We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis among the chaos of Nairobi; skip Serena” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont The Norfolk to your Saves list
Fairmont The Norfolk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3rd Night FREE
Ranked #14 of 125 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Ormond Beach
Level Contributor
91 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Oasis among the chaos of Nairobi; skip Serena”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We had the benefit of staying in both hotels in Nairobi during our trip so we were able to compare and contrast them. The Fairmont Norfolk had a lovely setting with gardens and courtyard. We were upgraded to a nice, spacious suite in the courtyard. Bed and Bathroom well appointed. Only glitch, asked about getting a massage about 3PM and told by the spa staff that they were 'fully booked' the rest of the day and how about tomorrow... really??? There was literally NOBODY at the spa. Breakfast was especially good with lots of fresh choices. We have stayed in nicer Fairmont properties, but it was still pleasant and nicer than the Serena by far, despite having a garden suite room, there also.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    209
    62
    31
    12
See reviews for
83
149
42
205
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

I was there with a group of people who were spread over the entire hotel. If you are lucky enough to be in the remodeled rooms you will have a nice stay. I unfortunately was in the older rooms, 400 section. Bathroom and room very dated. Stains on carpet and shower very dirty.

Food at the property very good, especially the pizzas. Fitness center and pool area nice as well.

If going try to request a newer room, the room numbers are double digits, I.e. 14.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Several mosquitos in room. Windows tightly closed. Still these pesticides keep appearing and flying around for second night. Dirty bathroom, stains on floors and bedlinen and a sticky carpet. Not quite what to expect from a "Fairmont". Not so fun time spraying around repellent to keep mosquitos away.

Nairobi is nice but in some other place.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere, do not get mosquito bitten in you room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Stayed for one night in August on room and breakfast basis. Told the receptionist we had to leave very early the next morning. There was no offer of an early or packed breakfast although she vaguely mentioned there might be tea and coffee in the reception area (there wasn't). Room was lovely although no tea! My meal in the Terrace Restaurant was fine but my mother's was inedible as it was sitting in 5mm of oil. Staff were apologetic but this wasn't much consolation when my mother was ill. Overall a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

My husband had an abscessed tooth when we arrived in Nairobi at 5:30 AM. After retrieving our luggage and a frightful drive to the Fairmont Norfolk Hotel, we checked in at the President's Club desk with the assistance of George Keli, who immediately took charge, calling the doctor on-call, and arranging an appointment with a dental professor at Nairobi Hospital. Less than 3 hours later my husband had 2 prescriptions and we were able to enjoy lunch on the Norfolk Terrace. The hotel is obviously one of the most beautiful in Nairobi, as we saw 3 different bridal parties coming in to have their pictures taken in the gardens. The room was warm and comfortable, and the service excellent. We could not recommend the Norfolk more highly.

Room Tip: As for a view of the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
116 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Service seems well intentioned, but slow and often incorrect (green tea, please, not black tea). Bathrooms are dated, decor is tired. Spa is NOT up to Fairmont standards (broken sauna controls, many treatments unavailable, terrible massage, no attendants in sight). Tatu restaurant is good, not great - and extremely expensive. Breakfast buffet is forgettable, open air to dirty Nairobi streets. Scanty fruit was not replenished, coffee barely warm. Front desk did not ask me for ID or even my name when I needed a new room key - how's that for security?? I can't believe this is part of the Fairmont chain. Location is bad, but Nairobi is a sketchy place to be anyway.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

What a great experience. A beautiful hotel with lots to offer. Great food / beautiful grounds / great location.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from Nairobi's best attractions, including the home of Karen Blixen, from the Academy Award winning film 'Out of Africa', Fairmont The Norfolk offers luxurious guestrooms and suites, set amidst tropical gardens. It features plush furniture, flat screen TV, minibar, rainfall showers, and tea and coffee maker. Built in 1904, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club, sauna and steam rooms with massage facilities, tropical landscaped grounds, and award winning restaurants and bars from steak and seafood at Tatu restaurant, afternoon tea to Lord Delamere Terrace for international cuisine. The hotel is walking distance from artisanal craft shops, modern shopping centres, Sheldrick's Elephant Sanctuary, National Museums of Kenya and is the launch point for 'bucket list' worthy safari tours, which can be organized at the 24 hour concierge desk. A free shuttle bus is available to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport, located 11 miles away. Business Guests are also offered a complimentary return shuttle ride to their office with free WiFi on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Norfolk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.