! she advised me to follow a series of 4-5 sessions but i could only come the day after again since i was traveling back. At the end of the 2sessions I was almost addicted! It is nice for all of us spa goers that therapists like Sally exist out there!I say this because me & my wife are frequent travelers and when we travel we really look for the best spa where we could relax and feel rejuvenated after. Of course, there are a lot of spas we've been that are nice places, nice ambiance, good massage...etc. But what we look for is something that will really touch our souls & heal our tired bodies. . For me it is really is the best massage I've ever had with Sally ...so healing.your spa was so cool,clean the soothing music plus all the staff were friendly and welcoming.....i look forward to coming back soon.thank you.Mr.wise

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel has played a leading role in Kenya's colorful history, and continues to be the best-known luxury hotel in Nairobi. The town and later the modern city of Nairobi grew up around Fairmont The Norfolk hotel, which still has its own private tropical gardens. The hotel is still the traditional starting point for safaris and the Lord Delamere Terrace is modern Nairobi's popular meeting place, where drinks and light meals are served continuously from morning till late evening.Fairmont The Norfolk was expanded in 1999 and subsequently renovated in time for its centennial celebrations in 2004. The Delamere & Acacia Wing were refurbished in 2012 to give the rooms a modern touch, whilst preserving their charm and unique personality. The Nairobi hotel now offers accommodations in 170 guest rooms and suites, has eight conference rooms, the largest seating 175 delegates, a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club with gym, sauna and steam room and gift shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Norfolk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.