We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice, safe, friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont The Norfolk to your Saves list
Fairmont The Norfolk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3rd Night FREE
Ranked #13 of 126 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
arlington, va
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“nice, safe, friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

I fyou are looking for a nice, clean, safe, and friendly place to stay in Nairobi, you wont be disappointed with the Norfolk. A historic place and one that you can tell why it's been a staple for so many pre and post safari.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    209
    62
    31
    12
See reviews for
83
149
42
205
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

were there for new year 2010 and had a great time....like a little slice of england in the heart of nairobi.....

Room Tip: all rooms seem to be quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We would have appreciated if the plaçe would had maintained better butneverything you need is there, the food is great, and staff very nice. Super safe spot with police station a block away.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

As a Fairmont this hotel is fairly average. Having said that, in the context of Nairobi, this is a very high end hotel.
Pool and spa services are good as well. Tatu restaurant is top notch as well.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
213 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

At the end of a safari into the Kenyan Rift Valley I made a wise choice to stay at the Norfolk, a guarantee for a successful conclusion of my trip.
Some of the older 'wazees' still recognized me and the reception was equally alert to my return, giving me the 'Abraham Block' suite, which instantly brought back many memories of the Block family and their ties to the hotel.
The room was perfect, including a terrace overlooking the inner courtyard, and while this particular suite has not bath tub, it has an oversized shower which more than made up for that.
And then the food outlets ... while I never did eat at their signature restaurant 'Tatu' I had two meals at the Cin Cin and was most pleasantly surprised over the various creations on the menu, the food presentation, the taste of it and the service which was a perfect match. A special surprise were the waitresses, dressed in body hugging red dresses, what a change from the days when the 'wazees' served at the Ibis Grill dressed up with dinner jackets and bow ties ... I sure liked the 'new look' better ...
Breakfast too was a revelation ... organic eggs and my Egg Benedict done to perfection as were the poached eggs the following morning. Also available are a cheese board and cold cuts, yogurts, ready made mueslis and a full range selection of yet more, pastries galore and fruits and juices of all varieties.
Staff seem to have giant memories as they appear to greet every guest by name, something which sure makes for brand loyalty.
My experience with The Norfolk goes back into the 70's and I have never been disappointed to this day and it is always a pleasure to be back there ...
Now the Fairmont The Norfolk, for me it will for ever remain just 'The Norfolk' and it does come highly recommended, hospitality at its best.
Thanks to all their phantastic staff who are true hospitality wizards in their own right - they made my stay very memorable, enjoyable and they will for sure see me soon again.

Room Tip: Ask for a duplex suite or else a suite in the main building above the main entrance with a view into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

This hotel is nice for Africa, but not up to the same standards as 4 or 5 star hotel in the U.S. It was a nice stay, but the room I got was very old and a bit outdated. The bed was a bit hard and not so comfortable and the linens were nothing to write home about. Also the view, mine looked at a wall of an adjoining building and was very dark.

I had a spa treatment and it was very nice, I got a special massage with tea leaves and it was great. I found the spa clean and tidy and very relaxing.

I also used the gym which was also quite nice, good equipment. The pool is great, it is huge and so warm it is like a bath, it was wonderful!

I ate at both restaurants and both were very good.

Room Tip: As for a view of the garden or interior courtyard. Many face the walls of the building next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Hot Springs, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

I had lots of massages throughout the entire world. I have been to dozens of Spas but there is one massage I will remember for the rest of my life because she came to sell me the service as we were relaxing by the pool with my wife.she gave me the best deep tissue massage ever. Even better than massages I had in Bangkok! I still remember how totally focused she was during the session. After the first treatment I felt like I was reborn-no jokes! she advised me to follow a series of 4-5 sessions but i could only come the day after again since i was traveling back. At the end of the 2sessions I was almost addicted! It is nice for all of us spa goers that therapists like Sally exist out there!I say this because me & my wife are frequent travelers and when we travel we really look for the best spa where we could relax and feel rejuvenated after. Of course, there are a lot of spas we've been that are nice places, nice ambiance, good massage...etc. But what we look for is something that will really touch our souls & heal our tired bodies. . For me it is really is the best massage I've ever had with Sally ...so healing.your spa was so cool,clean the soothing music plus all the staff were friendly and welcoming.....i look forward to coming back soon.thank you.Mr.wise

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from Nairobi's best attractions, including the home of Karen Blixen, from the Academy Award winning film 'Out of Africa', Fairmont The Norfolk offers luxurious guestrooms and suites, set amidst tropical gardens. It features plush furniture, flat screen TV, minibar, rainfall showers, and tea and coffee maker. Built in 1904, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club, sauna and steam rooms with massage facilities, tropical landscaped grounds, and award winning restaurants and bars from steak and seafood at Tatu restaurant, afternoon tea to Lord Delamere Terrace for international cuisine. The hotel is walking distance from artisanal craft shops, modern shopping centres, Sheldrick's Elephant Sanctuary, National Museums of Kenya and is the launch point for 'bucket list' worthy safari tours, which can be organized at the 24 hour concierge desk. A free shuttle bus is available to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport, located 11 miles away. Business Guests are also offered a complimentary return shuttle ride to their office with free WiFi on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Norfolk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.