We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere of the colonial days” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont The Norfolk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont The Norfolk to your Saves list
Fairmont The Norfolk
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Top Contributor
318 reviews 318 reviews
307 hotel reviews
Reviews in 250 cities Reviews in 250 cities
474 helpful votes 474 helpful votes
“Atmosphere of the colonial days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Maybe not the most modern hotel in Nairobi, but certainly the best in terms of "Grande Dame" style. Especially the lobby library and the restaurant terrace exude the atmosphere of a bygone time, perfect for the start or end of a safari trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    189
    58
    29
    10
See reviews for
72
129
40
170
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
607 reviews 607 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
318 helpful votes 318 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed in a duplex suite for five nights at the end of our two week safari and we loved it. Splurge for a suite and you will not be disappointed. Also be sure to book and bed and breakfast rate. The food is very good at each of the dining areas. Tutu, their fine dining room, is outstanding. Our suite was spacious and everything was terrific in the room. We would recommend that the couch and chairs get reupholstered as they are starting to wear out. I used the spa each day that I was there and Elizabeth is simply amazing. Be sure to book one of here many massages. The gift shop carries good quality gifts for yourself or friends and family. I bought most of my gifts here that were made by local artists.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

I am a member of fairmount president club and imy experience been member is overal negative.in nairobi they dont respect the advantages and in the general ofice they never get on time to deliver your vouchers. SO YOU ARE ALLWAYS TOO LATE TO REDEEM THEM;It HAD MADE ME FURIOUS BECAUSE i WENT IN JULY AGAIN PLUS I USSED MASSAI MARRA LODGE;

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

My cousin and I stayed at the Norfolk last month, for two nights. Our experience was not a positive one, so I wrote a review here, knowing that a poor review can be much more effective than dealing with a situation at a hotel when things don't go well, or as they should.

After hearing directly from the Norfolk General Manager, I felt it was only fair to remove the negative review and commend the Manager and the hotel for correcting what went wrong during our stay. A full credit of one night's stay was issued back to the credit card, and a very sincere apology was given to both of us. I couldn't be more grateful for the way things were handled, even if it was done so after the fact. The level of professionalism and courtesy I experienced with the apology and the subsequent action is exactly what sets the Fairmont apart from other upscale hotel properties. Kudos.

Thanks go to The Fairmont Norfolk. I will be visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We very much enjoyed the Norfolk. The staff was friendly and accommodating (allowed us a late check-out at 3:30pm).
I agree with other travellers - it's overpriced and a little old. The washrooms are not great standard, even in the deluxe rooms. We had a corporate rate and still found it expensive and were very surprised the breakfast wasn't included. But the breakfast was SUPER!
We asked for a pick-up from the airport when we arrived late in the evening, they wanted to charge us $60 per person for this. We eventually got them down to $45 total, which was still expensive but more reasonable. We paid a taxi about 2000 shillings (about $25) on the way back to the airport.
The pool gets quite busy in the afternoons, seems there were swimming lessons going on. Would've been nice to have some more sunchairs although the sun disappeared behind a building around 3pm.
The spa area upstairs is very nice and quite empty.
It's a charming place and nice if you have some down-time between activities in Kenya and can enjoy the facilities. If you'll just be sleeping there, you could probably go somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Went for my Mother's 80th birthday with my brother aswell, good base for our Safari trip, their own excursions excellent, Mum fell in love with our driver Patrick ! Food and drinks excellent and reasonably priced, nothing ever too much trouble for any of the staff, they all always had time for a chat. Try it if in Nairobi you won't be dissapointed

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Stayed here for work; such a nice little hotel away from the hustle and crime of Nairobi, rooms are ok, although a bit dated, service is excellent, and the staff smile and say hello constantly. A nice touch. Breakfast is nice, and a great verandah, overlooking the street. In short, I thought the rooms were a bit overpriced. Obviously folks who take these expensive tours to Africa dont mind paying the high price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel has played a leading role in Kenya's colorful history, and continues to be the best-known luxury hotel in Nairobi. The town and later the modern city of Nairobi grew up around Fairmont The Norfolk hotel, which still has its own private tropical gardens. The hotel is still the traditional starting point for safaris and the Lord Delamere Terrace is modern Nairobi's popular meeting place, where drinks and light meals are served continuously from morning till late evening.Fairmont The Norfolk was expanded in 1999 and subsequently renovated in time for its centennial celebrations in 2004. The Delamere & Acacia Wing were refurbished in 2012 to give the rooms a modern touch, whilst preserving their charm and unique personality. The Nairobi hotel now offers accommodations in 170 guest rooms and suites, has eight conference rooms, the largest seating 175 delegates, a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club with gym, sauna and steam room and gift shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont The Norfolk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.